Cards that reportedly WORK with NetStumbler 0.4

Questions and configuration information about the NetStumbler software

Postby Scruge » Wed Nov 08, 2006 5:32 am

You mean it actually properly reports SNR?


Not even remotely close with Noise readings, but on the other hand it doesn't hang either.:D

@ jockstumbler

Your link isn't working.
User avatar
Scruge
 
Posts: 1399
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 3:29 pm

Postby Jockstumbler » Wed Nov 08, 2006 5:46 am

Scruge wrote:Your link isn't working.

FIXED! Thanks Scruge.
Link to the zd1211 usb community -> http://zd1211.ath.cx/wiki/monitormode ... I think this could be a big step in the right direction for USB wifi dongles. Will certainly bring down the cost of a Wardriving/Sniffing rig, and the possibilities of remote/standalone rigs due to the low power consumption are great!
Och aye the noo...
User avatar
Jockstumbler
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 11:21 am
Location: Jockland

Postby Jockstumbler » Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:51 am

streaker69 wrote:You mean it actually properly reports SNR?

Image
Im a No0b, so I cant tell how accurate this is, but the Zydas configuration app and NetStumbler are looking at the same AP. Is there a way to calculate SNR with signal strength and Link quality? Excuse my ignorance.
Och aye the noo...
User avatar
Jockstumbler
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 11:21 am
Location: Jockland

Postby wrzwaldo » Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:09 am

Jockstumbler wrote:Im a No0b, so I cant tell how accurate this is, but the Zydas configuration app and NetStumbler are looking at the same AP. Is there a way to calculate SNR with signal strength and Link quality? Excuse my ignorance.


I see no usable noise data.
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Postby Thorn » Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:40 am

Jockstumbler wrote:Im a No0b, so I cant tell how accurate this is, but the Zydas configuration app and NetStumbler are looking at the same AP. Is there a way to calculate SNR with signal strength and Link quality? Excuse my ignorance.

"Link Quality" can be a couple of things. Somethings it is a packet loss measurement, and sometimes its an RF "percent" without any reference. If it is the former, it may be imparting some info, although it may be hard to quantify. If it is the latter, it's no better than "idiot light" status.

Signal Strength and Noise are calculated on real values (dBm), which is referenced to microvolts.

Short answer: No. It cannot be calculated based on "Link Quality."

wrzwaldo wrote:I see no noise data.

If you look real close, Noise is consistently at 100dBm, the same as other NDIS cards. In other words, it's useless for SNR.
Thorn
Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.
Thorn
 
Posts: 10340
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Villa Straylight

Postby wrzwaldo » Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:47 am

Thorn wrote:If you look real close, Noise is consistently at 100dBm, the same as other NDIS cards. In other words, it's useless for SNR.


I fixed my post. :p
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Postby Foxfur » Mon Nov 13, 2006 12:24 pm

My D-Link DWL-G122 USB wireless adapter works sweet with it! Much better than any of my lo-buck PCMCIA cards.
I do experience 'Prog Not Responding' errors after scanning for 2+ hrs.
I did get one BSOD, caught a quick glimpse and saw NDIS before it rebooted. I'm using the NDIS 5.1 driver.

OS = WinXP SP2

Thanks for the great software!
Ff
Foxfur
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 11:41 am
Location: NW USA

Postby Barry » Mon Nov 13, 2006 2:13 pm

Foxfur wrote:My D-Link DWL-G122 USB wireless adapter works sweet with it! Much better than any of my lo-buck PCMCIA cards.
[color="Red"]I do experience 'Prog Not Responding' errors after scanning for 2+ hrs.[/color]
[color="Blue"]I did get one BSOD[/color], caught a quick glimpse and saw NDIS before it rebooted. I'm using the NDIS 5.1 driver.

OS = WinXP SP2

Thanks for the great software!
Ff



Yep, works great! [color="White"]For a windows program...[/color]
Never do anything you don't want to explain to the paramedics.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby Foxfur » Tue Nov 21, 2006 12:33 pm

For a windows program...

Precisely... :)
Foxfur
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 11:41 am
Location: NW USA

Postby Scruge » Tue Nov 21, 2006 1:42 pm

Foxfur wrote:My D-Link DWL-G122 USB wireless adapter works sweet with it! Much better than any of my lo-buck PCMCIA cards.
I do experience 'Prog Not Responding' errors after scanning for 2+ hrs.
I did get one BSOD, caught a quick glimpse and saw NDIS before it rebooted. I'm using the NDIS 5.1 driver.

OS = WinXP SP2

Thanks for the great software!
Ff


I'd suggest you look for something else that's causing your BSOD. I've been using the zydas drivers for nearly 2 years, for days at a time and have never had any problems in xp or 2k.
User avatar
Scruge
 
Posts: 1399
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 3:29 pm

Postby azearl » Tue Apr 10, 2007 8:12 am

Well if this dont beat all.....
Running Vista Ultimate on via Bootcamp 1.2 MacBook Pro, AND got Netstumbler working with reported AR5006EXS mac internal wireless card ! To do this I had to download an XP driver and not use the Vista driver. The Vista driver date was 3/26/07 and the XP driver reported a 6/29/06 date version 5.0.0.107 from Atheros. This is GREAT. Now I have the best of both worlds, Mac OSX and Vista on one machine !
Earl
azearl
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 13, 2002 9:42 am
Location: mountainair nm

Postby Barry » Tue Apr 10, 2007 8:25 am

azearl wrote:Well if this dont beat all.....
Running Vista Ultimate on via Bootcamp 1.2 MacBook Pro, AND got Netstumbler working with reported AR5006EXS mac internal wireless card ! To do this I had to download an XP driver and not use the Vista driver. The Vista driver date was 3/26/07 and the XP driver reported a 6/29/06 date version 5.0.0.107 from Atheros. This is GREAT. Now I have the best of both worlds, Mac OSX and Vista on one machine !
Earl



Why not just use Kismac and not waste the drive space with Vista. I took vista off my machine last week, too doggy. I also wouldn't call Vista the "best" of Microsoft's world.
Never do anything you don't want to explain to the paramedics.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby streaker69 » Tue Apr 10, 2007 8:26 am

Barry wrote:Why not just use Kismac and not waste the drive space with Vista. I took vista off my machine last week, too doggy. I also wouldn't call Vista the "best" of Microsoft's world.


It does rank right up there with Microsoft Bob and WinME.
Treat your gun like your genitals, only whip it out when it's absolutely necessary.
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Postby wrzwaldo » Tue Apr 10, 2007 8:28 am

azearl wrote:Well if this dont beat all.....
Running Vista Ultimate on via Bootcamp 1.2 MacBook Pro, AND got Netstumbler working with reported AR5006EXS mac internal wireless card ! To do this I had to download an XP driver and not use the Vista driver. The Vista driver date was 3/26/07 and the XP driver reported a 6/29/06 date version 5.0.0.107 from Atheros. This is GREAT. Now I have the best of both worlds, Mac OSX and Vista on one machine !
Earl


Please put that paper bag and glue down!
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Postby beakmyn » Tue Apr 10, 2007 1:46 pm

Barry wrote:Why not just use Kismac and not waste the drive space with Vista. I took vista off my machine last week, too doggy. I also wouldn't call Vista the "best" of Microsoft's world.


Win2000 or xp running xoblite for me
beakmyn
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:53 pm

PreviousNext

Return to NetStumbler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron