netstumbler Seti group

Anything non-wireless related

Postby streaker69 » Thu Aug 03, 2006 5:34 am

theprez98 wrote:With the help of the wife, some bad drivers that were crashing and rebooting the system were removed from my desktop at home, and finally SETI@Home is running again...

Now if I could get Remote Desktop to work consistently... :rolleyes:


Install UltraVNC and give up RDP.
Treat your gun like your genitals, only whip it out when it's absolutely necessary.
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Postby theprez98 » Thu Aug 03, 2006 5:37 am

streaker69 wrote:Install UltraVNC and give up RDP.

Its not RDP that's the problem, its the fact that I have to go to through two routers, and setting up static IPs has been a bitch, so anytime the power goes out and the routers reboot, the IPs change and the port forwarding scheme goes to shit.

However, I probably will try one of the varieties of VNC once I (read: me asking my wife very politely to fix it) get the static IP problem fixed.
[font="Courier New"]"\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";[/font]
User avatar
theprez98
 
Posts: 3638
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 8:23 pm
Location: Maryland

Postby streaker69 » Thu Aug 03, 2006 5:38 am

theprez98 wrote:Its not RDP that's the problem, its the fact that I have to go to through two routers, and setting up static IPs has been a bitch, so anytime the power goes out and the routers reboot, the IPs change and the port forwarding scheme goes to shit.


There's this new invention that was just released yesterday, so you might want to look into it.

It's called an Uninterruptible Power Supply, it's kinda like a battery that supplies 120VAC to attached equipment. That way, when power goes out, things don't go off.

It shouldn't take an Amishman to point out new technology, but I guess that's why I'm here.

;)
Treat your gun like your genitals, only whip it out when it's absolutely necessary.
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Postby theprez98 » Thu Aug 03, 2006 5:40 am

[quote="streaker69"]There's this new invention that was just released yesterday, so you might want to look into it.

It's called an Uninterruptible Power Supply, it's kinda like a battery that supplies 120VAC to attached equipment. That way, when power goes out, things don't go off.

It shouldn't take an Amishman to point out new technology, but I guess that's why I'm here.

]
I've actually heard of a UPS before :p , and I have considered buying them before, but sometimes I prefer to actually turn off the computers, especially when storms come through. A particularly nasty storm almost killed my desktop last week.
[font="Courier New"]"\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";[/font]
User avatar
theprez98
 
Posts: 3638
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 8:23 pm
Location: Maryland

Postby King_Ice_Flash » Thu Aug 03, 2006 3:03 pm

You can also do static DHCP ;)
"Yeah," said a voice from under the table, "you go to pieces so fast people get hit by the shrapnel."
User avatar
King_Ice_Flash
 
Posts: 2658
Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 11:00 am
Location: WI

Postby goldfndr » Sat Aug 05, 2006 5:19 pm

theprez98 wrote:I've actually heard of a UPS before :p , and I have considered buying them before, but sometimes I prefer to actually turn off the computers, especially when storms come through. A particularly nasty storm almost killed my desktop last week.

Did you know that most UPSs come with on/off switches and don't block the on/off switches of the connected devices?

There have been a few times when I've physically unplugged a UPS from the wall when a storm got noisy. I'm not sure why I haven't been clever enough to go to the garage and flip the breaker(s) instead.
goldfndr
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 3:30 am
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA

Postby streaker69 » Sat Aug 05, 2006 5:25 pm

goldfndr wrote:Did you know that most UPSs come with on/off switches and don't block the on/off switches of the connected devices?

There have been a few times when I've physically unplugged a UPS from the wall when a storm got noisy. I'm not sure why I haven't been clever enough to go to the garage and flip the breaker(s) instead.


Don't always count that being enough. I had a client have a near strike. Lightening actually hit the sewer vent cap in front of their building. The resultant EMP induced enough current into the CAT5 cable of the building it blew out 5 NICS inside the building as well as the switch they were using.
Treat your gun like your genitals, only whip it out when it's absolutely necessary.
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Postby beakmyn » Sat Aug 05, 2006 6:35 pm

Lightning;) is a very funny thing. Like all electricity it is lazy and will find the easiest path to take, whatever it may be. Some times it's the AC line other times you have no fscking clue why it decided to jump to something else. You're safest bet is to unplug any device you want to protect. That includes: AC, Ethernet and phone lines. It's also possible that given the right kind of strike it could jump an arc of several inches to a device! While rare, it's possible. When I was growing up a bolt hit the side of house down the street, the arc when through the wood shingles and jumped "into" the electrical lines in the wall and blew out stereo. The electrical service was on the other side of the house, why the bolt decided to hit there is anybody's guess.

All bets are off when dealing with that much electricity.
beakmyn
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:53 pm

Postby King_Ice_Flash » Sun Aug 06, 2006 4:15 am

Twice when our house has been hit by lightning we lost modems which weren't even attached to the phone line at the time. Everything else appeared to work fine in the computer.
"Yeah," said a voice from under the table, "you go to pieces so fast people get hit by the shrapnel."
User avatar
King_Ice_Flash
 
Posts: 2658
Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 11:00 am
Location: WI

Postby theprez98 » Thu Feb 15, 2007 11:18 am

After several months of experimenting with several possible causes of my desktop rebooting itself, it appears that BOINC is at fault, or is at least the single cause I can pinpoint. As much as I enjoy running SETI@Home I'd prefer to have my computers running 100% of the time!!!
[font="Courier New"]"\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";[/font]
User avatar
theprez98
 
Posts: 3638
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 8:23 pm
Location: Maryland

Postby Starpoint » Thu Feb 15, 2007 11:28 am

theprez98 wrote:After several months of experimenting with several possible causes of my desktop rebooting itself, it appears that BOINC is at fault, or is at least the single cause I can pinpoint. As much as I enjoy running SETI@Home I'd prefer to have my computers running 100% of the time!!!



I stopped running Boinc on mine a while back and recently due to some personal things going on, I have to shut down the file server and do some re-arrange some furniture.
Against the run of the mill, static as it seems

We break the surface tension with our wild kinetic dreams
Curves and lines -- of grand designs...


Tonight's movie "Soylent Green" has been brought to you by our sponsor - Waste Management

My mind is like a Steel trap - Rusty and Illegal in most states
User avatar
Starpoint
 
Posts: 2539
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2003 4:47 pm
Location: Houston

Postby wrzwaldo » Thu Feb 15, 2007 11:37 am

theprez98 wrote:After several months of experimenting with several possible causes of my desktop rebooting itself, it appears that BOINC is at fault, or is at least the single cause I can pinpoint. As much as I enjoy running SETI@Home I'd prefer to have my computers running 100% of the time!!!



Bummer. But I can't fault a guy for actually being able to use their computer.
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Postby paintballaddict » Thu Feb 15, 2007 12:42 pm

I just recently within a month or two started running Boinc with seti... Just joined the Netstumbler team today ;)... I'll be letting it run as long as I dont need my 2.6 ghz p4:)
_____________________________
MY marker, MY paint, YOUR ASS!!!

GUN CONTROL: using both hands :D

Radio Shack: You've got questions? We have blank stares . . .
User avatar
paintballaddict
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 8:32 pm
Location: Lat: 42.21 Lon: -89.1 Elev: 733

Postby Barry » Thu Feb 15, 2007 1:55 pm

[quote="paintballaddict"]I just recently within a month or two started running Boinc with seti... Just joined the Netstumbler team today ]


Anyone use the version made for video cards??
Never do anything you don't want to explain to the paramedics.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby paintballaddict » Thu Feb 15, 2007 2:21 pm

Barry wrote:Anyone use the version made for video cards??


I wasnt aware there was a version for video cards.. I'll look around for it
_____________________________
MY marker, MY paint, YOUR ASS!!!

GUN CONTROL: using both hands :D

Radio Shack: You've got questions? We have blank stares . . .
User avatar
paintballaddict
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 8:32 pm
Location: Lat: 42.21 Lon: -89.1 Elev: 733

PreviousNext

Return to Off-Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests