Cards that reportedly do NOT work/ have problems w/NetStumbler 0.4

Questions and configuration information about the NetStumbler software

Cards that reportedly do NOT work/ have problems w/NetStumbler 0.4

Postby marius » Wed Apr 21, 2004 8:55 am

Be warned that NS 0.4's Atheros support is poor. Yes, it works, but the driver has the annoying habit of reporting everything it's seen in the last 2 minutes, rather than what it can see right now. NS 0.4 works around this but it may cause APs to appear and disappear.

Use an Atheros card in NDIS 5.1 mode to see it without the workaround. It's scary.
User avatar
marius
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2002 10:36 pm
Location: Northern California

Postby G8tK33per » Wed Apr 21, 2004 8:58 am

marius wrote:Be warned that NS 0.4's Atheros support is poor. Yes, it works, but the driver has the annoying habit of reporting everything it's seen in the last 2 minutes, rather than what it can see right now. NS 0.4 works around this but it may cause APs to appear and disappear.

Use an Atheros card in NDIS 5.1 mode to see it without the workaround. It's scary.

sounds like our first NS v0.4 FAQ entry!
"Make yourselves sheep and the wolves will eat you." ~ Benjamin Franklin

Sons of Confederate Veterans
User avatar
G8tK33per
 
Posts: 6078
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Goomba's Booty Boardwalk

Mine doesnet work

Postby DaMaGeINC » Wed Apr 21, 2004 4:58 pm

My Dell True Mobile 1300 M-pcia card still doesent work. Anyone else. I was soo happy when I got the update, then it doesent work. What a major letdown.
DaMaGeINC
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 4:52 pm

Postby Chris » Wed Apr 21, 2004 5:02 pm

DaMaGeINC wrote:My Dell True Mobile 1300 M-pcia card still doesent work. Anyone else. I was soo happy when I got the update, then it doesent work. What a major letdown.


I tested with my TM1300 and it worked like a champ.

Not sure why you are having issues. The broadcom chipset is now supported. Perhaps you could give some more details.
perl -e 'print pack(c5, (41*2), sqrt(7056), (unpack(c,H)-2), oct(115), 10)'
User avatar
Chris
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 4:00 am

Postby sparafina » Thu Apr 22, 2004 4:33 am

marius wrote:Be warned that NS 0.4's Atheros support is poor. Yes, it works, but the driver has the annoying habit of reporting everything it's seen in the last 2 minutes, rather than what it can see right now. NS 0.4 works around this but it may cause APs to appear and disappear.

Use an Atheros card in NDIS 5.1 mode to see it without the workaround. It's scary.


Good to know this, my Atheros A/B card was doing this.

I'm also not seeing any noise, is this part of the work around?
User avatar
sparafina
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: Tue May 07, 2002 2:12 pm
Location: TX,MD,NY

Postby marius » Thu Apr 22, 2004 7:45 am

Atheros cards do not report noise. I talked to their engineering folks and they could not understand why anyone might want such a thing :(
User avatar
marius
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2002 10:36 pm
Location: Northern California

Postby Thorn » Thu Apr 22, 2004 7:59 am

marius wrote:Atheros cards do not report noise. I talked to their engineering folks and they could not understand why anyone might want such a thing :(

Engineers couldn't understand this? I could see Marketing people saying something like that, but engineers! :eek:
Thorn
Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.
Thorn
 
Posts: 10340
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Villa Straylight

Postby dda » Thu Apr 22, 2004 8:22 am

Chris wrote:The broadcom chipset is now supported. Perhaps you could give some more details.


This support is through NDIS 5.1, right? My Linksys WPC54G is Broadcom based and only the NDIS entry appears in the menu for cards.
dda
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2004 9:58 am
Location: Massachusetts

NS 0.4 Problem

Postby Tripleplay905 » Thu Apr 22, 2004 10:58 am

I got a problem with my WCI-CB-G54A card. When i go warbiking it finds the APs ok. But when i get back to my house, the green light next to some of the MAC numbers are on. But im not in range of those APs and my own network light is not on??

Can anybody help..

Thx
Tripleplay905
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 3:31 pm

Postby Chris » Thu Apr 22, 2004 11:00 am

dda wrote:This support is through NDIS 5.1, right? My Linksys WPC54G is Broadcom based and only the NDIS entry appears in the menu for cards.


I can't speak for the WPC54G of course, but TM1300 support is indeed through NDIS 5.1. I would ASSUME that WPC54G (and any other Broadcom cards) is as well.
perl -e 'print pack(c5, (41*2), sqrt(7056), (unpack(c,H)-2), oct(115), 10)'
User avatar
Chris
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 4:00 am

Postby Chris » Thu Apr 22, 2004 11:01 am

Tripleplay905 wrote:I got a problem with my WCI-CB-G54A card. When i go warbiking it finds the APs ok. But when i get back to my house, the green light next to some of the MAC numbers are on. But im not in range of those APs and my own network light is not on??

Can anybody help..

Thx



Search for "two minutes" I think this is the problem you are referring to.
perl -e 'print pack(c5, (41*2), sqrt(7056), (unpack(c,H)-2), oct(115), 10)'
User avatar
Chris
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 4:00 am

Postby Tripleplay905 » Thu Apr 22, 2004 11:20 am

ok. but how do i fix it?
Tripleplay905
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 3:31 pm

Postby Chris » Thu Apr 22, 2004 11:24 am

Tripleplay905 wrote:ok. but how do i fix it?



Marius answered that too somewhere, but I had trouble finding it in my search so I'll just paraphrase:

1. live with it
2. buy a different card
3. don't use netstumbler
4. something else i don't remember

Search around and you shoudl find his exact quotes...but in a nutsell that is it.
perl -e 'print pack(c5, (41*2), sqrt(7056), (unpack(c,H)-2), oct(115), 10)'
User avatar
Chris
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 4:00 am

Postby Tripleplay905 » Thu Apr 22, 2004 11:33 am

i cant find the post
Tripleplay905
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 3:31 pm

Postby Chris » Thu Apr 22, 2004 11:34 am

Tripleplay905 wrote:i cant find the post



The thread may have turned into a flame war and been moved. Let me see if I can find it and repost Marius' response verbatim. Give me a couple of minutes.
perl -e 'print pack(c5, (41*2), sqrt(7056), (unpack(c,H)-2), oct(115), 10)'
User avatar
Chris
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 4:00 am

Next

Return to NetStumbler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron