wired lan wont talk to wireless lan

Configuration and operational information about stumbled AP's

wired lan wont talk to wireless lan

Postby chemman14 » Wed Jan 22, 2003 4:07 pm

anyone knwo why this is happeneing
i have the linksys 4 port router and wireless ap combination
chemman14
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2002 3:21 pm

Postby Thorn » Wed Jan 22, 2003 6:10 pm

Can you supply a bit more info? This isn't real informative.

When you say the wired side won't talk to the wireless, what exactly do you mean? What are you trying to accomplish?

Are the wireless basics working? - Signal, AP Associatation, etc.
Are the wired basics working? - Cables correct (not X-overs), connect lights, etc.

If the basics are working, then you probably have a networking issue, not a wireless problem, per se. You might want to search these forums for "Networking 101" for some references.
Thorn
Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.
Thorn
 
Posts: 10340
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Villa Straylight

Postby chemman14 » Wed Jan 22, 2003 8:44 pm

heh sorry i was in sort of a rush
evrythign is in check
for some reason last week i hooked a laptop into my router (hardwire connection) and it woudl share files fine with my tower that was hard wired to the router
but it wouldnt share any files with the tower that is connected wirelessly
im thinking its some stupid setting in xp (it usu is)
but ive played with EVRY setting and it still doesnt work
its wierd it can see the computer, but when you try to access it it says that you dont have privliges :(
chemman14
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2002 3:21 pm

Postby c0nv3r9 » Wed Jan 22, 2003 8:56 pm

When you say access shares, I can only assume your talking SMB.

Lets start a little more basic, can you ping systems on your wired network from the wireless side? vica versa?
He shall recount his worthies: they shall stumble in their walk; they shall make haste to the wall thereof, and the defence shall be prepared.
-- Nahum 2:5, The Holy Bible, KJV
c0nv3r9
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 7:44 am
Location: not behind you, or am I?

Postby Madhadder » Thu Jan 23, 2003 4:37 am

I have had the same problem with Win2000.

I have the following:

1. Wireless Laptop
2. Wireless Desktop (PCI/PCMCIA Board)
3. Wired Workstation/Server.

All wireless card are Goldcards.

When installed in the Wireless desktop the card/software
seem to be running just fine. The wireless PC and see the
wireless Laptop, but can't see the wired network. Nor can it
surf the Internet.

Only the Laptop can see the Hardwired Net/surf..
The hardwired PC's can see the Laptop, but not the
Wireless Desktop.

All settings are correct "AP Mode" drivers etc.
I believe this is a problem with the Goldcard
running in a PCMCIA/PCI card.

I have not found out a way around this yet, and it's
a paint in the ass...
User avatar
Madhadder
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 5:37 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Postby Thorn » Thu Jan 23, 2003 5:42 am

If it is saying you don't have the correct privileges, it is being accessed under the wrong account/password.

Do the search for the "Networking 101" references. You need to configure the accounts correctly.
Thorn
Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.
Thorn
 
Posts: 10340
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Villa Straylight

Postby c0nv3r9 » Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:07 am

What OS are the computers running? List em out, one line per box. Label each one as wired or wireless.

How are you trying to access these "shares"?
TCPIP? NetBIOS?

What do you mean by "not see"? Are you saying you don't see the other computer in Microsoft's network browser/neighborhood? (like a lot of my friends refer to), or can you truly not ping a box across the network like I asked in the last post?

In your last post, you detailed two wireless computers and one wired.. all the while saying that everything on the wired say (appearantly all one of them?) works fine... which doesn't say a whole lot.

Right now, your problem could be anywhere from permissions on the box, to basic networking issues, to just not knowing what you're doing..
He shall recount his worthies: they shall stumble in their walk; they shall make haste to the wall thereof, and the defence shall be prepared.
-- Nahum 2:5, The Holy Bible, KJV
c0nv3r9
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 7:44 am
Location: not behind you, or am I?

Postby chemman14 » Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:41 am

alright i have 2 computers that are MINE
they both run xp
the wired running xp home
and the wireless running xp pro
the other "wired" computer that i tested it with was a friends laptop
i can see them in the network neigborhood

-seprate issue-
and for some reason when i set my wired computer up with a static ip and turn dhcp off on my router. It can still connect to my router, but not the internet. I thought it may be a dns issue but i checked the numbers multiple times and they dont match up. ive tried reinstalling the drives, shit ive even recently reinstalled windows and it still doesnt work. i know this is a completly different issue but i felt like saying it now.
chemman14
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2002 3:21 pm

Postby c0nv3r9 » Thu Jan 23, 2003 9:10 am

whoa whoa whoa... where does Madhadder fit in all of this? I'm just realizing this is two different people posting trouble / specs in this thread

chemman... not sure if this has to do with pro/home, as I have never actually used home, but it sounds like a permissions issue. Do the accounts on each machine having matching names and passwords? You should be prompted, I know, but that does not always occur correctly. Does the share give at minimum, read permission to the user trying to access? equally important, does the user account your connecting with have at least read permissions to the nfts location that the share is located on? Having permission to the share does not necessary mean that the account has permission to the fs.

As for the Internet thing.. it sounds like a TCP/IP config issue to me.

So... I think this is a response, but now I'm kinda confused about this whole thread, per my opening remark
He shall recount his worthies: they shall stumble in their walk; they shall make haste to the wall thereof, and the defence shall be prepared.
-- Nahum 2:5, The Holy Bible, KJV
c0nv3r9
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 7:44 am
Location: not behind you, or am I?

Postby Madhadder » Fri Jan 24, 2003 5:52 am

Originally posted by Madhadder
I have had the same problem with Win2000.

I have the following:

1. Wireless Laptop
2. Wireless Desktop (PCI/PCMCIA Board)
3. Wired Workstation/Server.

All wireless card are Goldcards.

When installed in the Wireless desktop the card/software
seem to be running just fine. The wireless PC and see the
wireless Laptop, but can't see the wired network. Nor can it
surf the Internet.

Only the Laptop can see the Hardwired Net/surf..
The hardwired PC's can see the Laptop, but not the
Wireless Desktop.

All settings are correct "AP Mode" drivers etc.
I believe this is a problem with the Goldcard
running in a PCMCIA/PCI card.

I have not found out a way around this yet, and it's
a paint in the ass...


-------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Wireless Laptop / Win2k Pro
Can see/ping/traceroute: #2-3-4
Can Not see/ping/traceroute: None
2. Wireless Desktop / Win2k Pro
Can see/ping/traceroute: None
Can Not see/ping/traceroute: #1-3-4
3. Wired Desktop / Win2k Pro
Can see/ping/traceroute: #1-3-4
Can Not see/ping/traceroute: #2
4. Wired Server / Win2k Srv
Can see/ping/traceroute: #1-3-4
Can Not see/ping/traceroute: #2

It's not a permissions problem as all Are logged in as Admin.
Even putting the 2 Wireless cards into Adhoc Mode results
in them seeing eachother "Via Card Mgr" but not via IP.
User avatar
Madhadder
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 5:37 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Postby Thorn » Fri Jan 24, 2003 9:16 am

Originally posted by Madhadder
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Wireless Laptop / Win2k Pro
Can see/ping/traceroute: #2-3-4
Can Not see/ping/traceroute: None
2. Wireless Desktop / Win2k Pro
Can see/ping/traceroute: None
Can Not see/ping/traceroute: #1-3-4
3. Wired Desktop / Win2k Pro
Can see/ping/traceroute: #1-3-4
Can Not see/ping/traceroute: #2
4. Wired Server / Win2k Srv
Can see/ping/traceroute: #1-3-4
Can Not see/ping/traceroute: #2

It's not a permissions problem as all Are logged in as Admin.
Even putting the 2 Wireless cards into Adhoc Mode results
in them seeing eachother "Via Card Mgr" but not via IP.


Madhadder, this sound like TCP/IP is setup incorrectly on #2. Assuming for the moment that the physical layer is working (ie you can associate, wireless signal is good, etc.), start with the IP basics. DOuble check the address; correct range, correct submask, etc. I've goofed enough types typing those things, and stared at it thinking it was OK, only to find I'd put in 1 instead of a 0, or 254 instead of 255.

If those are good, the winsocks may be corrupted. (It happens)
Delete the TCP/IP for the card, and edit the registy entries for Winsock and Winsock2. Reboot. Then reinstall the TCP/IP, and it will rebuild the winsocks.
Thorn
Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.
Thorn
 
Posts: 10340
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Villa Straylight

Postby Madhadder » Sat Feb 01, 2003 5:50 pm

Thanks for the info, but I have already done that.
I have also tried to use the PCI/PCMCIA/Gold setup in another
comp. Same prob.

I know its not the gold card, cause I can take it out and use it
in my Laptop without probs. And the Adapeter card is also running
OK, as I can use any other PCMCIA card in it.

The funny thing is that both the Wireless card and the PCI
adapter were made/supplied by Lucent.
:rolleyes:
User avatar
Madhadder
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 5:37 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Postby chemman14 » Tue Feb 04, 2003 10:39 am

thx for jacking my thread ;)
chemman14
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2002 3:21 pm

Postby Madhadder » Tue Feb 04, 2003 10:56 am

No Prob....Anything to help out a fellow stumbler.. :D
User avatar
Madhadder
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 5:37 am
Location: Munich, Germany


Return to AP Information

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

cron