Multiple AP's

Questions and configuration information about the NetStumbler software

Multiple AP's

Postby XXsAiKoXX » Thu Apr 19, 2007 10:52 am

Hello,
I am trying to implement a WiFi-basded positioning at my campus.
I am using MagicMap for this. MagicMap needs the data of the AP's from NetworkStumbler (Windows). This is done by a perl script.
Now the problem:
Kismac under MacOS finds 3 AP's but the NetworkStumbler under Windows finds 4 times more AP's. This means that I see 12 AP's.
The AP's found by NetworkStumber are only "copys" of the three in "real" existing AP's with the same transmitting power but with different MAC-adresses. Only the last number of the MAC-adress is different.
I hope somebody can help me to understand why this happens an solve my problem so that NetworkStumbler only sents the "real" 3 AP's to MagicMap.

Thanks in advance.

Christian
XXsAiKoXX
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 10:40 am

Postby Barry » Thu Apr 19, 2007 10:54 am

Google "ad-hoc".
Never do anything you don't want to explain to the paramedics.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby XXsAiKoXX » Thu Apr 19, 2007 11:14 am

Thanks for the fast respond.
I know what ad-hoc is but I dont know why NetworkStumbler shows me ad-hoc points where there are no.
And I think they are shown as normal ap's and not as peers.
Is there a way to stop NS to shows these "peers"?

I'm a bit confused now. :confused: So a bit more help would be very delightful.
XXsAiKoXX
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 10:40 am

Postby streaker69 » Thu Apr 19, 2007 11:20 am

XXsAiKoXX wrote:Thanks for the fast respond.
I know what ad-hoc is but I dont know why NetworkStumbler shows me ad-hoc points where there are no.
And I think they are shown as normal ap's and not as peers.
Is there a way to stop NS to shows these "peers"?

I'm a bit confused now. :confused: So a bit more help would be very delightful.


You should be able to filter by Ad-hoc/Peer.
Treat your gun like your genitals, only whip it out when it's absolutely necessary.
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Postby Barry » Thu Apr 19, 2007 11:21 am

Might want to check the configuration of those access points.
Never do anything you don't want to explain to the paramedics.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby XXsAiKoXX » Thu Apr 19, 2007 11:27 am

Thanks again. I'll try to look up some configuration details tomorrow.
For understanding: KisMac does not support to show peers?!
XXsAiKoXX
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 10:40 am

Postby Barry » Thu Apr 19, 2007 11:37 am

XXsAiKoXX wrote:Thanks again. I'll try to look up some configuration details tomorrow.
For understanding: KisMac does not support to show peers?!



KisMac, like kismet on linux, will show you everything.
Never do anything you don't want to explain to the paramedics.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby brwrdrvr » Thu Apr 19, 2007 12:03 pm

Barry wrote:KisMac, like kismet on linux, will show you everything.


Yes it will.

Sample data below.

NSFW
Link
NSFW
Real Linux users write the zeros and ones directly to the hard drive using a refrigerator magnet. ~ bobfunland
User avatar
brwrdrvr
 
Posts: 3381
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 9:26 pm
Location: Capitol City, Louisiana

Postby XXsAiKoXX » Thu Apr 19, 2007 12:13 pm

Barry wrote:KisMac, like kismet on linux, will show you everything.

But KisMac shows only 3 AP's.
XXsAiKoXX
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 10:40 am

Postby wrzwaldo » Thu Apr 19, 2007 12:47 pm

brwrdrvr wrote:Yes it will.

Sample data below.

NSFW
Link
NSFW


HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Nice.
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Postby brwrdrvr » Thu Apr 19, 2007 1:10 pm

wrzwaldo wrote:HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Nice.



You can always count on me. :D
Real Linux users write the zeros and ones directly to the hard drive using a refrigerator magnet. ~ bobfunland
User avatar
brwrdrvr
 
Posts: 3381
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 9:26 pm
Location: Capitol City, Louisiana

Postby Barry » Thu Apr 19, 2007 1:23 pm

XXsAiKoXX wrote:But KisMac shows only 3 AP's.



Click one of the networks then hit,
Never do anything you don't want to explain to the paramedics.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby Dutch » Thu Apr 19, 2007 1:23 pm

brwrdrvr wrote:I'm Cajun, can You count to 10 for me ? :D


FIXED!

Dutch
All your answers are belong to Google. SEARCH DAMMIT!
Warning. Warning.
Low C8H10N4O2 level detected. Operator halted....
User avatar
Dutch
 
Posts: 6698
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: City of Mermaids, Denmark

Postby brwrdrvr » Thu Apr 19, 2007 1:28 pm

Dutch wrote:FIXED!

Dutch


1...2.......7...DOH!

1..........2..............3..........................7 DOH!

1.............................2.......................................7 DOH!!!!

No I cannot. :confused:
Real Linux users write the zeros and ones directly to the hard drive using a refrigerator magnet. ~ bobfunland
User avatar
brwrdrvr
 
Posts: 3381
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 9:26 pm
Location: Capitol City, Louisiana

Postby Barry » Thu Apr 19, 2007 1:31 pm

Hey, which version of Kismac are you running?
Never do anything you don't want to explain to the paramedics.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Next

Return to NetStumbler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron