Not reading the included documentation ? Die here!

DWL-G630 not support?

Postby kyriptic » Sat Aug 06, 2005 6:46 am

I believe i have the revision C2 and it seems netstumbler doesn't support it. wunning win98 just wondering if someone knows of another program like this or if there is anyway to get netstumbler to support the card?
kyriptic
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 7:19 pm

Postby itsnotme » Sat Aug 06, 2005 6:57 am

Donate money to the author. http://www.stumbler.net/donate
User avatar
itsnotme
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2002 10:19 pm
Location: Somewhere below Lake Ontario

Postby The Others » Sat Aug 06, 2005 7:02 am

kyriptic wrote:I believe i have the revision C2 and it seems netstumbler doesn't support it. wunning win98 just wondering if someone knows of another program like this or if there is anyway to get netstumbler to support the card?


The included readme file will show that under windows 98 you will require an orinoco classic card.
all good ends all

?u=273
User avatar
The Others
 
Posts: 2910
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 7:27 am
Location: Dos Palabras, Mandoras

Postby itsnotme » Sat Aug 06, 2005 7:33 am

The Others wrote:The included readme file will show that under windows 98 you will require an orinoco classic card.


It'd be rather interesting to compile a statistic of how many people have posted a question here that could have been answered by the readme file. Years of computer users reading the readme file before they used the program has now been downgraded to: I'm an idiot, I need somebody to explain to me that there is stuff to read!

(shaking head) I can already tell where computers are going to go. There'll be the computer, and then there'll be the cyborg technician right next to it holding your hand!

the only question is..... do they come in the female variety? :)
User avatar
itsnotme
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2002 10:19 pm
Location: Somewhere below Lake Ontario

Orinoco AIRCRACK (aireplay) problem

Postby ElseCZ » Sun Aug 07, 2005 3:04 pm

Is there any user who use aircrack with orinoco (hermesI) under linux?. I try it but there is many problem with switching channels. I can scan (airodump eth0 0 1) is function only with run orinoco_hopper. With aireplay i send only autentization in loop. Help me please. Some point-command help. Thanks (sorry for my english)
ElseCZ
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 2:55 pm

Some Advice please

Postby basmic » Mon Aug 08, 2005 2:47 am

I have a Safecom SWLU-5400 USB wireless device, which is based on the ZyDAS ZD1211 chip. I know this, because I opened it. :D

Now my problem lies in the fact that I cannot get Airodump 2.2 to work. I get the message "FATAL: failed to set the wireless channel, is there something wrong with the card? exiting." :(

Netstumbler works fine with the USB device, and picks it up as a 802.11b+g USB Wireless LAN Adapter.

Any ideas what I can do? :confused:
basmic
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: UK

Buying a PCMCIA Wireless card.

Postby Xerk » Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:16 pm

Hey, I'm running Fedora FC4 and just wanted to know if anyone has any links to where I could buy a wireless PCMCIA card to work under FC4 and work perfectly with Airhack and kismet.


Any links or model numbers would help. Sorry to ask a question like this but vendors change revisions on their cards and switching out chipsets and not having any type of way to identify what you're getting until you buy it is frustrating :P

Thanks in advance.


- Xerk
Xerk
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 11:21 am

How can I connect to one specific AP?

Postby Dr.Pudlich » Thu Aug 11, 2005 11:51 pm

Hi!

I am an unexperienced user of NetStumbler 0.4.0

After starting NetStumbler it automatically connects to the AP with the strongest signal. How can I force NetStumbler to connect to one of the other APs it receives?

Kind regards from Germany

Thomas
Dr.Pudlich
 

Postby itsnotme » Fri Aug 12, 2005 12:53 am

Dr.Pudlich wrote:Hi!

I am an unexperienced user of NetStumbler 0.4.0

After starting NetStumbler it automatically connects to the AP with the strongest signal. How can I force NetStumbler to connect to one of the other APs it receives?

Kind regards from Germany

Thomas


Thomas- Bend over, and when somebody comes to kick you in the ass, let them. NS is used to find AP's, not to connect to them. If you have permission to connect to them, then you need to use a connection agent like window's WZC (Its early for me, I may have misspelled the acronym?). If you're trying to connect to somebody else's AP that you find in NS that you're not authorized to connect to, I'm sure it's a felony in Germany as much as it is here.

In short, if you're going to use NS, dont connect to anything it finds unless you're testing it on your own AP.
User avatar
itsnotme
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2002 10:19 pm
Location: Somewhere below Lake Ontario

Airsnort linksys wusb54gp

Postby mike171562 » Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:31 am

I was wondering if anyone had any advice, I'm still a newbie. I have a linksys wusb54gp usb wireless adapter. I'm running suse 9.3 pro on my dell inspiron 1000 laptop. I use ndiswrapper to get the card to work with suse and it works fine. My question is when i run airsnort I can only capture packets when I'm associated with an AP. how do I get my card to sniff packets without being associated, and can i do this using ndiswrapper and windows drivers?
any help would be appreciated.
I have the USB adaper on my root connected to a 20 ft. usb cable that runs down into my house and there are several WEP enabled networks in the area.
mike171562
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2005 6:45 am

the joys (read: problems) of airsnort on windows :)

Postby persyus » Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:27 am

Okay, so. I installed airopeek, and after getting another driver for my broadcom card (dell truemobile 1350) I can get airopeek to work. But when I open up airsnort, it just sits there...I click on all the pretty buttons, and it just keeps on sitting there. Any ideas why it's not working? Do i need to manually put my card in monitor mode? and if so, how?

Thanks in advance!
persyus
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:19 am

hostap and wlanng simultaneously ???

Postby shlam » Mon Aug 15, 2005 6:54 am

Hi,
This is probably a stupid question.. but..
IF you have two prism cards, can you use hostap to run Void11 on one card >> And on the same machine use wlanng running aireplay and airodump on the other card. I guess there maybe a way to do this with some conf file somewhere.. Any help or pointers would be appreciated. Ive googled but not pulled up the answer...
cheers.
shlam
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 4:41 am

Postby devine » Mon Aug 15, 2005 8:09 am

shlam wrote:Hi,
This is probably a stupid question.. but..
IF you have two prism cards, can you use hostap to run Void11 on one card >> And on the same machine use wlanng running aireplay and airodump on the other card. I guess there maybe a way to do this with some conf file somewhere.. Any help or pointers would be appreciated. Ive googled but not pulled up the answer...
cheers.


You don't need void11 anymore, these attacks have been implemented in aireplay. Just make sure your prism2 driver (wlan-ng or hostap, at your choice), is properly patched.
devine
 
Posts: 389
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Paris

Linksys wusb54gp and monitor mode

Postby todd333 » Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:38 pm

I'm trying to get this card in monitor mode to use airsnort. I cant see any packets unless im associated with an AP. I am using ndiswrapper to get this card to work with suse 9.3.
I have tried
iwconfig wlan0 mode monitor, it failed
iwconfig wlan0 essid test, to associate it with an fake ap, it didnt work
if anyone has any suggestions. id be grateful
User avatar
todd333
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 8:09 am

Postby Dutch » Mon Aug 15, 2005 11:25 pm

todd333 wrote:I'm trying to get this card in monitor mode to use airsnort. I cant see any packets unless im associated with an AP. I am using ndiswrapper to get this card to work with suse 9.3.
I have tried
iwconfig wlan0 mode monitor, it failed
iwconfig wlan0 essid test, to associate it with an fake ap, it didnt work
if anyone has any suggestions. id be grateful

Read the emphasized words in the quoted text above, then read the thread title for where your post have been moved to. That should give you a pretty big hint.

Dutch
All your answers are belong to Google. SEARCH DAMMIT!
Warning. Warning.
Low C8H10N4O2 level detected. Operator halted....
User avatar
Dutch
 
Posts: 6698
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: City of Mermaids, Denmark

Next

Return to Newbie Bin

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests