Highest Number of Simultaneous Active AP's

Configuration and operational information about stumbled AP's

Highest Number of Simultaneous Active AP's

Postby Wombat » Sun Apr 13, 2003 5:56 am

Though it is a bit tricky to drive and notice details on my screen at the same time, I stopped at a light in Orange County, CA recently (Bake & Trabuco if you MUST know) and had 16 AP's active at the same time.

For me, that is an all time best score.
Wombat
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2002 8:26 am
Location: Smalltown, AZ

Postby kleptophobiac » Sun Apr 13, 2003 6:38 am

however many fills two full screens at 1600x1200 resolution on kismet.

this was in the San Francisco financial district... man I had a lot of AP's added to my tally over there.
kleptophobiac
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 8:32 am

Postby cfdisk » Sun Apr 13, 2003 7:42 am

Orlando, FL sucks. Downtown the most I ever got a signal for in one shot was 4. bah
The good news: Computers allow us to work 100% faster. The bad news: They generate 300% more work.
User avatar
cfdisk
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2003 8:54 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

10 at once

Postby dudeyougotadell » Sun Apr 13, 2003 7:49 am

Downtown North Attleboro, MA near the residential side (Broadway), 10 AP's all green/good signal.
~ Pablo
dudeyougotadell
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 12:47 pm
Location: Providence, RI Area

Postby Mirlyn » Mon Apr 14, 2003 10:52 pm

Had 12 once....thats about it for the record here.
Mirlyn
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 7:03 am
Location: Wichita, Kansas

Postby renderman » Tue Apr 15, 2003 11:22 am

I've had 14 on one corner of downtown Edmonton. Does'nt seem impressive until you realize that it's a city of only 800,000.

I've had more hits in a short amount of time, but that's the highest at a standstill
User avatar
renderman
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: Anywhere but Utah

Postby Madhadder » Tue Apr 15, 2003 1:53 pm

23...Holiday Inn, Munich Germany
User avatar
Madhadder
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 5:37 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Postby jgb1503 » Tue Apr 15, 2003 7:20 pm

29 found while on the 39th floor of the Hilton in downtown NYC. (only 1 had wep)
No trees were harmed in the sending of this message.... Although, quite a few electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
jgb1503
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 10:19 am

max out at 16

Postby SlopeSurfer » Thu Apr 15, 2004 1:24 pm

Is this forum even alive?

I wanted to verify that people have seen more than 16 active APs at the same time. I believe I have more than 16 active APs in my location but I can only see 16 at a time.

I will see 16 active APs, then turn on my AP, and some one else will drop off so that there are only 16 active at a time. I will turn mine off and another will come active at the same time. I will walk out on my porch and a few will become inactive and a few will become active all while maintaining a consistant 16 active APs.

Is this known? I didn't see it in the FAQ. Or am I hallucinating?
SlopeSurfer
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 9:33 am

Postby Mr.White » Thu Apr 15, 2004 1:38 pm

What card are you using?
A good way to threaten somebody is to light a stick of dynamite.
Then you call the guy and hold the burning fuse up to the phone.
"Hear that?" you say. "That's dynamite, baby." -Jack Handey
User avatar
Mr.White
 
Posts: 1051
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 9:01 am
Location: Minnesota

Postby SlopeSurfer » Thu Apr 15, 2004 2:03 pm

Netgear WG511 on my XP Dell.

I know I am limited to 16 active APs after a short walk I just made. I found 60 APs in 10 minutes walking within 1000 square feet and never had more than 16 active at a time.
SlopeSurfer
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 9:33 am

Postby kleptophobiac » Thu Apr 15, 2004 5:33 pm

Kismet doesn't have this problem. I estimate I had about 70 active in SF.

While driving through ATL I had about 40 active at once, though I never left I-75.
kleptophobiac
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 8:32 am

Postby renderman » Thu Apr 15, 2004 5:44 pm

Fired up Kismet in the backseat (I was'nt driving) while stopped at a light and as soon as Kismet initialized I had 43 AP's all hit at once. New record for myself. Shocked the hell outta me.
User avatar
renderman
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: Anywhere but Utah

Postby Thorn » Thu Apr 15, 2004 5:45 pm

SlopeSurfer wrote:Netgear WG511 on my XP Dell.

I know I am limited to 16 active APs after a short walk I just made. I found 60 APs in 10 minutes walking within 1000 square feet and never had more than 16 active at a time.

Yet another reason not to use an unsupported card. Other people have had much higher count with supported cards.
Thorn
Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.
Thorn
 
Posts: 10340
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Villa Straylight

Postby SlopeSurfer » Fri Apr 16, 2004 9:57 am

Thorn wrote:Yet another reason not to use an unsupported card. Other people have had much higher count with supported cards.


Thanks, I just wanted to verify it wasn't NS.

Unfortunatly I came across NS after I bought my card. But this site has got me interested so I may spend some money.
SlopeSurfer
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 9:33 am


Return to AP Information

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron