Connecting to home wifi- which is 30m away from home

Configuration and other hardware related information

Connecting to home wifi- which is 30m away from home

Postby momanium » Mon Nov 14, 2011 2:35 pm

Hi (my first thread )

Heres the situation:

Recently I got a building built at the end of my garden about 30 metres away. I want to be able to access my home wifi down there and only get a really weak connection if I hold my laptop up high above my head. Theres quite a steep drop from my house to the bottom of my garden. I want to be able to connect from different computers/ laptops in my shed which is 30 metres away through wireless.Any suggestions you know that work. So far I have though about:

*Getting a new router as I have an old Belkin one (802.11g)
*Using homeplugs, (the shed uses the same electricity mains but has a sub- fusebox so I dont know if it would work)
* Ethernet cable from home to shed and put a second router in shed (though its quite a drop and I dont know if you can have a second router- also 30 metres of ethernet cable!)
*Wifi repeater (though it would have to go next to my router as the router is as close as possible to shed - 30 metres away!

*Any other suggestions/ reccomendations!

So I really want to be able to access internet but want the most reliable, quickest, cheapest (possibly), easiest method which will last. Any suggestions would be very useful. Thanks
momanium
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 2:31 pm

Re: Connecting to home wifi- which is 30m away from home

Postby streaker69 » Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:09 pm

Best solution: Run the CAT5 out to the shed. Setup another access point out there with the same SSID and encryption as the one inside. You will then be able to roam properly between access points.
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Re: Connecting to home wifi- which is 30m away from home

Postby Barry » Tue Nov 15, 2011 5:34 am

Second Streaker's suggestion, try to keep it a couple feet away from your power lines going out to the shed.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Re: Connecting to home wifi- which is 30m away from home

Postby streaker69 » Tue Nov 15, 2011 7:33 am

Barry wrote:Second Streaker's suggestion, try to keep it a couple feet away from your power lines going out to the shed.


Or run shielded CAT5, I did that in a police station a while ago because the RF from the cruisers and the stations base radio was interfering. Worked well. No problems after that was done.

It's a little more expensive, but if you're forced to run near power lines it's worth it.
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Re: Connecting to home wifi- which is 30m away from home

Postby Starpoint » Sun Nov 20, 2011 3:48 pm

run the shielded cat 5 30 meters is 97.5 feet. buy a spool of cable and some PVC and bury it underground to the building. If the building has power, drop a nice lil 4 port switch, add an AP out there like Streak said and you will still have some hard drops left over.
User avatar
Starpoint
 
Posts: 2539
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2003 4:47 pm
Location: Houston

Re: Connecting to home wifi- which is 30m away from home

Postby burning_wi_fi » Fri Apr 19, 2013 6:08 pm

How is your home signal at the shed? If it is weak, you can make it stronger with a wi fi beam antenna on the router. A beam extends the routers range for both transmit and receive and will cover the area around the shed. If you will be there with tablets or smartphones, which have mediocre antennas, a wireless router in the shed is a better idea. Yes, use good quality low loss cat 5 cable. For power, you can even run a DC line direct to the router if necessary.
burning_wi_fi
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 1:01 am


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron