network stumbler?

Questions about the operation or expectations of the NetStumbler software

network stumbler?

Postby tim_ver » Sun Sep 07, 2003 7:07 pm

I have tried the program to test out our system. It finds it and shows the info on the screen. It starts out green and on the bottom of the scrren it flips every so often of no ap's 1 ap active. What is this can some one get one to it still and use it? When I do a scan how do I know it is 100% safe or able to see areas of where someone can still access our wirless wifi?


Thanks


Also is 2.4gig better than the first rev of wifi?


Tim
tim_ver
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2003 7:00 pm

Postby TheSovereign » Sun Sep 07, 2003 7:58 pm

the program is pretty self explanatory i dont see how u could have trouble using it

at the bottom of the screen where it says "1 ap active"
well that means 1 ap is active

and if that green dot has a lock inside it yes its secure
if not no it isnt
SO SAYS TheSovereign
User avatar
TheSovereign
 
Posts: 658
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2002 2:35 am
Location: chicago

access

Postby tim_ver » Sun Sep 07, 2003 8:20 pm

ok but if I double click on it and it has no lock on it I should be able to get online with it? Also if it is grey and has know lock on it can I log on or is this inactive?

Thanks
tim_ver
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2003 7:00 pm

help

Postby tim_ver » Sun Sep 07, 2003 8:26 pm

Where would the lock be at? How do I get it more secure if no lock there? What do all the fields mean, noise signal,etc?

Thanks much
tim_ver
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2003 7:00 pm

Postby Barry » Sun Sep 07, 2003 8:31 pm

No the program IS NOT for getting online with networks that you don't belong to.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

..s

Postby tim_ver » Sun Sep 07, 2003 8:43 pm

I DO BLONG TO THE NETWORK. i AM TRYING to lock it down and test to eliminate the drive buyers.
tim_ver
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2003 7:00 pm

Postby Barry » Sun Sep 07, 2003 8:46 pm

Well then, who makes your access point?? Read their manual. Some where there should be something on wep encription. That's what the little lock means. The signal is just that, how good a signal you have. Walk around the access point and watch the numbers.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

ok

Postby tim_ver » Sun Sep 07, 2003 8:57 pm

Ok cool thanks. It is a linksys 2.4 gig I may add the booster to amp the signal further but not until i lock it down. I have also been looking at doing a wirless bridge.
tim_ver
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2003 7:00 pm

Postby Barry » Sun Sep 07, 2003 9:07 pm

There should also be a way to only allow access to specific mac addy's. I don't use linksys so I wouldn't really know for sure.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby maui » Mon Sep 08, 2003 12:42 am

Which model do you have. The WAP11 will allow you to set WEP (Cough hack..laugh), enable a MAC base ACL, and specify an IP address.
I have set wide open. So I don't care if anyone logs on. Depending on you condition and model:
1. Enable WEP...something is better than nothing at all.
2. Limit DHCP or use Static IPs.
3. Enable MAC ACL.
4. disable SSID broadcasts. (forgot if it had the option).

Now there is other security option you can imploy but I ONLY covered a bit on a RAW linksys AP.


I use NS as a quick and dirty survey tool. It show me if there is a Wifi AP present in the area, a pretty Signal display(WOW COLORS), and if WEP is enable. Anymore than that Kistmet, and NAI Sniffer come into play.

Do a search on this "button at the top" there has been alot of discussion on sercuring Wifi on this board so you have to pick out the information you need.


Maui
Minister of the Church of WiFi
Far Eastern Chapter
NEMA
maui
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 5:45 am
Location: South Korea


Return to Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron