'Grabbing' a wireless signal from another building

'Grabbing' a wireless signal from another building

Postby fjacky » Tue Dec 26, 2006 3:07 pm

I'm at a business where we have 2 buildings approx 70 feet apart. The main building has Satellite HighSpeed. There is a LinkSYS wireless B router in place too. In the 2nd building we are looking to put just 1 PC in it. I mentioned to the owner that we should set that PC up so it 'grabs' the wifi signal from the 1st building. Here is the problem. The owner said I can do whatever I want to the 2nd building, but everything stays as is on the 1st building. So no antennas or extra hardware on the 1st building.
Here is what I'm thinking of doing.

1. Get an external high gain antenna and put it on top of a pole in between the properties. Then run a cat5 cable to the 2nd building. Only approx 40 feet of cable will be outdoors. Not sure if it's possible, or if you need power to those types of antennas.

2. Get a WET11 and place it in a shed in the backyard shed. A window somewhat faces the room where the wireless router sits in the 1st building. From the shed, I'd run a LAN cable to the 2nd building. The thing is the cat5 cable would be outside for probably 125 feet or so.

3. Get a WRT54g and install the DD-WRT firmware which allows you to use the wireless connection as its WAN port. Then hook in bigger aerials and point them at the router. Not real sure how to use the FF-WRT firmware though.

I'd appreciate your thoughts... Your pros and cons to each idea are welcome. Obviously budget is an issue. I'd say $150 MAX.

Thanks a lot.
fjacky
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 2:56 pm

Postby Barry » Tue Dec 26, 2006 3:19 pm

Hire a pro. You're going to fuck something up.
Never do anything you don't want to explain to the paramedics.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby Airstreamer » Tue Dec 26, 2006 3:24 pm

Sounds like a cheap ass business.
"But when we disarmed They sold us and delivered us bound to our foe,
And the Gods of the Copybook Headings said: "Stick to the Devil you know.""

- Rudyard Kipling
User avatar
Airstreamer
 
Posts: 2703
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 9:26 pm
Location: A little North of Reason

Postby fjacky » Tue Dec 26, 2006 4:04 pm

Thanks for the great advice guys. Your post total will get bigger and bigger with replies like that. Good work.

But, I work with computers and am quite capable, I was hoping to get others suggestions.

Anybody else willing to help?

Again, thanks
fjacky
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 2:56 pm

Postby wrzwaldo » Tue Dec 26, 2006 4:16 pm

fjacky wrote:I'm at a business where we have 2 buildings approx 70 feet apart. The main building has Satellite HighSpeed. There is a LinkSYS wireless B router in place too. In the 2nd building we are looking to put just 1 PC in it. I mentioned to the owner that we should set that PC up so it 'grabs' the wifi signal from the 1st building. Here is the problem. The owner said I can do whatever I want to the 2nd building, but everything stays as is on the 1st building. So no antennas or extra hardware on the 1st building.
Here is what I'm thinking of doing.

1. Get an external high gain antenna and put it on top of a pole in between the properties. Then run a cat5 cable to the 2nd building. Only approx 40 feet of cable will be outdoors. Not sure if it's possible, or if you need power to those types of antennas.

2. Get a WET11 and place it in a shed in the backyard shed. A window somewhat faces the room where the wireless router sits in the 1st building. From the shed, I'd run a LAN cable to the 2nd building. The thing is the cat5 cable would be outside for probably 125 feet or so.

3. Get a WRT54g and install the DD-WRT firmware which allows you to use the wireless connection as its WAN port. Then hook in bigger aerials and point them at the router. [color="Red"]Not real sure how to use the FF-WRT firmware though.[/color]

I'd appreciate your thoughts... Your pros and cons to each idea are welcome. Obviously budget is an issue. I'd say $150 MAX.

Thanks a lot.


You Again wrote:Thanks for the great advice guys. Your post total will get bigger and bigger with replies like that. Good work.

[color="Red"]But, I work with computers and am quite capable,[/color] I was hoping to get others suggestions.

Anybody else willing to help?

Again, thanks

Something is not adding up here. :confused:
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Postby fjacky » Tue Dec 26, 2006 4:22 pm

wrzwaldo wrote:Something is not adding up here. :confused:


You are confused? Maybe just stupid. What doesn't add up to you?

I am a part of many forums and this has to be the worst one. I'm looking for suggestions and tips, not smartass remarks from guys with flat asses from sitting in front of their PC's for hours at a time.
fjacky
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 2:56 pm

Postby dakkon2k » Tue Dec 26, 2006 4:23 pm

fjacky wrote:Thanks for the great advice guys. Your post total will get bigger and bigger with replies like that. Good work.

But, I work with computers and am quite capable, I was hoping to get others suggestions.

Anybody else willing to help?

Again, thanks

Purchase "The dummies guide to S.E." I suspect the shiat I smell is from your post as Streaker hasn't been here YET.

As Barry said, hire a pro. You are over your head already.
1. Get an external high gain antenna and put it on top of a pole in between the properties. Then run a cat5 cable to the 2nd building. Only approx 40 feet of cable will be outdoors. Not sure if it's possible, or if you need power to those types of antennas.

Hire a pro. You haven't said a single thing about LoS, link budget, permits, antenna style etc etc.
2. Get a WET11 and place it in a shed in the backyard shed. A window somewhat faces the room where the wireless router sits in the 1st building. From the shed, I'd run a LAN cable to the 2nd building. The thing is the cat5 cable would be outside for probably 125 feet or so.

Hire a pro. You need to read up on "networking 101" to start with.
3. Get a WRT54g and install the DD-WRT firmware which allows you to use the wireless connection as its WAN port. Then hook in bigger aerials and point them at the router. Not real sure how to use the FF-WRT firmware though.

Hire a pro. You haven't said a single thing about LoS, link budget, permits, antenna style etc etc. As you admitted you have NO CLUE about messin' with firmware on network equipment.
Unable to apply patch, Please install M$ Outlook to continue. :confused:
A journey of a thousand posts begins with How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
dakkon2k
 
Posts: 878
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 4:49 am
Location: Quite a bit EAST & a smidgen south of the world famous Rat. 2 miles from the beach or 1/2 a mile

Postby Barry » Tue Dec 26, 2006 4:29 pm

fjacky wrote:You are confused? Maybe just stupid. What doesn't add up to you?

I am a part of many forums and this has to be the worst one. I'm looking for suggestions and tips, not smartass remarks from guys with flat asses from sitting in front of their PC's for hours at a time.



We gave you suggestions and tips. You have no freaking clue what you're doing, so hire a professional.
Never do anything you don't want to explain to the paramedics.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby fjacky » Tue Dec 26, 2006 4:30 pm

It seems after reading through a few forums here that your solution to everyone is to hire a pro.

If I asked which kind of shovel I should use to to dig a hole in a backyard with lots of rocks, would you then recommend me to hire a pro?

You are basically saying that there is no simple way of grabbing the wireless signal?
fjacky
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 2:56 pm

Postby Dutch » Tue Dec 26, 2006 4:31 pm

fjacky wrote:Thanks for the great advice guys. Your post total will get bigger and bigger with replies like that. Good work.

But, I work with computers and am quite capable, I was hoping to get others suggestions.

Anybody else willing to help?

Again, thanks

Thats BS.. If you are quite capable, then you'd not expect to bridge with consumer grade equipment, you'd not expect to do it for 150 USD max, and you'd not consider to run cat 5 for 125 yards outside.

The best advice you got, was from Barry. But ofcourse, why would you listen to advice from people doing stuff, like what you are attempting, on a daily basis.. After all, in your mind, you are quite capable.


Binned with a vengeance, due to OP stupidity.

Dutch
All your answers are belong to Google. SEARCH DAMMIT!
Warning. Warning.
Low C8H10N4O2 level detected. Operator halted....
User avatar
Dutch
 
Posts: 6698
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: City of Mermaids, Denmark

Postby Dutch » Tue Dec 26, 2006 4:35 pm

fjacky wrote:You are confused? Maybe just stupid. What doesn't add up to you?

I am a part of many forums and this has to be the worst one. I'm looking for suggestions and tips, not smartass remarks from guys with flat asses from sitting in front of their PC's for hours at a time.

If you don't like the way we take care of business here, feel free to leave. Or would you rather want me help you with that ?

Dutch
All your answers are belong to Google. SEARCH DAMMIT!
Warning. Warning.
Low C8H10N4O2 level detected. Operator halted....
User avatar
Dutch
 
Posts: 6698
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: City of Mermaids, Denmark

Postby Chris » Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:00 am

fjacky wrote:You are confused? Maybe just stupid. What doesn't add up to you?

I am a part of many forums and this has to be the worst one. I'm looking for suggestions and tips, not smartass remarks from guys with flat asses from sitting in front of their PC's for hours at a time.



Let me get this straight....he won't do YOUR job which, as you point out, you are capable of doing, for you so HE is stupid? You come here asking for advice and then when you get an answer you don't like (although the correct one) you attack the regulars. Maybe you should go to one of your other many forums and and keep asking until you get the answer you want.

Fuck a bunch of you. Buh Bye now.
perl -e 'print pack(c5, (41*2), sqrt(7056), (unpack(c,H)-2), oct(115), 10)'
User avatar
Chris
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 4:00 am

Re: 'Grabbing' a wireless signal from another building

Postby criswat » Sun Aug 12, 2012 11:11 pm

The information you shared in the post about the installation is very useful to all the people who are in need of it. I am glad I visited here and gathered so many facts. I will definitely look forward to it.
________________
Have a look at: digital aerial | freeview aerials .
criswat
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 2:16 am
Location: USA

Re: 'Grabbing' a wireless signal from another building

Postby estefan2020 » Sun Sep 09, 2012 11:45 am

dig a trench and bury a few sets of cat6 wires within metallic conduit. problem solved. better, secure. may be more costly, but it will last
estefan2020
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 3:34 pm


Return to Newbie Bin

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron