No APs Detected with Win XP ORiNOCO

Questions and configuration information about the NetStumbler software

Postby eamonn » Mon Sep 16, 2002 10:18 am

absolutely!
welcome to mudville
eamonn
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2002 1:21 pm
Location: nh

XP and what I had to do to FIX IT !!!!!

Postby o0shozbots0o » Tue Sep 17, 2002 10:18 am

OK, Its been a few months since I posted anything and I must say what a great site!!!

This is what I did, In this order, and this is what has eliminated ALL my problems.

1. Disabled Windows controling configuration of my wireless cards.
---Still Freezes
2. Disables the Lucent/Orinoco Client manager
---Still Freezes
3. Then I changed the Orinoco Cards Properties. (I included the picture of the settings I changed it to)

This has eliminated all NetStumbler freezes.
(I have yet to get rid of the XP Blue Screen of Death where the USB to Serial Driver crashes the laptop. I need the USB cable to power to the GPS so there are no more dead batteries. I am currently working on a different solution)

So then I went backwards. After the change to the settings of the Orinoco card, I then enabled the Lucent manager, This made NS not detect as many APs as it once did in previous versions.

then I allowed XP to manage the wireless card, there were much-much shorter freezes, Almost tolerable, but still not right. So my problems were with all of these settings.

Anyone else try to change the settings of the card itself?
I dunno really... This is just what I went thru. Man Its been driving me crazy for a few weeks.

But damn it ... after getting it working, the new NS is just great... no more stumbling and staring at the screen, now the sounds just let me know whats goin on!!! :)

- this is on an Dell Latitude 600, 1Ghz P3, 512MB, 20G HD -
- Just incase this helps anyone else -
Attachments
orinoco_properties_page.jpg
orinoco_properties_page.jpg (31.61 KiB) Viewed 1625 times
o0shozbots0o
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2002 3:54 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

DELL / XP

Postby scotchjeff » Tue Sep 17, 2002 4:10 pm

I am having a killer time with my Gold card, I have an inspiron 4150 with XP Home. I can get my intel card to work, but not the orinoco. I can't get the client manager or NS to detect any networks. Do you think changing the IRQ to 10 helps?

thanks, Jeff
scotchjeff
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2002 10:56 am

Re: DELL / XP

Postby o0shozbots0o » Tue Sep 17, 2002 6:26 pm

Originally posted by scotchjeff
I am having a killer time with my Gold card, I have an inspiron 4150 with XP Home. I can get my intel card to work, but not the orinoco. I can't get the client manager or NS to detect any networks. Do you think changing the IRQ to 10 helps?

thanks, Jeff


Well I don't think this is some end state solution but I wanted to at least post what was working for me, instead of all of this posting that it doesn't work.

I just remember in the good 'ol days of 98se and such that a little change in I/O sometimes made weird things go away, and I thnk it did the trick as well as removing the other options

If there is someone that has an endstate solution I'd love for it to come up in the search !!!! :)

Also... BTW- This is with the NEWEST public available download of the FirmWare AND Orinoco Client/Manager Drivers... I don't remember I mentioned it before.. if so I have now done it twice....

- Go ahead. Try anything, OS's are very easy to reload :)
o0shozbots0o
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2002 3:54 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: No APs Detected with Win XP ORiNOCO

Postby DrScott » Mon Jan 02, 2012 7:36 am

I had to select a device and turn off "Use any suitable device". Works great.
DrScott
 

Re: No APs Detected with Win XP ORiNOCO

Postby streaker69 » Mon Jan 02, 2012 7:40 am

DrScott wrote:I had to select a device and turn off "Use any suitable device". Works great.


Do you really think someone's waiting for a reply after 10 years?
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Re: No APs Detected with Win XP ORiNOCO

Postby Barry » Mon Jan 02, 2012 4:58 pm

streaker69 wrote:
DrScott wrote:I had to select a device and turn off "Use any suitable device". Works great.


Do you really think someone's waiting for a reply after 10 years?



They could! :D
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Re: No APs Detected with Win XP ORiNOCO

Postby paintballaddict » Tue Jan 03, 2012 3:09 am

Finally!!! Oh man I've been waiting SOOOOOO long for that! Wow... That guy REALLY saved the day.. hahahaha

/sarcasm off :)
User avatar
paintballaddict
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 8:32 pm
Location: Lat: 42.21 Lon: -89.1 Elev: 733

Previous

Return to NetStumbler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests

cron