Royal Caribbean ships

Configuration and operational information about stumbled AP's

Royal Caribbean ships

Postby RedRocket » Tue Jun 03, 2003 4:11 pm

While I was on a Royal Caribbean cruise ship (Navigator of the Seas) recently, I noted that the Bingo game sales desk had a Linksys AP. Lacking any sniffing tools, I have no idea if it was broadcasting SSIDs. It was probably there to link to another Bingo sales desk down 2 decks and in the theater.
RedRocket
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 2:32 pm
Location: Bellevue, WA

Postby Novilio » Tue Jul 01, 2003 5:15 pm

When Carol and I took our last cruise (December 2001) with Royal Caribbean, I had already had my Wi-Fi system for almost 18 months, and when I saw that they had begun experimenting with an "Internet lounge" for passengers, I asked the lounge manager if they would consider a wireless network for the public areas of the ship. Without batting an eye, the young woman answered, "We tested that a few months ago, but the metal bulkheads restricted the range of a single access point so badly we felt the cost of using multiple access points to cover even part of the ship would be too much."

Pretty sharp for 2001. And if you all recall, APs were still pretty damned expensive back then. Perhaps, with APs now reliably under $100, they'll reconsider.

--73--

--Novilio
Novilio
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2002 2:22 pm
Location: Colorado Springs, CO


Return to AP Information

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron