Less sites found when Orinco Gold and External antenna installed

Configuration and operational information about stumbled AP's

Less sites found when Orinco Gold and External antenna installed

Postby top10consulting » Sat Mar 29, 2003 7:05 am

I recently found about 60 locations when I had a D-Link 650+ card. Purchased a Orinoco Gold card and an external antenna, and now when going the same route find 15-20 sites. I get the same results with the built in antenna on the card, as well as an addtional external antenna that mounts to my laptop.

Any suggestions? The card it self, works perfectly\better with my local network.
top10consulting
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 7:01 am

Postby michaelp » Sat Mar 29, 2003 8:31 am

what type of antenna?
maybe your over shooting it.
michaelp
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2002 10:23 pm
Location: Washington State

Postby digiital » Sat Mar 29, 2003 9:41 am

I have a Gold(well a Dell 1150) as well, just waiting for the pigtail to arrive. But last weekend went over to a friends place to help him install the dlink-650+ and once we had it going. The dlink was picking up stuff my gold wasn't at all. I was standing RIGHT beside him and he had 3 AP's and me, nothing.
digiital
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 1:58 pm
Location: Brampton, Ontario

Postby top10consulting » Sat Mar 29, 2003 10:45 am

Technically I'm using 3 -- all with the same results (I"m seeing obviously better connections with each on my own AP), but very little shows on the general public.

1 -- on card antenna
2 -- 5dBi WiFi Omni Antenna for Orinoco with 20" cable
3 -- 2.4Ghz Mobile Range Extender Antenna (5.5dB)

Rich
top10consulting
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 7:01 am

Postby MRK » Sat Mar 29, 2003 10:50 am

Upgrade the firmware.

-Mr.K
MRK
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2002 12:31 pm

Postby top10consulting » Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:24 am

I currently have 8.72 for the firmware...but I've been reading in another thread, an I am going to try to downgrade on Net Stumbler, and try that.. from the current version.

Thanks
top10consulting
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 7:01 am

Postby jjkaczor » Sat Mar 29, 2003 1:42 pm

Originally posted by top10consulting
I currently have 8.72 for the firmware...but I've been reading in another thread, an I am going to try to downgrade on Net Stumbler, and try that.. from the current version.
Thanks


I had the same results a few runs. It may be your cabling, pigtail connection, or the quality of the connection to the card. The pigtail/card connection can be finicky, and if you've rolled up your window on your antenna lead and crimped it, you may have degraded signal.

As well as firmware, make sure you aren't using the Microsoft download drivers, I've found the Originoco/Agere ones much better.
jjkaczor
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2002 7:54 am
Location: Calgary

Postby top10consulting » Sat Mar 29, 2003 4:34 pm

No luck with the older version. As for crimping... remember 3 different antennas (one of which is the card) and the same results. On one location, where I know there are two AP's, I pulled the antenna out, and still nothing.

I don't have a pigtail, just the Orinoco connector into the card.


I'm almost postive I have the non-windows driver.. but will verify next!

Thanks again.

Rich
top10consulting
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 7:01 am


Return to AP Information

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

cron