Multiple Wireless Networks - How To?

Configuration and operational information about stumbled AP's

Multiple Wireless Networks - How To?

Postby blissmj » Sat Dec 28, 2002 2:38 pm

Hey y'all,

I live in an appartment complex with a number of 802.11b networks. Sometimes my signal is overpowered by other peoples AP signals and windows selects their network.

Does anyone know how I can manually select which network I want to use (regardless of its strength)?

I'm using WindowsXP/Orinoco Silver card.

Thanks!
Mike
blissmj
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 2:32 pm

Postby HAiRYANiMAL » Sat Dec 28, 2002 2:54 pm

are you trying to steal internet?!?!?!?!

we dont do that around here!
HAiRYANiMAL
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2002 2:23 pm

Postby c0nv3r9 » Sat Dec 28, 2002 3:05 pm

Actually I didn't hear him mention the Internet at all... and he is trying to specifically use his network over others that are overpowering and grabbing his xp client

It's been a while since I last used XP, but if I remember right it is something you can set in your client.
He shall recount his worthies: they shall stumble in their walk; they shall make haste to the wall thereof, and the defence shall be prepared.
-- Nahum 2:5, The Holy Bible, KJV
c0nv3r9
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 7:44 am
Location: not behind you, or am I?

....

Postby stevieg » Sat Dec 28, 2002 3:38 pm

Change your SSID from "any" or blank to the specific SSID of your AP?


Steve
stevieg
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2002 1:09 am

Postby blissmj » Sat Dec 28, 2002 4:19 pm

Hey y'all,

Thanks for your help. No I am not stealing access. I'm relatively happy with Comcast's digital cable. Someday I'll be able to afford my own T1 line.

I have my SSID set. So does everyone around me. Depending on where I am in my complex, the AP with the SSID "defualt" puts out a stronger signal than my own "bliss".

I suppose I could leave a message for the "default" person in his "my documents" and ask him to set his WEP key, but I'm sure there is a better way.

The challenge seems to be that Windows chooses the AP with the highest signal.

Any further guidance would be appreciated.

Mike
blissmj
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 2:32 pm

Postby -=heineken=- » Sat Dec 28, 2002 10:20 pm

Originally posted by blissmj
I suppose I could leave a message for the "default" person in his "my documents" and ask him to set his WEP key, but I'm sure there is a better way.
Probably not a good idea.. While your intentions might seem good to you, them might appear malicious to the other person. Especially somebody who doesn't know enough to protect their network.
User avatar
-=heineken=-
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2002 10:29 pm
Location: Toronto

Postby renderman » Sat Dec 28, 2002 10:54 pm

I'm dealing with that right now.

I just got a WAP and am dealing with the neighboor down the road, trying to get them to change thier channel and put on WEP, since I'm usually running in 'ANY' mode, it occasionally switches t thier network when I'm on the east side of the house.

Get yourself a pringles cantenna, find the apartment and begin negotiations. So far my neighboor has not been un reasonable, just clueless.
User avatar
renderman
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: Anywhere but Utah

Postby MRK » Sun Dec 29, 2002 12:12 am

Originally posted by HAiRYANiMAL
are you trying to steal internet?!?!?!?!

we dont do that around here!


What a dumbass. lol

-Mr.K :p
MRK
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2002 12:31 pm

Postby HAiRYANiMAL » Sun Dec 29, 2002 4:01 pm

Originally posted by MRK
What a dumbass. lol

-Mr.K :p



Thanks for the appraise!
I hope you feel good.
That makes this board such a good community.
HAiRYANiMAL
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2002 2:23 pm

Postby c0nv3r9 » Sun Dec 29, 2002 4:39 pm

Originally posted by MRK
What a dumbass. lol

That pointless flamage was uncalled for. Be more constructive next time.
He shall recount his worthies: they shall stumble in their walk; they shall make haste to the wall thereof, and the defence shall be prepared.
-- Nahum 2:5, The Holy Bible, KJV
c0nv3r9
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 7:44 am
Location: not behind you, or am I?

Postby MRK » Sun Dec 29, 2002 6:02 pm

Originally posted by c0nv3r9
That pointless flamage was uncalled for. Be more constructive next time.


Mabey you should have made that comment about his post. It was just as uncalled for as mine. And your right, I'll think next time before posting. But at the time, it seemed funny. Guess not. :(

-Mr.K
MRK
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2002 12:31 pm

i'm having the same problem

Postby drick » Sat Jan 11, 2003 1:30 am

but my neighbors have WEP enabled, and we STILL keep overlapping due to XP Pro's tendenct to jump on ANY AP availible.

did you ever figure out how to clear this up?
drick
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 9:24 pm

Postby blissmj » Sat Jan 11, 2003 4:58 am

Nope. I was hoping that in this hotbed of WiFi knowledge someone would have an elegant solution. I depending on where I am in my appartment complete, I can be on any number of network (and unable to access my other computer).
blissmj
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 2:32 pm

Postby JamesH5100 » Sat Jan 11, 2003 5:37 am

Try unchecking "Use Windows to configure my wireless network settings" in the properties of the card.
JamesH5100
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2002 5:08 am

exactly

Postby drick » Sat Jan 11, 2003 12:04 pm

that is exactly the probloem i have. i have 4 hard wired pc's in my SOHO, and i would like to be able to access them via my laptop.

James, I did try that, i then have problems getting connected to ANY AP.

Bottom line is Linksys just doesn't have the sodtware to support their products, and their tech support is not very good.

I was hoping someone had a workaround until they add these features in the next release of FW for the cards, AP's, or config utility.
drick
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 9:24 pm

Next

Return to AP Information

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests