Repairing/Converting/Exporting NS1 Files.

Anything non-wireless related

Postby beakmyn » Thu Aug 04, 2005 11:58 am

Couple bug fixes made (oops)
If you previously downloaded the whole package you'll only need to grab the executable from the Latest Beta exe folder.

Please download the latest version.
beakmyn
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:53 pm

Postby goldfndr » Thu Aug 11, 2005 10:28 pm

I've got most of it working - detections are plotted on my installation of Google Earth - but there are a couple of minor issues.
  • The 7/29 icons.zip packaged with the "old" .tar.gz has JPG files dated 2002, while the beta EXE creates a .KML with .png references. Is a newer icons.zip available?
    I've downloaded the .tar.gz a couple more times, and each time it took a while; sorry to use up the bandwidth but I wanted to make sure caching wasn't an issue. The icons.zip in your latest beta download had the same date and content. Maybe it's my installation of WinZip?
    I've worked around it by renaming the .PNGs to .JPGs, and Google Earth actually accepts that, but that gives me the white backgrounds that the .PNGs presumably have as transparent.
  • In the Options, I'm unable to get SSID as the description; the setting isn't sticky. Oh, and "Apply" button doesn't appear to take effect; is it just a tease? Buttons are OK, Cancel, Apply. Whether or not I have a .NS1 open. Other options are "null", yes (or no), checkboxes are SSID Type Name Channel. WinXP SP1.
Other than those minor issues, it's really nice.

Oh, and another minor issue: the exports aren't disabled initially (file isn't open). Heh.
goldfndr
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 3:30 am
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA

Postby beakmyn » Fri Aug 12, 2005 2:42 am

goldfndr wrote:I've got most of it working - detections are plotted on my installation of Google Earth - but there are a couple of minor issues.
  • The 7/29 icons.zip packaged with the "old" .tar.gz has JPG files dated 2002, while the beta EXE creates a .KML with .png references. Is a newer icons.zip available?
    I've downloaded the .tar.gz a couple more times, and each time it took a while]In the Options, I'm unable to get SSID as the description; the setting isn't sticky. Oh, and "Apply" button doesn't appear to take effect; is it just a tease? Buttons are OK, Cancel, Apply. Whether or not I have a .NS1 open. Other options are "null", yes (or no), checkboxes are SSID Type Name Channel. WinXP SP1.
Other than those minor issues, it's really nice.

Oh, and another minor issue: the exports aren't disabled initially (file isn't open). Heh.


New tar, icons.zip and exe uploaded
Apply button removed (duplicate logic)
Save KML descriptor now working.

Export is enabled for my debugging, but I hope one would be smart enough to not click the option unless a file is open. :)

Don't worry about bandwidth it's survived Fark.com so it can handle you downloading a couple files.
beakmyn
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:53 pm

Postby goldfndr » Sat Aug 13, 2005 5:02 pm

Thanks, that's much better.
The icons don't have transparent backgrounds; is that something you'll do? It's tempting to try The Gimp on the 32x32 icons from the Mappoint thread, but that'd require the <h>24</h> and <v>24</v> be changed.

Regarding the disabling, I noticed that Export to KML without a file gives an endless Error 5. Just desserts, I suppose, but...
goldfndr
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 3:30 am
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA

Postby beakmyn » Sun Aug 14, 2005 5:28 am

[quote="goldfndr"]Thanks, that's much better.
The icons don't have transparent backgrounds]


I'll fix it on Monday.
beakmyn
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:53 pm

Postby beakmyn » Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:04 am

I put the menu disable back in.

As for the transparent icons, I've used both Irfanview and Paint shop pro to indicate the transparent color (white). When I open the png in Paint shop pro it correctly shows the transparency but Google Earth fills it with white.
beakmyn
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:53 pm

Postby beakmyn » Thu Aug 25, 2005 11:59 am

New version up that will let you select icons for the KML export.
It's still using the 24x24 icon size in the KML I'm working that but you should be able to use your .png files. I'm still working on getting Google Earth to recognize the transparency in the png file.

Assumptions: you installed google earth in the default directory on your C drive otherwise YMMV
beakmyn
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:53 pm

Postby Israel Torres » Thu Aug 25, 2005 8:00 pm

how about adding an autoupdate function :p seriously, it would be nice :)
The Chronicles of a Wardriver

[url=http://www.chroniclesofawardriver.org/logthemall.html]Log Them All...
... Let WiGLE Map Them Out[/url]

* WiGLE 200K Club Member! *

Tools: [ macitup / router configuration / FTard Decoder Ring / SuCKLE/ CheckNS1 / NSQSelect ]
User avatar
Israel Torres
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 7:56 pm
Location: California

Postby beakmyn » Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:04 am

Israel Torres wrote:how about adding an autoupdate function :p seriously, it would be nice :)


It would be nice for you guys but it's one exe, plus I'd have to write it all from scratch. I'll look into it.
beakmyn
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:53 pm

Postby streaker69 » Fri Aug 26, 2005 4:41 am

beakmyn wrote:It would be nice for you guys but it's one exe, plus I'd have to write it all from scratch. I'll look into it.


Then make sure you write it so that it validates that you're using a real genuine version of NS, plus of your program all while not gathering personal information from the computer.
Treat your gun like your genitals, only whip it out when it's absolutely necessary.
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Postby beakmyn » Fri Aug 26, 2005 4:54 am

streaker69 wrote:Then make sure you write it so that it validates that you're using a real genuine version of NS, plus of your program all while not gathering personal information from the computer.



Damn you why did you go and have to right that I was 20 lines of code away from a new Winnebago.
beakmyn
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:53 pm

Postby beakmyn » Fri Aug 26, 2005 6:38 am

Israel Torres wrote:how about adding an autoupdate function :p seriously, it would be nice :)



Alright if you want it then what method do you prefer:

Have autoupdater check everytime the program is loaded?
When you click a button

then

Actually I found some canned auto-update code, I'm just testing it out now. The question now is how to implement the file replacement.

1. Have user overwrite old file with new file
2. user clicks on Ns1recovery, it checks version against version on web, if newer available, it shells autoupdater and quits. Autoupdater downloads new file replacing old one, then it quits and starts back up the updated file.
beakmyn
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:53 pm

Postby Israel Torres » Fri Aug 26, 2005 6:55 am

beakmyn wrote:Have autoupdater check everytime the program is loaded?


wow that is some serious service! Since you are so kind to ask here are some suggestions I have :)

Allow the program to check when first loaded (like do you want to check for update? click here if you do not want to be asked this anymore), otherwise set and option one way or another to where the user is not asked that can be changed at will. The idea is to let the user know you are about to go outbound so they don't freak out as to why it is phoning home.

The file replacement would be great to also have an option to allow a backup to be made where the user can remove it later if they are satisfied with the updates or just want to keep the older versions for whatever reason.

I think just downloading the latest file and telling the user they have to restart the program should suffice. If you want to get more elaborate where it restarts itself in its new form would be super.

If you want to get crazy into security stuff you can make sure the autoupdate is not using the host file (by using direct IP) of the system in case someone is tinkering with bad stuff. You can also have the udpater connect via SSL though completely unecessary in this case. Of course the updater should have some type of sum checker to make sure the file is of authentic origin if not digitally signed.

Great job by the way!

Israel
The Chronicles of a Wardriver

[url=http://www.chroniclesofawardriver.org/logthemall.html]Log Them All...
... Let WiGLE Map Them Out[/url]

* WiGLE 200K Club Member! *

Tools: [ macitup / router configuration / FTard Decoder Ring / SuCKLE/ CheckNS1 / NSQSelect ]
User avatar
Israel Torres
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 7:56 pm
Location: California

Postby beakmyn » Fri Aug 26, 2005 7:20 am

Israel Torres wrote:wow that is some serious service! Since you are so kind to ask here are some suggestions I have :)

Allow the program to check when first loaded (like do you want to check for update? click here if you do not want to be asked this anymore), otherwise set and option one way or another to where the user is not asked that can be changed at will. The idea is to let the user know you are about to go outbound so they don't freak out as to why it is phoning home.

The file replacement would be great to also have an option to allow a backup to be made where the user can remove it later if they are satisfied with the updates or just want to keep the older versions for whatever reason.

I think just downloading the latest file and telling the user they have to restart the program should suffice. If you want to get more elaborate where it restarts itself in its new form would be super.

If you want to get crazy into security stuff you can make sure the autoupdate is not using the host file (by using direct IP) of the system in case someone is tinkering with bad stuff. You can also have the udpater connect via SSL though completely unecessary in this case. Of course the updater should have some type of sum checker to make sure the file is of authentic origin if not digitally signed.

Great job by the way!

Israel



You'll get an updater that downloads the file to a new /updates directory then it will ask you if you want to install the update. Yes- the shell game with back up, No-run old .exe
No fancy security, no CRC just download and save.

I tested out the updater I found seems to work. There's some cleaning up to do.
beakmyn
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:53 pm

Postby Israel Torres » Fri Aug 26, 2005 7:23 am

beakmyn wrote:You'll get an updater that downloads the file to a new /updates directory then it will ask you if you want to install the update. Yes- the shell game with back up, No-run old .exe
No fancy security, no CRC just download and save.

I tested out the updater I found seems to work. There's some cleaning up to do.


How about proxy support? I am just throwing questions that will probably be out there in the future once the updater module is released. Any type of work is appreciated of course :)

Israel
The Chronicles of a Wardriver

[url=http://www.chroniclesofawardriver.org/logthemall.html]Log Them All...
... Let WiGLE Map Them Out[/url]

* WiGLE 200K Club Member! *

Tools: [ macitup / router configuration / FTard Decoder Ring / SuCKLE/ CheckNS1 / NSQSelect ]
User avatar
Israel Torres
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 7:56 pm
Location: California

PreviousNext

Return to Off-Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron