Cards that reportedly do NOT work/ have problems w/NetStumbler 0.4

Questions and configuration information about the NetStumbler software

Postby Dutch » Sun Jun 06, 2004 1:08 pm

skogs wrote:...
OK, now the real question is this: All machines nice freshly loaded, no problems - the laptop with the 5610 can network with either of the other two, but the 5614s cannot communicate with eachother. I know, no access point, so ad-hoc one at a time. The 5610 is out of commission now anyway since my bathtup overflowed onto the laptop turning it into a $1600 paperweight. So now all I need is the to pci cards to talk to eachother and play nice. All machines are win2k. The laptop used to be winxp...probably makes a difference somehow, but I don't know how. any thoughts? Yes, standard workgroups, IP ranges/DHCP, and login/passwords are all set correctly. ????? ideas ?????


PCI cards working with each other in ad hoc mode relates to "Cards that reportedly do NOT work/ have problems w/NetStumbler 0.4 " in what way ???

Either post in the hardware forum, or better yet, contact your hardware suppliers support dept. Thats what they are there for you know :mad:

Just my 0.02€'s worth...

Dutch
User avatar
Dutch
 
Posts: 6698
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: City of Mermaids, Denmark

BCM4306MB Rev 4.4

Postby todkapuz » Thu Jun 10, 2004 8:10 pm

This the the Broadcom 54g internal based card inside of the eMachines M2350. The compatibility is vague. If your NOT using WPA on your local network, it is not too bad. But if you ARE using WPA .. for some reason I still have not figured out, but after a minute or two of NS running, it pops up with a AP that has the same SSID, but mac address of 00000000000 (Etc) and has a constant overpowering signal. I can't tell if the card is sending and receiving it, or if it is just some sort of interal loop back. I dont have another card to check it with. But either way, it disconnects the local network.

Also the noise singal figure is always -100. I'm not sure if the signal value is correct, but it does seem to vary correctly when compared to the broadcom utility.

But this all being said, internal wireless cards are not really the cup-of-tea for this type of prorgam (why I am looking to get a PCMCIA card with an external antenna adapter). But for generally seeing what is out there, it is great.
todkapuz
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 3:28 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Postby richard612 » Thu Jun 10, 2004 9:49 pm

I can confirm that the Cisco Aironet 350 with the newest XP drivers does have problems. I shows old AP's that are no longer available, the signal strength flatlines even though I'm moving around, and it'll sometimes display multiple MAC's for the same AP.
richard612
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 14, 2004 2:04 pm

Postby maDa » Sat Jun 19, 2004 7:34 am

Compex WL11B+ PC-card (Agere/Hermes Chipset) Doesn't work, Unsupported :(
maDa
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 7:31 am

Postby wrzwaldo » Sat Jun 19, 2004 7:40 am

maDa wrote:Compex WL11B+ PC-card (Agere/Hermes Chipset) Doesn't work, Unsupported :(



Are you sure it is Hermes based?
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Postby maDa » Sat Jun 19, 2004 11:55 am

wrzwaldo wrote:Are you sure it is Hermes based?


not 100%... but in in Linux its identified as an "Agere Systems Hermes-II based PCMCIA Wireless Adaptor". I think the "hermes" module is also gets loaded.

Then in the drivers package there says something about "Hermes/Hermes2 based adaptors"
maDa
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 7:31 am

Postby wrzwaldo » Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:08 pm

maDa wrote:not 100%... but in in Linux its identified as an "Agere Systems Hermes-II based PCMCIA Wireless Adaptor". I think the "hermes" module is also gets loaded.

Then in the drivers package there says something about "Hermes/Hermes2 based adaptors"



You are using NS? It was written for the Hermes chipset. Which windows version and drivers you using?
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Postby maDa » Sat Jun 19, 2004 2:12 pm

wrzwaldo wrote:You are using NS? It was written for the Hermes chipset. Which windows version and drivers you using?


Yes.. NetStumbler 0.4 on Win2000 SP4

The Agere orginal drivers
http://www.agere.com/support/drivers/
maDa
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 7:31 am

Support for Uniden PCW-200

Postby petteyg359 » Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:31 pm

NetStumbler 0.4 does not even detect the fact that my Uniden PCW-200 (Intersil PRISM 2.5 chipset) is a wireless nic. Is support for the card/chipset specifically planned in the future, or will I just have to wait until it randomly makes its way into the program?
petteyg359
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 6:28 pm

Postby wrzwaldo » Sat Jun 19, 2004 5:55 pm

petteyg359 wrote:NetStumbler 0.4 does not even detect the fact that my Uniden PCW-200 (Intersil PRISM 2.5 chipset) is a wireless nic. Is support for the card/chipset specifically planned in the future, or will I just have to wait until it randomly makes its way into the program?



You using NDIS with that prism?

P. S. As far as support goes you will have to ask the author.
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Postby petteyg359 » Sun Jun 20, 2004 9:16 am

I am (or was until recently) accessing internet through a wireless router using the Uniden PCW-200. Was using WinME ICS to share over a RealTek 8139. Not sure whether Windows stuck NDIS to the wireless, but IPCFG gives me NDIS 5.0 driver for the RealTek.
petteyg359
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 6:28 pm

Postby Anona » Thu Jun 24, 2004 10:48 am

I've got a 3Com OfficeConnect 3CRSHPW196, which (according to the chipset-list on the hardware forum) uses Atmel for a chipset, and Atmel is among the new supported chipsets in 0.4. When I start NetStumbler with my card inserted, it says No wireless device found, if I then remove and reinsert the card NS says A device attached to the system is not functioning.
Anona
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 8:04 am

Postby wrzwaldo » Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:06 am

Anona wrote:I've got a 3Com OfficeConnect 3CRSHPW196, which (according to the chipset-list on the hardware forum) uses Atmel for a chipset, and Atmel is among the new supported chipsets in 0.4. When I start NetStumbler with my card inserted, it says No wireless device found, if I then remove and reinsert the card NS says A device attached to the system is not functioning.


Must just be you I see through a SEARCH that it does work...

3Com OfficeConnect 3CRSHPW196 (driver version 1.0.2 3000)
Gateway Solo 9300
XP SP1

NDIS 5.1

Didn't work with 98 on same setup, all appeas to work fine in XP, will test with an AP at work tommorow. Looking forward to my new battery so I can have a sniff about my 'hood.

Great program!

[added] yup works great, even found a weak signal at home (have to move the laptop about though)[/added]
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Postby Thorn » Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:23 am

Anona wrote:I've got a 3Com OfficeConnect 3CRSHPW196, which (according to the chipset-list on the hardware forum) uses Atmel for a chipset, and Atmel is among the new supported chipsets in 0.4. When I start NetStumbler with my card inserted, it says No wireless device found, if I then remove and reinsert the card NS says A device attached to the system is not functioning.

Usually when a card isn't working, yet others have gotten it to work, it's a driver or firmware issue. Occationally, it is a driver or program conflict.

First make sure nothing else is competing for the wireless card. Then update the card with the latest firmware from the manufacturer, and finally check the drivers.
Thorn
Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.
Thorn
 
Posts: 10340
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Villa Straylight

Postby Anona » Sun Jun 27, 2004 8:51 am

Thorn wrote:Usually when a card isn't working, yet others have gotten it to work, it's a driver or firmware issue. Occationally, it is a driver or program conflict.

First make sure nothing else is competing for the wireless card. Then update the card with the latest firmware from the manufacturer, and finally check the drivers.

Ok, I got NS working (silly problem), but this gave me another problem. Now I can use NS with no problem at all (using NDIS 5.1 in the device-list instead of Atmel), but the configuration utility provided by 3Com claims NDIS is not installed and I cannot configure my card :/
Still looking into firmware upgrades, I'll edit this post when I know more...

Edit: Found no trace of firmware at 3Com. Reinstalled the wireless NIC and things seem to go along smoothly now. I can use both NS and the WLAN config. Though I think I've found what looks like it could be a bug or a compatibility issue: Unless I reinsert my NIC after starting NS, the device menu reports No suitable devices found, altough scanning works flawlessly by just pressing the "play" button.
In any event, you're doing great marius, I'm really happy to get NS running on my comp at all :)
Anona
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 8:04 am

PreviousNext

Return to NetStumbler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests