GPS Visualizer now supports NS files

Questions and configuration information about the NetStumbler software

eniro.com

Postby adamschneider » Tue May 18, 2004 9:19 pm

I just tried it, but the maps from eniro.com won't work. Even if I could figure out the coordinate system, the server does not let you request maps of an arbitrary size.

But I don't know why you're disappointed in the maps that are already available. Here's what I got for Katrineholm's coordinates:
Image

(If your map covers a wider area, you won't get as much detail. But on smaller scales, you're not going to find anything better than that!)
adamschneider
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 9:38 am

Postby Bondesson » Wed May 19, 2004 9:17 am

I am sorry, but I can’t display this map.

This is what I enter on your page:

name,desc,latitude,longitude
KH,Katrineholm,65.41797,15.23182

And the “Europe & US: political map”

All I can see is a lake.

How should I enter the information so it will be correct?
Bondesson
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun May 16, 2004 5:26 am

Postby adamschneider » Wed May 19, 2004 10:42 am

Bondesson wrote:This is what I enter on your page:
(...)
All I can see is a lake.

How should I enter the information so it will be correct?


You should enter the correct coordinates of Katrineholm. :) (58.99,16.21)

The coordinates you entered before point to the middle of a lake called "Virisen," in the mountains west of Storuman.

Here's a good Web site for finding the latitude and longitude of a city or town: http://www.maporama.com/
adamschneider
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 9:38 am

Postby Bondesson » Wed May 19, 2004 11:24 am

Now I am really sorry, because I used the coordinates in the RT90 form. I am new at this.

Your map system is even better than that one I suggested. Now I can see the streets in my home village Valla (59.02033,16.37817).

The time until I get my GPS delivered home to me will be hard to wait. Then I will start mapping my region with Netstumbler.

Thank you very much.
Bondesson
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun May 16, 2004 5:26 am

Postby dadaniel » Fri May 21, 2004 6:58 am

dadaniel
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 3:10 am
Location: Austria

Postby adamschneider » Fri May 21, 2004 3:38 pm

dadaniel wrote:maybe you can include this map-service: http://www.maporama.com


Yes, Maporama's a great site -- I use it to find the coordinates of places when I only have a street address -- but the maps aren't served up in a format that could be used with GPS Visualizer. I need to be able to specify a width, height, and scale (or equivalent) as well as coordinates.
adamschneider
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 9:38 am

Postby G8tK33per » Fri May 21, 2004 8:12 pm

dadaniel wrote:maybe you can include this map-service: http://www.maporama.com

Sometimes it offers information if there is a forest or somewhat

sample:
http://www.maporama.com/share/Map.asp?SESSIONID=%7B868FF3D3-C0A8-4EB1-9AA5-717DCFCED7B0%7D&NavigateHeight=46&NavigateWidth=46&ClickMode=1&Navigate.x=12&Navigate.y=22

Ain't that a bitch...offer a free service, software....whatever, someone always wants more or has a better idea of how to do what you have already done.

Thanks for your efforts, Adam. Well done.
"Make yourselves sheep and the wolves will eat you." ~ Benjamin Franklin

Sons of Confederate Veterans
User avatar
G8tK33per
 
Posts: 6078
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Goomba's Booty Boardwalk

The trouble caused by invalid SSIDs

Postby The Others » Sat Jun 12, 2004 7:53 am

A quick bug report. I used GPSvisualizer to map a stumble. One of the SSIDs I found consisted of invalid characters, this caused GPSvisualizer to halt at that point, displaying neither this AP or any discovered after it. The map drawn was the correct size, however, much of it appeared empty.

Is there a way of making GPS visualizer ignore SSIDs with invalid characters or can the software display the standard square little boxs? This is the approach taken by Digle.

I can send you the NS1 file if it helps.

This is only a small problem, however. I got round it by simply deleting the invalid SSID. Thanks for a great site,
all good ends all

?u=273
User avatar
The Others
 
Posts: 2910
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 7:27 am
Location: Dos Palabras, Mandoras

Postby adamschneider » Sat Jun 12, 2004 8:02 am

The Others wrote:A quick bug report. I used GPSvisualizer to map a stumble. One of the SSIDs I found consisted of invalid characters, this caused GPSvisualizer to halt at that point, displaying neither this AP or any discovered after it.....

I can send you the NS1 file if it helps.


Yes, please send it. Also send, if you could, the corresponding exported text file.
adamschneider
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 9:38 am

Postby The Others » Sat Jun 12, 2004 8:23 am

adamschneider wrote:Yes, please send it. Also send, if you could, the corresponding exported text file.


You've got mail.
all good ends all

?u=273
User avatar
The Others
 
Posts: 2910
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 7:27 am
Location: Dos Palabras, Mandoras

Postby adamschneider » Sat Jun 12, 2004 10:00 am

Okay, it should be fixed. I just set it so that any non-normal characters (ASCII 0 through 31) get converted to spaces before they end up in the SVG. The bad access point in your data should come up as "(unnamed)" because that's what happens when there are no letters or numbers to work with.
adamschneider
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 9:38 am

Postby The Others » Sat Jun 12, 2004 10:18 am

adamschneider wrote:Okay, it should be fixed. I just set it so that any non-normal characters (ASCII 0 through 31) get converted to spaces before they end up in the SVG. The bad access point in your data should come up as "(unnamed)" because that's what happens when there are no letters or numbers to work with.


It works wonderfuly, many thanks.

:D
all good ends all

?u=273
User avatar
The Others
 
Posts: 2910
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 7:27 am
Location: Dos Palabras, Mandoras

Postby haygood39180 » Tue Jun 15, 2004 7:30 am

Very nice. I finally got my Earthmate to work right with Netstumbler and now this. It's all too good to be true.
Here's Downtown Vicksburg.
Attachments
dtownvurg.jpg
dtownvurg.jpg (23.02 KiB) Viewed 1905 times
haygood39180
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 7:13 pm

Postby sylvain » Thu Jul 01, 2004 7:33 am

is it possible to implement the following thing : decrease the strength of the color according to the strength of the signal ?
I mean at the center color will be dark and at the extremities light ...
sylvain
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 5:57 am
Location: Paris, France

Postby adamschneider » Thu Jul 01, 2004 7:43 am

sylvain wrote:is it possible to implement the following thing : decrease the strength of the color according to the strength of the signal ?
I mean at the center color will be dark and at the extremities light ...


Probably not. I think it would be misleading: NetStumbler estimates the location of each base station, so you could not rely on the colors to really indicate signal strength. If I did enable something like this, it would be for aesthetic purposes only. (But at the moment, different waypoint styles is still on the "future" to-do list anyway.)
adamschneider
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 9:38 am

PreviousNext

Return to NetStumbler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests