D-Link Air card (DWL-650)

Questions about the operation or expectations of the NetStumbler software

Postby rel1c » Mon Dec 23, 2002 2:10 pm

Oops I may have forgot to add one other thing. You have to make sure that the utility program does not load at all. If you have it in your Startup Folder, or other places it will take over function before NS can use it. Make sure to remove any references of the Utility starting up or remove it completely.

If I have the Utility installed & running it gives me the same error message your getting. See if that helps you at all.

rel1c
rel1c
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 8:15 pm

the final solution

Postby riptide » Mon Dec 23, 2002 5:39 pm

That was the problem and it works!!!! I was able to force the driver. But you need to make sure that you totaly uninstall the d link aplication and reboot. you can not just turn off the application.
then you reinstall useing the d link 520+ driver and it works!!!!! woohooo!!! thanks guys thanks for the help.

RipTide :D
riptide
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 10:40 pm
Location: Longview TX

WOOhOO!

Postby rel1c » Mon Dec 23, 2002 8:14 pm

This forum is useful after all eh!? :D Welcome to the stumbling side.
rel1c
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 8:15 pm

Postby bikr » Thu Jan 02, 2003 9:43 am

So still no DWL-650 (non +) usage in win2k correct? I'm running the latest version and get no card found.. --bikr
bikr
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2002 1:45 pm

Postby bikr » Thu Jan 02, 2003 9:44 am

I take that back , I'm getting No AP's active as of 12:44.. I rebooted and it came up to that.. Does this mean it's functioning properly though? I am at work and haven't gone out driving w/ it working --bikr
bikr
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2002 1:45 pm

DLink DWL-650 w/ ADMTek chipset (gray rectangular antenna)

Postby truckmotor » Thu Feb 06, 2003 8:07 pm

Netstumbler 0.3.30 works with the DLink DWL-650 with ADMTek chipset. This is the PCMCIA card with the grey rectangular antenna.

I'm running Win XP Pro SP1a

Netstumbler 0.3.30 reports it as
----------------------------------------
D-Link Air DWL-650 Wireless Carbus Adapter (Microsoft's Packet Scheduler)
Driver 1.66
Card Version: unknown
Primary Firmware: unknown
Station: unknown
Serial Number: unknown
uses NDIS 5.1

On the back of the card:
H/W: L1
F/W: 2.0

Did a drive around the neighborhood and Netstumbler picked up a few AP's.
truckmotor
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2003 2:07 am

Postby SQFreak » Sat Feb 08, 2003 2:17 pm

I've got a DWL-650 (no +) which NetStumbler detects on WinXP Home. The back of the card says it's:
H/W: A1 F/W:2.0

(Note: According to D-Link's Website, H/W versions A1 and L1 are identical, but the earliest A1/L1 cards were released as A1, then it was soon changed to L1.)

I did the default setup with D-Link's CD. It installed driver version 1.64 and not the utility. (The Quick Start Guide says to use the Windows Zero Configuration Utility to configure the card. Huh?)

I can run NetStumbler and the status bar says "No APs Active", which is of no surprise, considering I don't have an AP. I bought the card for school and I have a wired network at home.

Here's an interesting point: Disabling the card in Network Connections (not Device Manager) will cause NetStumbler to say "No wireless card found". Re-enable it - right back to "No APs active".

NetStumbler's About... is the same as truckmotor's but I have driver version 1.64.

Windows will allow me to change a number of the card's settings through Device Manager. Should I bother to adjust any of these?: Antenna, Channel, Data Rate, Network Type, Preamble Mode, RTS Threshold, Select SharedKey Index, ShareKey1, ShareKey2, ShareKey3, ShareKey4, SSID, WEP

I find it interesting that D-Link neglects to sign their drivers as WHQL Certified.

When I get a chance to sneak the laptop (Compaq Presario 730US - it's very heavy) out, I'll take a drive around the neighborhood (and possibly a few others in my area) and see if any APs are detected.

I think it might help in WinXP if you double-click on the Wireless Network Connection icon in the System Tray, click Advanced... and remove all Preferred Networks. That way, Windows won't lock to any network when you're trying to stumble.
SQFreak
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: North Carolina

UPDATE: It Works

Postby SQFreak » Sun Feb 09, 2003 2:15 pm

Well, I did a little bit of driving and can conclude that the DWL-650 (Hardware A1 or L1) works on Windows XP with NetStumbler. And that people are stupid.

Suggestion: Add Microsoft to the vendor listing. Their MAC Address prefix is 00:50:F2.
SQFreak
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: UPDATE: It Works

Postby topgun » Sat Mar 01, 2003 8:14 am

I have the 650 A1 card with 1.64 driver installed on Win XP Pro with latest SP installed. In the status bar in NS it says "The system cannot find the path specified." Under help/about net stumbler in the card information box there are no details listed about the card.

I do have this working on my other laptop with the 650+ card and it shows all the correct information for this card.

What are you doing to get this to work for the 650 card? What do you mean by adding "Microsoft to the vendor listing"???

Thanks for the help!



Originally posted by SQFreak
Well, I did a little bit of driving and can conclude that the DWL-650 (Hardware A1 or L1) works on Windows XP with NetStumbler. And that people are stupid.

Suggestion: Add Microsoft to the vendor listing. Their MAC Address prefix is 00:50:F2.
topgun
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 9:57 pm
Location: Northport, AL

Postby SQFreak » Sat Mar 01, 2003 8:47 am

Mine worked right off using the drivers on DLink's included CD.

I suggest uninstalling and reinstalling DLink's drivers and NetStumbler because there's definitely some major problems in the install. Even if it can't find the card, it should still say No wireless card detected.

The suggestion about Microsoft was to the author of NetStumbler. There is a Vendor column that references the first 6 characters of the MAC address, and Microsoft never appears in the Vendor column.
SQFreak
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: North Carolina

Postby topgun » Sat Mar 01, 2003 2:55 pm

I figured it out. There are some posts on the subject elsewhere describing a bad path reference in the registry. Once I corrected the path reference it worked perfectly. It seemed like it might have to do with the Dell systems, but I am not 100% sure.

Thanks for the reply.

Topgun
topgun
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 9:57 pm
Location: Northport, AL

Postby SQFreak » Sat Mar 01, 2003 9:40 pm

That's possible. My laptop is a Compaq Presario 730US. However, I put my card and NetStumbler on a friend's Windows 2000 Dell laptop and it worked just fine.
SQFreak
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: North Carolina

Postby Salilus » Sun Mar 02, 2003 9:01 am

yall are using a DWL-650???????


that was a descktop card the time i checked.....
Salilus
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 10:21 am

Postby SQFreak » Sun Mar 02, 2003 4:07 pm

The products ending in 20 are desktop cards. The products ending in 50 are laptop (32-bit PCMCIA/CardBus) cards.
SQFreak
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: North Carolina

Postby Wickedinterface » Sun Mar 02, 2003 4:40 pm

actually the 5 in all dlink cards are PCI and the 6 in all dlink cards are pcmcia.
Working for ?-link has ruined my life. Have you RTFM lately....
Wickedinterface
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2003 10:27 am
Location: Yorba Linda, CA

PreviousNext

Return to Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest