Using Kismetdrones with KisMac (split from : Janus Project style Stumble rig)

Postby gm2net » Sat Mar 24, 2007 3:21 am

Barry wrote:On a side note, when are you guys going to get some good destructions on using kismet drones with kismac??


The instructions on the trac? Yep, that was my work (or lack of). I'll knock up something with screenshots soon. I'm just quite busy at the moment...

Grab the latest beta off http://trac.kismac.de/, and install it.

Essentially, you add the driver for Kismet Server, and set the IP and port in the Advanced Preferences pane. At the moment, it grabs network names, BSSIDs, and some info about the network, but not much.

I'm working on using kismet drones at a raw packet level at the moment - it basically works now, but the code's not really good enough to release.(more info is on the top post of my blog - http://x9.ath.cx/blog/).

kismet_client runs on OS X unmodified though, so if you want something right now...

Then once it's done, I have to await a test and commit, although I could slip you a pre-release version :)

Nice work on the rig BTW. I'm considering a setup with a R100 (rebranded ASUS WL-500g) in a box. These are cool units - like a Linksys (and they run OpenWRT), but with USB onboard, and a mini-PCI wireless card. Replace the broadcom junk with a CM9 card, and plug in a USB GPS...

Add a USB hub and flash drive, and possibly a Palm using SSH over PPP over USB to communicate with the device, and there's the potential for some serious fun :)


Edit:
http://x9.ath.cx/kdrone/

Here you go. Enjoy!

And yeah, I think you were right - I would call the old instructions "destructions"...
gm2net
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 12:49 am

Postby Barry » Sat Mar 24, 2007 11:30 am

gm2net wrote:The instructions on the trac? Yep, that was my work (or lack of). I'll knock up something with screenshots soon. I'm just quite busy at the moment...

Grab the latest beta off http://trac.kismac.de/, and install it.

Essentially, you add the driver for Kismet Server, and set the IP and port in the Advanced Preferences pane. At the moment, it grabs network names, BSSIDs, and some info about the network, but not much.

I'm working on using kismet drones at a raw packet level at the moment - it basically works now, but the code's not really good enough to release.(more info is on the top post of my blog - http://x9.ath.cx/blog/).

kismet_client runs on OS X unmodified though, so if you want something right now...

Then once it's done, I have to await a test and commit, although I could slip you a pre-release version :)

Nice work on the rig BTW. I'm considering a setup with a R100 (rebranded ASUS WL-500g) in a box. These are cool units - like a Linksys (and they run OpenWRT), but with USB onboard, and a mini-PCI wireless card. Replace the broadcom junk with a CM9 card, and plug in a USB GPS...

Add a USB hub and flash drive, and possibly a Palm using SSH over PPP over USB to communicate with the device, and there's the potential for some serious fun :)


Edit:
http://x9.ath.cx/kdrone/

Here you go. Enjoy!

And yeah, I think you were right - I would call the old instructions "destructions"...



Yea, I tried getting it to see my wrt drone, but it never saw anything. Figured I was doing something wrong. I recompile kismac every few weeks, so I'm pretty sure I have the latest code. I'll get the new pictures up in a couple hours, waiting for paint to dry. I still have to drill a few more holes so I can screw down the cover plate.
Never do anything you don't want to explain to the paramedics.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby gm2net » Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:05 pm

Barry wrote:Yea, I tried getting it to see my wrt drone, but it never saw anything. Figured I was doing something wrong.


It should be in the latest build, as far as I know... it was committed in r219.

When you say "didn't see anything" was it as in "didn't find the driver" or "didn't see the driver to add" or "started scanning, but it didn't see anything"?

At the moment, you need to have kismet_server between kismac and the kismet drone. If you connect straight to the drone, it will just flood with garbage...

Can you give me a few screenshots?
gm2net
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 12:49 am

Postby Dutch » Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:17 pm

Split from original thread, so we have another possibility to thread-jack ;)

Dutch
All your answers are belong to Google. SEARCH DAMMIT!
Warning. Warning.
Low C8H10N4O2 level detected. Operator halted....
User avatar
Dutch
 
Posts: 6698
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: City of Mermaids, Denmark

Postby Barry » Sat Mar 24, 2007 6:14 pm

gm2net wrote:It should be in the latest build, as far as I know... it was committed in r219.

When you say "didn't see anything" was it as in "didn't find the driver" or "didn't see the driver to add" or "started scanning, but it didn't see anything"?

At the moment, you need to have kismet_server between kismac and the kismet drone. If you connect straight to the drone, it will just flood with garbage...

Can you give me a few screenshots?



Didn't know about the having kismet_server in between. Kinda pointless to have both running.
Never do anything you don't want to explain to the paramedics.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby gm2net » Sat Mar 24, 2007 10:05 pm

I agree it is kinda pointless, but it was much simpler in terms of code that way.

I'm working on it at a raw packet level at the moment (see the top entry on my blog). I had to go through the Kismet sources, and work out how exactly the drone protocol worked (no easy task) and then adapt the code to work in KisMac. I had to make a few adjustments to the code, and redo parts of it, as well as rewriting the structs and other bits and pieces to go into C headers. After that, I have to mess with the packet headers and convert it to a WLFrame to pass into Kismac - all in all not a straight forward task. Took a fair few hours of work, arms deep in code. And I probably used Command-` (cycle through windows) WAY too many times... (1024x768 screen).

It's at a stage where it basically works, but messes up with some things (WDS packets), and doesn't exactly check the length of some of the memcpy lines, which is not somethign that released code should do...

Look at your console log, there's probably 10 million "Failed to decode line" entries in there from feeding the drone straight in:P
gm2net
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 12:49 am


Return to Mac OS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron