This is the NS forum, but you are the official support site for XXXX hard/software ?

Postby Starpoint » Mon Jul 17, 2006 10:48 am

ismailjh wrote:I am using the latest version of Auditor to hack into my wireless network (I use a Linksys WRT54GS with a 128bit WEP key) and want derive my own WEP key with sniffing IVs and using aircrack. I chose to use a Prism card, Linksys WPC 11 v. 3. The CD runs well and the card is detected as either eth0 or eth1.

As I have been trying to put the card into monitor mode, an iwconfig always shows "managed mode". However, Kismet runs smoothly and so do airodump and aireplay. I usually switch-to-hostap before starting anything else.

Here is my usual konsole routine:
# switch-to-hostap
# iwpriv eth1 monitor 2 11
I also open kismet, and use the "Shift + L" key to lock my card on my own BSSID, then close kismet.
# airodump eth1 cap1 <MAC ADDRESS OF MY BSSID>

Airodump collects packets including IVs corretly. When I launch aircrack 2.1 (aircrack -m <MAC ADDRESS OF MY BSSID> -n 64 -q 3 cap*.cap), the number of "unique IVs" is always less than what Airodump collects (only about one third of Airodump IVs are considered "unique IVs" by aircrack. How come? Is it a matter of drivers? Should I start over with the wlanng driver instead?

I once colleted about 800,000 IVs on Airodump (about 3 million packets) and Airodump started giving me a "cannot write" error. I believe it is because it was running out of space to write the file, since it is not using the hard drive. Auditor was then becoming to be buggy and very slow and I had to restart it and lost the data collected.

Please offer advice.

Thank you for your help,


Now WHY would you need to crack your own WEP key?

My BS meter is twitching over towards the "railcard load" and the S.E. meter is reading a positive here.
Against the run of the mill, static as it seems

We break the surface tension with our wild kinetic dreams
Curves and lines -- of grand designs...


Tonight's movie "Soylent Green" has been brought to you by our sponsor - Waste Management

My mind is like a Steel trap - Rusty and Illegal in most states
User avatar
Starpoint
 
Posts: 2539
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2003 4:47 pm
Location: Houston

Postby wrzwaldo » Mon Jul 17, 2006 10:54 am

ismailjh wrote:I am using the latest version of Auditor to hack into my wireless network (I use a Linksys WRT54GS with a 128bit WEP key) and want derive my own WEP key with sniffing IVs and using aircrack. I chose to use a Prism card, Linksys WPC 11 v. 3. The CD runs well and the card is detected as either eth0 or eth1.

As I have been trying to put the card into monitor mode, an iwconfig always shows "managed mode". However, Kismet runs smoothly and so do airodump and aireplay. I usually switch-to-hostap before starting anything else.

Here is my usual konsole routine:
# switch-to-hostap
# iwpriv eth1 monitor 2 11
I also open kismet, and use the "Shift + L" key to lock my card on my own BSSID, then close kismet.
# airodump eth1 cap1 <MAC ADDRESS OF MY BSSID>

Airodump collects packets including IVs corretly. When I launch aircrack 2.1 (aircrack -m <MAC ADDRESS OF MY BSSID> -n 64 -q 3 cap*.cap), the number of "unique IVs" is always less than what Airodump collects (only about one third of Airodump IVs are considered "unique IVs" by aircrack. How come? Is it a matter of drivers? Should I start over with the wlanng driver instead?

I once colleted about 800,000 IVs on Airodump (about 3 million packets) and Airodump started giving me a "cannot write" error. I believe it is because it was running out of space to write the file, since it is not using the hard drive. Auditor was then becoming to be buggy and very slow and I had to restart it and lost the data collected.

Please offer advice.

Thank you for your help,



Wasn't the WPC11 V3 the Prism Mercury chipset (Prism 3)? I have never tried to put one of those into monitor mode (because I don't own one of them).
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Help picking out a wifi pcmcia card that works with void11

Postby xz0dius » Wed Jul 26, 2006 6:42 am

Hey guys,

I have a cisco aironet 350 card and a orinoco gold card. I use them with kismet on back track and it works perfect for cracking wep via wep crack. The problem is, that i want to use void11 to practice deauth. My cards do not work with void11 on any of the linux live cd's auditor, backtrack,fire exc. Does any one know of a good card that works on the prisim chipset that works great with void11 so i can do de authenication.

Thanks alot guys in advance !

--xz0dius
xz0dius
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 6:28 am

Used Orinoco with auditor, now it won't work with windows, any help?

Postby bullet_hole » Sat Sep 30, 2006 10:39 am

OK, I'm definetly pretty new to this, but when I tried using auditor and using my orinoco card, I switched back and forth between hostap, etc, and putting it in monitor mode, and stuff like that, but now when I try to use it with windows, it doesn't recognize the card. Is there a command that I can use to switch it back to default so it works in windows?
bullet_hole
 

Kismac problem, deauth doesnt work, cant get uniq Ivs either (prism2)

Postby GoodleDoodle » Sat Sep 30, 2006 1:10 pm

Well, I have a usb prism 2 dongle
I run kismac, it scans allright and doesnt give errors on prompts for auth floods deauths or reinjection but it doesnt work much either.

Just for trying I went around looking for hidden ssid broadcasts and it can deauth them

I tried auth flooding a network and got 0 uniq IVs, anyone have any ideaS?
GoodleDoodle
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 12:58 pm

Postby Beard » Sat Sep 30, 2006 1:32 pm

GoodleDoodle wrote:Well, I have a usb prism 2 dongle
I run kismac, it scans allright and doesnt give errors on prompts for auth floods deauths or reinjection but it doesnt work much either.

Just for trying I went around looking for hidden ssid broadcasts and it can deauth them

I tried auth flooding a network and got 0 uniq IVs, anyone have any ideaS?


You need to give more information, including what you're trying to do.
Beard

"We hold these truths to be self evident"....
Religous: "Thou shalt not steal."
Amish: "You shall burn in hell for theft of wifi." {courtesy streaker69}
Secular: What's on the books. {courtesy beakmyn}
Redneck; "Thievin' bastard, [blam, blam]"

Solutions for the most common problems or questions of new members are here, here, and here .
Beard
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 6:34 pm
Location: Ozark mountains, Arkansas

problem with monitor mode

Postby xtwyw » Sun Oct 08, 2006 12:49 pm

Hi

i use <auditor-200605-02-no-ipw2100> to run Airodump ,it says "did u change ur card into monitor mode?" But i already use "iwconfig eth0 mode monitor" to change it and when i type in "iwconfig" it shows that the mode is monitor

puzzle....

thx for helping...............
xtwyw
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 12:30 pm

Postby xtwyw » Sun Oct 08, 2006 12:51 pm

by the way,one more thing,really important, my card is intel 2200bg..


w
a
i
t
i
n
g
xtwyw
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 12:30 pm

Kismac and .ivs file

Postby prograham » Sat Oct 14, 2006 8:44 am

Seeing how there is just about zero documentation on kismac, does anyone know if kismac 0.21a can import a ".ivs" file or does it only accept "pcap" files? And if it does import and crack ivs files, how do you do it?
prograham
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 8:26 am
Location: New York

Postby Dutch » Sat Oct 14, 2006 9:01 am

The people at the site that supports Kismac knows everything about Kismac's capabilities.
Go there and ask.

http://kismac.de/

Dutch
All your answers are belong to Google. SEARCH DAMMIT!
Warning. Warning.
Low C8H10N4O2 level detected. Operator halted....
User avatar
Dutch
 
Posts: 6698
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: City of Mermaids, Denmark

Airsnort running problem that no one solved

Postby joganondo » Fri Nov 24, 2006 7:38 am

Everywhere i look for i got all the solutions upto running the airsnort including all the dll & lib files, but I still get these errors :

[color="Red"]** ERROR **: file shape.c line 78(pango_shape): assertion failed: (glyphs->num_glyphs > 0) aborting ...

runtime error!
program ...airsnort-0.2.6\bin\airsnort
This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
Please contact the application's support team for more information. [/color]

And no one have given the solution on this error anywhere i guess.I know there is a solution and like to get it .Any suggestions?

By the way i am running winxp sp2 on a toshiba laptop with built in wifi.
joganondo
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 7:19 am

Postby Thorn » Fri Nov 24, 2006 7:46 am

These are the NetStumbler Forums.

You want the Airsnort Forums:http://sourceforge.net/forum/forum.php?forum_id=104550
Thorn
Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.
Thorn
 
Posts: 10340
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Villa Straylight

AirSnort and encrypted packets

Postby tranzzas » Wed Nov 29, 2006 3:40 am

Hi,

I installed airpeek drivers and it seems working ok. I installed airsnort and i can see activity.. traffic is running. The problem is that i dont see any encrypted or interested packets. Just packets are growing. I am trying with notebook and router to generate packets encrypted with 128bit WEP. And another computer without any information about wep should see this packets as encrypted, or should i send a couple of gigs to get some encrypted and interesting packets?

My network card is Netgear WG311T using windows XP with airpeek drivers.

Thanks for any help :)
tranzzas
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 3:34 am

Postby Starpoint » Wed Nov 29, 2006 4:31 am

tranzzas wrote:Hi,

I installed airpeek drivers and it seems working ok. I installed airsnort and i can see activity.. traffic is running. The problem is that i dont see any encrypted or interested packets. Just packets are growing. I am trying with notebook and router to generate packets encrypted with 128bit WEP. And another computer without any information about wep should see this packets as encrypted, or should i send a couple of gigs to get some encrypted and interesting packets?

My network card is Netgear WG311T using windows XP with airpeek drivers.

Thanks for any help :)


What you should do is go read the README's, FAQ's in the WELCOME Desk, but wait, you are asking us to help you commit a felony so why again should we welcome you here and help you?

its 6:31 am CST, cookies to donuts say you are banned by 10 am CST.
Against the run of the mill, static as it seems

We break the surface tension with our wild kinetic dreams
Curves and lines -- of grand designs...


Tonight's movie "Soylent Green" has been brought to you by our sponsor - Waste Management

My mind is like a Steel trap - Rusty and Illegal in most states
User avatar
Starpoint
 
Posts: 2539
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2003 4:47 pm
Location: Houston

Winstall.exe - helpp!!

Postby alisaselez » Sat Dec 16, 2006 2:44 am

Hi everebody
My computer was infected with a trojan virus today, from a link from someone on msn messenger. I ran AVG Free and the virus went to the vault, which i have deleted and all seems to be running fine now. however, i've had to vault it three times. when I restart, the virus seems to reappear. but my computer is running fine.

but...

there is an icon on my desktop titled winstall.exe which when scanned doesn't contain a virus, but I have just had a quick scan thru some stuff on the internet and get the idea that its a nasty little program that lets other nasty stuff infect my computer I can't delete it, and in fact, am not sure if this is accurate and am a little worried its an important windows file i shouldnt be deleting at all.

I've now installed Avira Antivir as well, as a double up safety precaution, but no spyware detection programs as yet (I'm not even sure if I'm wording that correctly..)

help??
Lots of thanks
alisaselez
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 2:40 am

PreviousNext

Return to Newbie Bin

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests