Usr2249

Configuration and operational information about stumbled AP's

Usr2249

Postby yves_mag » Tue Dec 30, 2003 7:38 am

i own a usr2249, how could i read the power (in dBm) received?
is it possible to scan the others?

i'm a french guy, please write to me with simple words! ;)

i've written a software to create meshed networks with 3 UNIdirectional antenna for each (like bee nets).
see (in french, sorry!):
http://yves.maguer.free.fr/WiFi/page_tlse_wifi_yves.html
yves_mag
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 7:23 am
Location: Toulouse France

Postby sparafina » Tue Dec 30, 2003 9:06 am

Votre anglais n'est pas un probleme.

Ce page peut aider:

http://users.skynet.be/chricat/signal/signal-strength.html
User avatar
sparafina
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: Tue May 07, 2002 2:12 pm
Location: TX,MD,NY

Postby yves_mag » Tue Dec 30, 2003 12:13 pm

thank you for your url, but the problem is for an AP behind a network card (rj45)!
yves_mag
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 7:23 am
Location: Toulouse France

Postby sparafina » Tue Dec 30, 2003 3:42 pm

Originally posted by yves_mag
thank you for your url, but the problem is for an AP behind a network card (rj45)!


I don't think that measurement is possible with that model. Unless the AP provides that information directly via a client configuration screen.

The Dlink DWL900 is similar to the USR2249, Dlink might have a utility to measure RF when it is in client mode.

Bonne chance.
User avatar
sparafina
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: Tue May 07, 2002 2:12 pm
Location: TX,MD,NY

Postby yves_mag » Wed Dec 31, 2003 3:39 am

the utility is not able to measure the power!

the utility show the mac addresses of the clients, but nothing else!
yves_mag
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 7:23 am
Location: Toulouse France

Postby sparafina » Wed Dec 31, 2003 5:43 am

You could try just removing the card from the AP and put it into a laptop. Then you could use wlan client tools (linux or windows) that support the card's chipset.
User avatar
sparafina
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: Tue May 07, 2002 2:12 pm
Location: TX,MD,NY

Postby yves_mag » Wed Dec 31, 2003 11:04 am

if i would put a card in a laptop, i would't buy an ap!

i need to put it on the top of my house (with poe 25m). this is were it is right now!

thanks
yves_mag
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 7:23 am
Location: Toulouse France

Postby sparafina » Wed Dec 31, 2003 11:41 am

Originally posted by yves_mag
if i would put a card in a laptop, i would't buy an ap!

i need to put it on the top of my house (with poe 25m). this is were it is right now!

thanks


I misunderstood, I though you just wanted to measure the receive capability of the card once and not measure it when it was in use. Other than modifying the AP firmware, I don't think its possible to make the measurement you want.

After reading through your site, I guess you want this capability so you can aim your antenna more precisely. Is this correct?

Another thought is using a Linksys WRT54G. It lets you load linux as well as some applications.

25 meters seems like a very long distance for POE, do you experience a significant voltage drop?
User avatar
sparafina
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: Tue May 07, 2002 2:12 pm
Location: TX,MD,NY

Postby yves_mag » Thu Jan 01, 2004 4:05 am

happy new year!

"aim your antenna more precisely". exactly. with +-1°.


Linksys WRT54G seem to be very interesting.

on
http://yves.maguer.free.fr/WiFi/config_yves.jpg
i show 20m of POE for 220V AC, and 5m for 5V DC.

thanks.
yves_mag
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 7:23 am
Location: Toulouse France

Postby sparafina » Fri Jan 02, 2004 8:26 am

Originally posted by yves_mag
happy new year!

"aim your antenna more precisely". exactly. with +-1°.



+-1° is a very close tolerance

Ideally, you could use a spectrum analyzer if you have 5 or 6,000 euros laying about. ;)

If you don't want to buy a spectrum analyzer and don't have direct access to the card, you might be able to do something like a packet flood or custom ping. I was thinking of a script to ping a port and capturing the time.
User avatar
sparafina
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: Tue May 07, 2002 2:12 pm
Location: TX,MD,NY


Return to AP Information

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests