Lucent silver to gold

Configuration and other hardware related information

Postby zoddan » Mon Apr 03, 2006 9:54 am

I have a orginal Orinoco Silver card, and i want to make it a Gold card, can i do that with a simple tool or do i have to do allot of wierd stuff? :)

I reed some of the posts but it was allot that was about other cards with different brands..
zoddan
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby wrzwaldo » Mon Apr 03, 2006 9:58 am

zoddan wrote:I have a orginal Orinoco Silver card, and i want to make it a Gold card, can i do that with a simple tool or do i have to do allot of wierd stuff? :)

I reed some of the posts but it was allot that was about other cards with different brands..


Everything you need to know is in this thread. Fucking read it!
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Postby zoddan » Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:05 am

if you can direct me to a specific page.
zoddan
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby beakmyn » Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:07 am

zoddan wrote:I have a orginal Orinoco Silver card, and i want to make it a Gold card, can i do that with a simple tool or do i have to do allot of wierd stuff? :)

I reed some of the posts but it was allot that was about other cards with different brands..


Yeah, well, there's lots of weird stuff in this world - tofu bacon, hairless cats, country music.

Start Here and then read until your eyes bleed. Actually you might not even need to read that far. I only read to 11 pages
beakmyn
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:53 pm

Postby zoddan » Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:14 am

i found someting on another page, about alchemy. It says:

"To use it, just open a DOS box or command prompt and run the program. After a successful conversion, run the firmware updater. It has been tested on Windows 98/XP."

Is that all i have to do ?, and what are the ods that the card is damaged by it?
zoddan
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby Dutch » Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:20 am

zoddan wrote:i found someting on another page, about alchemy. It says:

"To use it, just open a DOS box or command prompt and run the program. After a successful conversion, run the firmware updater. It has been tested on Windows 98/XP."

Is that all i have to do ?, and what are the ods that the card is damaged by it?

If you read ALL the posts in this thread, you can evaluate for yourself if you want to run the risk of damaging your card or not.
We do not spoonfeed here, particularly when ALL the information is available for you in the same thread.

Dutch
All your answers are belong to Google. SEARCH DAMMIT!
Warning. Warning.
Low C8H10N4O2 level detected. Operator halted....
User avatar
Dutch
 
Posts: 6698
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: City of Mermaids, Denmark

Postby zoddan » Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:22 am

well im of to another forum anyway ....
zoddan
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 2:18 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby Thorn » Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:25 am

zoddan wrote:i found someting on another page, about alchemy. It says:

"To use it, just open a DOS box or command prompt and run the program. After a successful conversion, run the firmware updater. It has been tested on Windows 98/XP."

Is that all i have to do ?
Yes.

Alternately, you don't have to flash this, and there's no reason to unless you plan to used it on a network. You can used it with NetStumbler without any changes.

zoddan wrote: and what are the ods that the card is damaged by it?
Fair to low. However, there is an expression in English: "You pays your money, and you takes your chances." In other words, it's a cheap Silver card. If you want a Gold at no risk, pay more money and buy a Gold.
Thorn
Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.
Thorn
 
Posts: 10340
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Villa Straylight

Postby Starpoint » Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:33 am

zoddan wrote:i found someting on another page, about alchemy. It says:

"To use it, just open a DOS box or command prompt and run the program. After a successful conversion, run the firmware updater. It has been tested on Windows 98/XP."

Is that all i have to do ?, and what are the ods that the card is damaged by it?



The odds are the same as you have spelling simple words correctly
Against the run of the mill, static as it seems

We break the surface tension with our wild kinetic dreams
Curves and lines -- of grand designs...


Tonight's movie "Soylent Green" has been brought to you by our sponsor - Waste Management

My mind is like a Steel trap - Rusty and Illegal in most states
User avatar
Starpoint
 
Posts: 2539
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2003 4:47 pm
Location: Houston

Postby SignalSeeker » Mon Apr 03, 2006 9:16 pm

zoddan wrote:well im of to another forum anyway ....


You are the weakest link, goodbye [color="White"]Fucktard[/color]

Justin
User avatar
SignalSeeker
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 5:51 pm
Location: Sacramento, CA

messed up

Postby ncoop23 » Fri Apr 14, 2006 8:24 am

I went into alchemy and changed the settings and now my card wont work in linux but it works on xp is there a .bin file that I could resend to my card and put it either to orininal or gold?
P.S. 2wire 5volt card orinoco rebrand
ncoop23
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 1:18 pm

Postby MikeP928 » Fri Apr 14, 2006 12:01 pm

ncoop23 wrote:I went into alchemy and changed the settings and now my card wont work in linux but it works on xp is there a .bin file that I could resend to my card and put it either to orininal or gold?
P.S. 2wire 5volt card orinoco rebrand


FYI:
It is perfectly ok to use more that one punctuation character per post. Try it, you might like it. We sure as hell will.

MikeP
Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote.
-- Benjamin Franklin, 1759
User avatar
MikeP928
 
Posts: 1122
Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 8:09 pm
Location: Florida Panhandle

Postby sys6x » Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:49 pm

I just tried Alchemy on my Orinoco Silver and uh...I got an error. I did some search and lincomatic said something about answering yes to "Change advanced PDA settings?". I tried it, it asked me for the PDA file path, which I gave. When I did run for the first time alchemy, it created a newpda.bin and origpda.bin which as far as I know are the new PDA to be written on the card and the backup of the old one. I'm getting a "Error writing new PDA". Am I doing anything wrong? Now, I can't connect (Limited or no connectivity) to WLANs but I can detect them, with the WZC and NetStumbler. I have a WaveLAN Orinoco Silver and here is the log :

Lincomatic Alchemy 1.00 (Apr 30 2004 10:20:08)
Copyright (c) 2004 lincomatic ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

0: ORiNOCO Wireless LAN PC Card (5 volt)
1: Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection

2: Enter driver name
3: Abort program
WARNING: the list above may contain non-ORiNOCO adapters
SELECTING A non-ORiNOCO ADAPTER MAY DAMAGE IT!!!
Select an ORiNOCO adapter (0-3): 0
Driver name: {CA251A77-5F63-46E3-8118-CC7721EE9F1A}
Driver \\.\{CA251A77-5F63-46E3-8118-CC7721EE9F1A} opened successfully
driver connection handle: 82c02008
Reading PDA...
--------------------------
Original PDA
0001(08): 4130 3135 3238 3041
0002(08): 3034 3133 3034 3030
0003(0c): 3030 5554 3434 3434 3734 3237
0004(78): 0000 0000 F667 A340 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0005(0a): 0000 0600 0100 0200 0200
0006(0a): 0000 0100 0100 0300 0300
0007(0a): 0000 0200 0100 0500 0600
0008(08): 0300 0100 0400 0200
0011(1c): 113C EE3C 223D 3340 4440 553E 663F 7741 8840 9940 AA3D BB3D CC3B DD3C

0021(1c): 1154 EE6C 2253 3353 4453 5553 6654 7756 8858 995B AA5D BB60 CC62 DD65

0030(1c): 1154 2253 3353 4453 5553 6653 7753 8854 9954 AA54 BB54 CC55 DD55 EE56

0040(04): 0006 0006
0101(06): 0002 2D03 6A4D
0102(08): 0000 0000 0000 0000
0103(0c): 0200 3031 0000 0000 0000 0000
0104(02): FF1F
0105(02): 0300
0106(02): 0000
0107(02): 0100
0108(04): 3A4E 9824
0109(0a): 0200 0100 2B00 0000 0000
0111(1c): 3C13 3D13 4013 4013 3E13 3F13 4113 4013 4013 3D13 3D13 3B13 3C13 3C13

0121(1c): 5412 5312 5312 5312 5312 5412 5612 5812 5B12 5D12 6012 6212 6512 6C12

0130(1c): 5444 5344 5344 5344 5344 5344 5344 5444 5444 5444 5444 5544 5544 5644

0140(04): 0642 0643
0000(02): DF8A
--------------------------
Change advanced PDA settings? (y/n) y
Read PDA from binary file? (y/n) y
Enter PDA file path: C:\newpda.bin
--------------------------
Patched PDA
0001(08): 4130 3135 3238 3041
0002(08): 3034 3133 3034 3030
0003(0c): 3030 5554 3434 3434 3734 3237
0004(78): 0000 0000 F667 A340 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0005(0a): 0000 0600 0100 0200 0200
0006(0a): 0000 0100 0100 0300 0300
0007(0a): 0000 0200 0100 0500 0600
0008(08): 0300 0100 0400 0200
0011(1c): 113C EE3C 223D 3340 4440 553E 663F 7741 8840 9940 AA3D BB3D CC3B DD3C

0021(1c): 1154 EE6C 2253 3353 4453 5553 6654 7756 8858 995B AA5D BB60 CC62 DD65

0030(1c): 1154 2253 3353 4453 5553 6653 7753 8854 9954 AA54 BB54 CC55 DD55 EE56

0040(04): 0006 0006
0101(06): 0002 2D03 6A4D
0102(08): 0000 0000 0000 0000
0103(0c): 0200 3031 0000 0000 0000 0000
0104(02): FF1F
0105(02): 0300
0106(02): 0000
0107(02): 0100
0108(04): 3A4E 9824
0109(0a): 0200 0100 2B00 0000 0000
0111(1c): 3C13 3D13 4013 4013 3E13 3F13 4113 4013 4013 3D13 3D13 3B13 3C13 3C13

0121(1c): 5412 5312 5312 5312 5312 5412 5612 5812 5B12 5D12 6012 6212 6512 6C12

0130(1c): 5444 5344 5344 5344 5344 5344 5344 5444 5444 5444 5444 5544 5544 5644

0140(04): 0642 0643
0000(02): DF8A
--------------------------
Write new PDA to card? (y/n) y
Writing new PDA...
Error writing new PDA
press a key to exit

Thanks
sys6x
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 10:52 am

Postby hakz » Tue Apr 25, 2006 4:10 am

I downloaded and installed the modified drivers from the site gerbil gave. I then used alchemy to change the channel numbers to 1-13, and also changed the manufacturer code from 10 to 0. I was able to succesfully write the PDA onto the card. However, the client manager doesn't detect the card and when I try update the firmware, it doesn't detect it either. I have winxp. I can't confirm whether my card is a gold or silver.
hakz
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 1:04 pm

Postby MikeP928 » Tue Apr 25, 2006 4:30 am

hakz wrote:i downloaded and installed the modified drivers from the site gerbil gave. I then used alchemy to change the channel numbers to 1-13, and also added teh manufacturer code from 10 to 0. i was able to succesfully wrie the PDA onto the card. However, teh client manager doesn't detect the card and when I try update the firmware, it [B]doesn] detect it either. I have winxp. I can't confirm whether my card is a gold or silver.


Please take the time to proofread your posts. We are more prone to help with problems if we don't have to spend time interpreting the question.

Where are you located?

Does WZC see the card? If yes, does it allow you to enter a 128 bit key?

MikeP
Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote.
-- Benjamin Franklin, 1759
User avatar
MikeP928
 
Posts: 1122
Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 8:09 pm
Location: Florida Panhandle

PreviousNext

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

cron