How to set up an Access Point?(WRT54G)

HotSpot here, HotSpot there. All you need to know about HotSpots

How to set up an Access Point?(WRT54G)

Postby shamrock365 » Sat Jan 06, 2007 12:57 pm

Hello,

I was thinking about buying a Linksys WRT54G and placing a Linux Firmware on it. However I was considering build an AP with it. Could anyone recommend a Linux Firmware that would be an "All in One" solution? I have found other "How too's" but they all use Radius. The AP would be outdoors and so an external/off site Radius server isnt viable.Any Suggestions?

Many Thanks
shamrock365
Mini Stumbler

Postby G8tK33per » Sat Jan 06, 2007 1:01 pm

OpenWrt?
"Make yourselves sheep and the wolves will eat you." ~ Benjamin Franklin

Sons of Confederate Veterans
G8tK33per

Postby shamrock365 » Sat Jan 06, 2007 1:09 pm

I was considering it alright.Seems a pretty complex Linux distrobution.Would I be wrong in saying that? I have little experience in Linux Networking, more so in the Windows area.

Thanks for the suggestion however
shamrock365
Mini Stumbler

Postby Dutch » Sat Jan 06, 2007 1:19 pm

shamrock365 wrote:Hello,

I was thinking about buying a Linksys WRT54G and placing a Linux Firmware on it. However I was considering build an AP with it. Could anyone recommend a Linux Firmware that would be an "All in One" solution? I have found other "How too's" but they all use Radius. The AP would be outdoors and so an external/off site Radius server isnt viable.Any Suggestions?

Many Thanks

Huh ? You need to give more info, in order for your question making sense...
You want to "build an AP" with a WRT54G ? A WRT54G is an AP with a built in 4+1 port switch, and NAT+ firewall software, aka a WiFi Router.

A SWAG would be that you want to setup a WiFi hotspot. If you need any form of user access authentication, your best bet would be to run an external Radius server. Running such a thing on the WRT54G is futile. Read up on what Radius is, and what it needs and you'll see why.