Dhcp?

Configuration and operational information about stumbled AP's

Dhcp?

Postby schtumbler » Tue Jan 06, 2004 3:15 pm

Why was this:

When I connected to my AP, I was using DHCP. no problems. However, if I disconnected, and tried to connect again later, I would run into problems. It would appear that I was connected (tray icon, good signal), but I really wasn't. IPCONFIG would show an IP adr. in the wrong range (should've been 192.168.x.x) and the Gateway and DNS were 00.00.00.00.

After some chin-scratching, I switched my card to static settings. I used the same settings that were issued under a normal connect w/ DHCP. Now everything works fine.

It seemed that when I tried to re-connect, before my previous DHCP lease was up, I ran into problems. Just a guess.

Like I said, everything works fine now w/ static settings on the card (AP is still DHCP enabled), I just wondered why this was happening.
"Things that never had names before, are now easily described... it makes conversation easy." -Byrne
schtumbler
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 2:51 pm

Postby King_Ice_Flash » Tue Jan 06, 2004 3:20 pm

Depending on which OS you are using, you need to release and renew your IP address. For NT based OSs, in a command prompt type "ipconfig /release" and then Ipconfig /renew". For The older OSs like 95, 98, and ME, you type "ipconfig /release_all" and then "ipconfig /renew_all"

Or you can just reboot your computer.
"Yeah," said a voice from under the table, "you go to pieces so fast people get hit by the shrapnel."
User avatar
King_Ice_Flash
 
Posts: 2658
Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 11:00 am
Location: WI

maybe not DHCP

Postby schtumbler » Wed Jan 07, 2004 3:52 pm

XP, BTW..

Once in awhile, between network sessions, I find myself using AOL (ugh, or rather STUPID MF'N CKSK'N TIMEWARNER'N POS AOL..) ahem. Many times AOL will lock up and leave me with no option but to power down. After rebooting, CHKDISK launches (ugh again). If I skip CHKDISK, I cannot connect to my AP. Does this have something to do with a security descriptor? Would this knock out my IP settings? And, if so, is this really a DHCP issue at all???

Makes me wonder if this Linux thing is fer real.
"Things that never had names before, are now easily described... it makes conversation easy." -Byrne
schtumbler
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 2:51 pm

Postby genexen » Mon Jan 12, 2004 9:10 am

I can duplicate these symptoms under XP.

I found the workaround (without rebooting) is to open network connections, select the wireless nic, and choose DISABLE, wait 10 seconds, and then ENABLE.

This seems to re-set everything, and allow DHCP to work properly.
wr mem
lech mich am arsh!
genexen
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 4:35 pm


Return to AP Information

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron