2 antennas on one card

2 antennas on one card

Postby ck3k » Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:36 am

I have seen the two antenna connectors on the cisco card, but I was wondering if there was a way to add two antennas to a Lucent Gold/Silver that only has one connector. Could a pigtail be split into two differant antenna connections?
User avatar
ck3k
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 12:08 am

Postby renderman » Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:53 am

The only way to do it sensibly would be to use a proper splitter on the end of your pigtail, going to each antenna.

http://www.fab-corp.com has them. Accessories - 3rd from the bottom.
User avatar
renderman
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: Anywhere but Utah

Postby ck3k » Wed Jan 08, 2003 2:40 pm

would that cuase any form of interferance, due to the ammount of data the antennas would be collecting? It seems like a good deal, cause it would be easier to have the directional and omni on the same laptop stumbling at the same time.
User avatar
ck3k
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 12:08 am

Postby Phoenix_down » Fri Jan 10, 2003 2:10 pm

Yes, you would have severe interference. This topic has been covered before. Your main problem is the massive db loss caused by the splitter. The quality of the signal will be degraded, making it impractical unless you have a very high db antenna.
Phoenix_down
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2003 2:44 pm
Location: Denver

Postby c0nv3r9 » Fri Jan 10, 2003 3:01 pm

Actually, I have used the splitter in question for my 14.5dB directionals.. and the loss isn't that bad.

Another option would be to shoot for the Senao card, which has two external-only connectors ($110-125?)... it is decent, but prism-based, so netstumblers proceed with knowledge..

Your only other option would be running a second Orinoco on the box....
He shall recount his worthies: they shall stumble in their walk; they shall make haste to the wall thereof, and the defence shall be prepared.
-- Nahum 2:5, The Holy Bible, KJV
c0nv3r9
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 7:44 am
Location: not behind you, or am I?

Postby razta » Fri Jan 10, 2003 8:10 pm

There are dual antenna port orinoco cards somewhere.
Might email YDI.com to see if they can get them.
<><><><><><><><><><><>
Razta
razta
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2002 8:42 am
Location: Tucson

Postby TheSovereign » Sat Jan 11, 2003 12:38 am

lol the splitter says it has a .4 db loss
SO SAYS TheSovereign
User avatar
TheSovereign
 
Posts: 658
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2002 2:35 am
Location: chicago

Postby 1EZway » Sat Jan 11, 2003 5:15 am

1EZway
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 12:45 pm
Location: Mid Atlantic in Hurricane Alley

Postby razta » Sat Jan 11, 2003 8:12 am

http://www.agere.com/client/docs/DS02114-1.pdf



Sweet, thanks for the link
<><><><><><><><><><><>
Razta
razta
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2002 8:42 am
Location: Tucson

Postby ck3k » Sat Jan 11, 2003 3:17 pm

Sign me up for one of those. If the price is right its either one of those or the cisco for me. The splitters DB loss is a problem cause my omni is very weak, and the directional would be very strong. adidans- All Day I Dream About Net Stumbling..........:D
User avatar
ck3k
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 12:08 am

Postby razta » Sat Jan 11, 2003 8:35 pm

I believe those port on that card work in diversity mode, so using two directional antennas in differant directions may not give you the results you want.

Anyone tried that?
<><><><><><><><><><><>
Razta
razta
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2002 8:42 am
Location: Tucson

Postby edraven » Sat Jan 11, 2003 11:55 pm

dual port cards are NOT for using 2 different kinds of antenna, it just wont work like you expect.
edraven
 

Postby ck3k » Sun Jan 12, 2003 11:57 am

Originally posted by edraven
dual port cards are NOT for using 2 different kinds of antenna, it just wont work like you expect.



So the only true option is to shove two cards in my lappy and run an antenna off each? but then NS wouldn't work properly, so i guess the spliter is the way to go.
User avatar
ck3k
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 12:08 am

Postby cstach » Sun Jan 12, 2003 2:49 pm

Read this.

Search down the page for "diversity antenna systems." Having two antennae hooked up to a splitter will screw up the signal more than it will help.
cstach
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 2:03 pm

Postby razta » Sun Jan 12, 2003 3:06 pm

I have run splitters before. They dont screw things up, but do insert a bunch of signal loss.
Might have to add an amplifier to get any good range out of it.
If your just listening with netstumbler, then amp probably wont be needed.
<><><><><><><><><><><>
Razta
razta
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2002 8:42 am
Location: Tucson

Next

Return to Antennas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron