CVS Pharmacy

Configuration and operational information about stumbled AP's

Postby 1badtwo » Sun Aug 10, 2003 7:57 pm

Had one here in OH, same thing :confused:
1badtwo
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2003 8:06 pm

Postby renderman » Sun Aug 10, 2003 8:27 pm

All over las Vegas in the Wardriving Contest as well.
User avatar
renderman
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: Anywhere but Utah

Postby foxforcefive » Fri Aug 15, 2003 7:25 am

Columbus, OH also.

same SSID as the rest of them...

FF5
foxforcefive
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 5:26 am
Location: Somewhere out there.....

Finally..

Postby mbstone99 » Thu Sep 04, 2003 6:45 pm

Went wardriving today and finally found a CVS out in Warren, OH with a AP, but the one in Nliles, OH and the one in northern Youngstown, OH and the two in New Castle, PA didn't...

Matt
User avatar
mbstone99
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon May 12, 2003 1:52 pm
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

CVS

Postby mbstone99 » Sat Sep 06, 2003 6:50 pm

Ya the one CVS I got also has a vendor of Symbol as well. The wife and I went wardriving down in Beaver/Rochester/Monaca/New Brighton, PA and none of the CVS's there have AP's either.. Hmm strange..

Matt
User avatar
mbstone99
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon May 12, 2003 1:52 pm
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

Postby Thorn » Sat Sep 06, 2003 7:16 pm

Originally posted by RoadBlock
... and I will have to recheck to make sure I was assigned an IP addy from DHCP. Although there was not inet connection.


Roadblock,
You're treading on the edge of legality by runninng DHCP requests, and you're definately committing an illegal act by checking for an internet connection on a connection that you don't have permission to be on.

You should stop before you attract law enforcement notice. At a minimum you might not want to put up further post about your illegal actions in a public forum.
Thorn
Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.
Thorn
 
Posts: 10340
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Villa Straylight

Postby jonnyboy » Mon Sep 15, 2003 4:50 pm

Doesnt some OS's send DHCP request automatically? I mean my XP machine will connect to available networks without any interaction from me.
jonnyboy
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2003 4:33 pm

Postby Thorn » Mon Sep 15, 2003 5:40 pm

Originally posted by jonnyboy
Doesnt some OS's send DHCP request automatically? I mean my XP machine will connect to available networks without any interaction from me.


If you have DHCP enabled, then it will request address assignments. This is one of the reasons we advocate disabling TCP/IP (and any other network protocols) while stumbling.

Just because something is enabled, does not absolve you of the responsibility to conduct your actions in a legal manner.
Thorn
Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.
Thorn
 
Posts: 10340
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Villa Straylight

Postby ck3k » Mon Sep 22, 2003 1:18 am

Originally posted by jonnyboy
Doesnt some OS's send DHCP request automatically? I mean my XP machine will connect to available networks without any interaction from me.


this is one thing I hate about xp, with all this ease of use, comes with it the problems for people knowning what they are doing. DHCP is a constant problem, watch out tho, I was messing around here at home with my laptop, and left it stumbling for about an hour, and it connected to my ap without anyhelp and netstumbler running.

All over las Vegas in the Wardriving Contest as well.


Yeah, there where alot of them, I dont remember how many I had off the top of my head.
User avatar
ck3k
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 12:08 am

Postby Wardragon » Tue Nov 04, 2003 8:00 pm

Ames (local retail here, now OOB) used the same system, called telxon (telzon).

We had hand held scanners to do spot inventory counts and pricechecks, kinda like those boxes on the columns at wal-marts. Nothing crosses them except the barcode you scan, and on rare occasions, a quantity number
Wardragon
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2003 7:11 pm

Ames

Postby mbstone99 » Tue Nov 04, 2003 8:05 pm

There used to be Ames around here but their stores are gone and been empty since.. I was up in Erie, PA back a while ago and noticed about a dozen AP's (SSID was 188WEP) at Lowe's.. Didn't go into the store to check it out further.. but so far that's the only Lowe's that I found that has these. They are probably along the same line at the others.

Matthew
User avatar
mbstone99
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon May 12, 2003 1:52 pm
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

Postby jonnyboy » Tue Nov 04, 2003 8:10 pm

I did read a story about lowes putting in wi-fi VoIP phone systems. I will find the link and post it in a min or two.
jonnyboy
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2003 4:33 pm

Postby jonnyboy » Tue Nov 04, 2003 8:13 pm

http://www.wi-fiplanet.com/columns/article.php/2226541

There is the story the part about lowes is down near the middle of the document but is probally what you are seeing at Lowe's
jonnyboy
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2003 4:33 pm

Lowe's

Postby mbstone99 » Tue Nov 04, 2003 8:19 pm

Thanks for the link.. Hmm it could very well be that.. I just did a double checked the vendor and it was a Symbol. Might have to make a trip up there sometime and investigate further.

Mathew
User avatar
mbstone99
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon May 12, 2003 1:52 pm
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

QxRlaA1582M

Postby mbstone99 » Sun Nov 09, 2003 7:59 am

I didn't want to make a new thread for this so anyways. Been seeing a SSID of
QxRlaA1582M around the Pittsburgh area. I have logged 5 of them up to last night. Finally figured what it is last night when wardriving around parts of Pittsburgh.. BP Procare. I guess BP Procare is the auto center for the BP gas stations. Any idea what they are used for? They are using Linksys AP's and don't have WEP on. *shudder*

Matt
User avatar
mbstone99
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon May 12, 2003 1:52 pm
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

PreviousNext

Return to AP Information

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests