ORiNOCO "Fixed-Wireless" PC Cards

ORiNOCO "Fixed-Wireless" PC Cards

Postby ffc » Fri Aug 16, 2002 9:17 am

Does anyone know what the difference is between the normal Orinoco Gold Card and the ORiNOCO "Fixed-Wireless" PC Cards?

As the shop where I brought my kit from in the Uk claims that under UK law you can only use the 14Dbi Yagi with the Fixed-Wireless card. Is it a law thing or do I need to get a Orinoco Fixed-Wireless card to get optimal performance out of my kit?
ffc
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2002 9:37 am
Location: london

Re: ORiNOCO "Fixed-Wireless" PC Cards

Postby blackwave » Fri Aug 16, 2002 9:29 am

Originally posted by ffc
Does anyone know what the difference is between the normal Orinoco Gold Card and the ORiNOCO "Fixed-Wireless" PC Cards?


The ORiNOCO Gold card has an internal antenna and an antenna jack for the use of an external antenna via pigtail. You can use either but not both at the same time.
-=BW=-
User avatar
blackwave
 
Posts: 4507
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2002 3:00 am
Location: SoCal, OC

Postby ffc » Fri Aug 16, 2002 9:32 am

So basically the only difference is that the normal Gold Card has an internal aerial and the Fixed-Wireless card dosen't? Is this correct?
ffc
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2002 9:37 am
Location: london

Postby blackwave » Fri Aug 16, 2002 9:37 am

Originally posted by ffc
So basically the only difference is that the normal Gold Card has an internal aerial and the Fixed-Wireless card dosen't? Is this correct?


Here is the ORiNOCO link, please reference to which client device you are speaking of. There is only one ORiNOCO Gold/Silver model and that has the internal+external jack:

http://www.orinocowireless.com/template.html?section=m57&envelope=93

http://www.orinocowireless.com/template.html?section=m57&page=126&envelope=93
Image
-=BW=-
User avatar
blackwave
 
Posts: 4507
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2002 3:00 am
Location: SoCal, OC

Postby ffc » Fri Aug 16, 2002 9:40 am

Blackwave,

I brought my kit from Unwired in the UK. I have the normal Gold Card and a 14dbi Yagi.

Their site claims that I must use the Fixed Wireless Card with the Yagi ..

http://www.un-wired.co.uk/acatalog/Unwired_Catalogue_Outdoor_Devices_26.html

You will notice the test in red:
"Must be used with antenna haveing a gain greater than 12dBi."

Because I am getting confused both cards are the same. Its just a way of making more money because the other card costs £179 + vat.
ffc
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2002 9:37 am
Location: london

Postby blackwave » Fri Aug 16, 2002 10:06 am

Originally posted by ffc
Their site claims that I must use the Fixed Wireless Card with the Yagi ..


Ok I have read their text:
To use this product you also need to order a FIXED ORiNOCO PCMCIA card which is slotted into a port on the device to provide the wireless functionality

Which all it means is that the router comes without one, but you need an ORiNOCO PC card to make the router wireless. That is all.. nothing tricky.. by FIXED they mean it is going to be inside the router. :) If you already have an ORiNOCO Gold card, it would be the same... of course you would have the firmware differences if there are any, but that should have a minimal effect, and could be easily resolved by matching firmware if so required.

Hope that solves your problem. :)
-=BW=-
User avatar
blackwave
 
Posts: 4507
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2002 3:00 am
Location: SoCal, OC

Postby ffc » Fri Aug 16, 2002 10:10 am

Thanks :)
ffc
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2002 9:37 am
Location: london

Postby Thunderforge » Fri Aug 16, 2002 10:47 am

Tracing back through some ORiNOCO price lists these cards are ETS cards. This came up the other day in an Avaya question regarding the difference from the World cards in this thread.

These parts are the ETS (European/APA version)

848443990 ETS Silver
848444055 ETS Gold

as opposed to the World cards which are:

848441481 World Silver
848441556 World Gold
Back to the forge,
TF
User avatar
Thunderforge
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:05 am
Location: Florida

Re: Re: ORiNOCO "Fixed-Wireless" PC Cards

Postby mjfnj » Sun Aug 25, 2002 4:22 am

Originally posted by blackwave


The ORiNOCO Gold card has an internal antenna and an antenna jack for the use of an external antenna via pigtail. You can use either but not both at the same time.



When I use my blade antenna, do I have to do something to shut down the built antenna?
Thanks Mike
mjfnj
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2002 5:49 pm
Location: New Jersey,USA

Postby fordem » Sun Aug 25, 2002 5:45 am

Just plug it in and you're all set
fordem
 
Posts: 575
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 11:37 am

Re: Re: ORiNOCO "Fixed-Wireless" PC Cards

Postby fordem » Sun Aug 25, 2002 5:52 am

Originally posted by blackwave


The ORiNOCO Gold card has an internal antenna and an antenna jack for the use of an external antenna via pigtail. You can use either but not both at the same time.


Actually - based on my test - which was to just connect the pigtail without an antenna - it would appear that connecting an external antenna does not disconnect the internal one.

I would have expected to see a sharp drop in signal strength if the internal was being switched out when the pigtail was plugged in, and then an increase when the external antenna was attached to the N-male.

What I actually observed was no change with the pigtail alone connected and an increase when the antenna was added.

This suggests that normal operation with an external is to have both connected simultaneously.
fordem
 
Posts: 575
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 11:37 am

Blade Antenna..Defective?

Postby mjfnj » Sun Aug 25, 2002 8:27 am

When I plug the blade antenna into my Avaya Gold Card, signal strength drops by more than 50%.....So I am assuming it is defective and e-mailed FAB CORP for an RMA.
Anyone else have experience with this type of antenna..I'm trying to decideif I should get another of the same or a different type.
Thanks FOr the input.

Mike
mjfnj
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2002 5:49 pm
Location: New Jersey,USA

Re: Re: Re: ORiNOCO "Fixed-Wireless" PC Cards

Postby c-mag » Wed Aug 28, 2002 7:46 pm

Originally posted by fordem


What I actually observed was no change with the pigtail alone connected and an increase when the antenna was added.



Unless, of course, the pigtail itself is acting as an antenna. ;)
Stumblematopoeia!
User avatar
c-mag
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Sat May 04, 2002 1:51 pm
Location: Golden, BC, Canada

fordem:

Postby Firebird » Fri Sep 06, 2002 7:40 pm

I also tried seeing if there was change in signal strength after plugging the pigtail with no antenna attached, I noticed either no change at all or a tiny tiny change. Could the pigtail really have the same signal strength as the card's internal antenna? If so, people could use it with laptop bags or other setups that block the card, just hang the pigtail out.
Firebird
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 3:16 pm
Location: New York City


Return to Antennas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests