64 and 128bit WEP on same AP

Configuration and operational information about stumbled AP's

64 and 128bit WEP on same AP

Postby gmiller220 » Wed Apr 02, 2003 9:13 am

Is this possible? I have an orinoco gold and a lucent generic (built into my laptop) that support the 128bit encryption and two USRobotics 2410's that don't (at least I couldn't find it anywhere in the documentation). So my question is this: Can I use two keys on the same ap? One being 64bit and the other being 128. If so how do I set this up? I have a di-614+ and a dwl-900 that I use. Thanks guys.
gmiller220
 
Posts: 466
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2002 12:35 pm

Postby TheSovereign » Wed Apr 02, 2003 9:25 am

i dont think it is
how would the ap be able to tell the the diffrence
SO SAYS TheSovereign
User avatar
TheSovereign
 
Posts: 658
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2002 2:35 am
Location: chicago

Postby fitzStewart » Wed Apr 02, 2003 10:20 am

Most ap's don't support this, but there are a couple that do - the Intermec 2100 and the Teklogix 9150, among others. These ap's can support two wireless cards, which really is the only way to run with two different WEP key schemes (128bit and 64bit).
fitzStewart
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2002 5:15 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Postby gmiller220 » Wed Apr 02, 2003 12:23 pm

durn. Oh well I guess it's 64bit then. Sigh. Thanks.
gmiller220
 
Posts: 466
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2002 12:35 pm

Postby agentgrn » Wed Apr 02, 2003 9:56 pm

Though, if you can cough up the coin for one of the newer Cisco Aironet APs, you might be able to pull this off.

From the whitepaper I was reading, they have a wireless VLAN system in their newer OSes, which you can read about here.

Granted, you'll may also need a switched network to take advantage of this. :)

My personal recommendation is to upgrade everything to 128-bit encrpytion.
-A.G.-
agentgrn
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 6:44 am
Location: Worcester, MA

Postby gmiller220 » Wed Apr 02, 2003 10:14 pm

Originally posted by agentgrn
Though, if you can cough up the coin for one of the newer Cisco Aironet APs, you might be able to pull this off.

From the whitepaper I was reading, they have a wireless VLAN system in their newer OSes, which you can read about here.

Granted, you'll may also need a switched network to take advantage of this. :)

My personal recommendation is to upgrade everything to 128-bit encrpytion.


Well if I had the money I would just get 128bit nic's for the rest of my systems (only two other systems). But alas I don't got no money.
gmiller220
 
Posts: 466
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2002 12:35 pm


Return to AP Information

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron