LEAP more secure than IPSec?!?

Configuration and operational information about stumbled AP's

LEAP more secure than IPSec?!?

Postby WiFiLinux » Thu Sep 25, 2003 12:05 pm

Hi All,

Has anyone seen this article? I am not a VPN expert but I thought that IPSec could do dynamic key exchange after a tunnel was established. The author seems to think that LEAP is more secure than IPSec. Can someone please give me a reality check on this?

Thanks.
WiFiLinux

Postby Madhadder » Thu Sep 25, 2003 9:58 pm

Check the Cisco site for better info. There are also many
presentations,whitepapers,etc. about LEAP on the net, even
here if you search....

LEAP is only part of the overall picture if you use Cisco gear.
In addition, LEAP generates Dynamic WEP keys on a per user
basis, and changes them every 30sec or so. Add LEAP to the
other Cisco Wierdness and you have one very secure network..

PS: LEAP is only Avail. On Cisco Gear, anything else is a hack.
Legends may sleep, but they never die!!!!
Madhadder

Postby WiFiLinux » Mon Sep 29, 2003 10:28 am

Thanks Madhadder,

I was really inquiring about IPSec’s ability to re-key after a tunnel has been established. I have done some research and can now verify that IPSec can re-key an existing tunnel (contrary to what the above website states). I should have posted this in the miscellaneous/off topic section. Sorry for any confusion
WiFiLinux

Postby nashr » Mon Sep 29, 2003 10:32 am

Madhadder, good summation.

WiFiLinux, I see your point. Do you have a link for your findings? Thanks.

P.S.
I work with the author of that website. He doesn't follow this site at all, as you can see by his number of postings. I'll pass along that others have been reading his work.
Help! I've been Simpsonized!
nashr

Postby WiFiLinux » Mon Sep 29, 2003 6:50 pm

Hi Nashr,