confused about cisco 350

Questions about the operation or expectations of the NetStumbler software

confused about cisco 350

Postby darw_n » Wed Sep 24, 2003 10:01 pm

ihad thius same card, plus an older version of NS, on a different laptop, and I could swear it worked flawlessly...

now, with my new laptop, a sony viao, and winXP hom (I had winXP corp before), netstumbler will not detect manything..

any suggestions?

here's the setup:

sony viao pcg-grx770
cisco aironet 350 with 3 db gain omni
winXP home sp1

net stumbler just sits there, and I *know* that with an older version, the setup worked fine...

any ideas???
darw_n
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2003 9:07 pm

Postby ck3k » Thu Sep 25, 2003 12:09 am

The cisco stuff only works with NDIS drivers, I have had numerous problems with my cisco card, one of them broke durring the wardrive at defcon, my advice, use kismet.
User avatar
ck3k
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 12:08 am

Postby muddy mudskippe » Thu Sep 25, 2003 11:12 am

i have a 2 cisco 350's and they work fine.

here's what i do:

1) Uninstall the cisco card from the Device Manager in XP
2) Scan for Hardware Changes

at that point, i just start up Netstumbler and it works fine.

one of the other ways i USED to do it was to flash the 350 with the older firmware and THEN run netstumbler - but a card can only take so many writes (pain in the ass process, but it worked)

try one of those methods and see if it works.

i would leave your local AP on to see if NS picks it up (sure-fire way of making sure NS is "seeing" things)
muddy mudskippe
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2003 1:26 pm


Return to Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron