Adding an antenna to a Linksys WPC54GS

Configuration and other hardware related information

Adding an antenna to a Linksys WPC54GS

Postby mojo-chan » Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:28 am

I have been looking for a way to add an antenna to a WPC54GS for a while now. I got it cheap (£3!) and it has a well supported Broadcom chipset. I have had good results with it under Backtrack 3, even if the TX power is only 15mW.

Here is a high res pic of the board: http://www.bagpipes.net/files/front-linksys54g.jpg

Sorry for being a n00b but where do I need to solder on to? I found an old thread (http://www.netstumbler.org/f9/wpc54g-version2-external-antenna-w-tnc-jack-14698/) which says connect the pin to the end of C155 (top left corner of the image) but checking with a multimeter this appears to be connected to the GND points nearby. Maybe my multimeter isn't good enough to spot the very low value capacitor in between? In that case presumably I should just solder shield to one of these ground points...
mojo-chan
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 9:10 am

Postby streaker69 » Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:44 am

mojo-chan wrote:I have been looking for a way to add an antenna to a WPC54GS for a while now. I got it cheap (£3!) and it has a well supported Broadcom chipset. I have had good results with it under Backtrack 3, even if the TX power is only 15mW.

Here is a high res pic of the board: http://www.bagpipes.net/files/front-linksys54g.jpg

Sorry for being a n00b but where do I need to solder on to? I found an old thread (http://www.netstumbler.org/f9/wpc54g-version2-external-antenna-w-tnc-jack-14698/) which says connect the pin to the end of C155 (top left corner of the image) but checking with a multimeter this appears to be connected to the GND points nearby. Maybe my multimeter isn't good enough to spot the very low value capacitor in between? In that case presumably I should just solder shield to one of these ground points...


Which side of the Cap did you measure from. It would appear onside of the Cap is connected to ground and the other is connected to the antenna.
Treat your gun like your genitals, only whip it out when it's absolutely necessary.
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Postby mojo-chan » Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:48 pm

Both sides appear connected with my DMM, but it wasn't an expensive one...
mojo-chan
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 9:10 am

Postby Thorn » Thu Aug 07, 2008 1:29 pm

Attach it past C155, all the way out to the point marked "U2".

And for what it is worth, the Broadcom chip is NOT supported. It's one of the chipsets that falls into the "mostly works under NDIS" area.
Thorn
Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.
Thorn
 
Posts: 10340
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Villa Straylight

Postby mojo-chan » Thu Aug 07, 2008 1:52 pm

Okay, thanks a lot Thorn. What about the shield, just do that to GND?

You are right about Broadcom support, although it does work very well with other tools like AirCrack.
mojo-chan
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 9:10 am

Postby Thorn » Thu Aug 07, 2008 3:19 pm

mojo-chan wrote:Okay, thanks a lot Thorn. What about the shield, just do that to GND?
Yes, shield to GND.
Thorn
Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.
Thorn
 
Posts: 10340
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Villa Straylight

Postby mojo-chan » Thu Aug 07, 2008 3:33 pm

Thanks, I'll report back when I have given it a go!
mojo-chan
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 9:10 am

Re: Adding an antenna to a Linksys WPC54GS

Postby mpropato1 » Tue Oct 15, 2013 9:59 am

Have worked the external antenna?
mpropato1
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 9:55 am


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests