Toshiba e330 and 802.11

Toshiba e330 and 802.11

Postby sledgep » Tue Dec 14, 2004 9:39 pm

I am looking for a way to get 802.11 wireless on my e330, I have a usb hosts cable, and a usb to serial adapter that works. I have found that usb wireless devices running the prism 2.5 chipset will work, but out of the 3 cards i found, they are all in the UK. Has anyone else had any luck getting wifi on there e330

thanks
sledgep
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 9:31 pm

Here is how I setup my Toshiba E330 for Wifi using a $40 USB Dongle

Postby flarondie » Sat Jan 15, 2005 7:59 pm

sledgep wrote:I am looking for a way to get 802.11 wireless on my e330, I have a usb hosts cable, and a usb to serial adapter that works. I have found that usb wireless devices running the prism 2.5 chipset will work, but out of the 3 cards i found, they are all in the UK. Has anyone else had any luck getting wifi on there e330

thanks


Here is how I setup my Toshiba E330 for Wifi using a $40 USB Dongle
I installed the Intersil PPC / Wince 3.0 drivers.
http://www.ysoc.org/files/ISL3PRDSUIT-E ... E300(2-0-9).zip

I have a D-Link DWL-122 (about $40 from newegg etc.) and USB Host cable (about $16 from http://www.buy.com) so setup the Toshiba 330 to work by installing the Intersil drivers then using freeware PHM Registry Editor (http://www.phm.lu/products) to edit the Intersil entry with the Vid&Pid of the DWL-122 on the E330

You can find the Vid & Pid of your dongle by looking in the adapter *.inf file in the install files on your PC then converting that code from Hex to decimal (use the scientific view on windows calculator or http://www.hypersolutions.org/pages/hex.html)
Dlink DWL-122
Hex 2001_3700
Dec 8193_14080
On the Toshiba I edited the entry
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Drivers\USB\LoadClients\9332_13890 to read:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Drivers\USB\LoadClients\8193_14080
Soft reset the Toshiba, plugged in the DWL-122, set the network adapter for Intersil USB to Use Server assigned IP, in the Connection settings set My Network card connects to The Internet, in the Intersil utility, configured my SSID to my home network, set the WEP encryption to my home network, in ActiveSync Tools/Options set one of my home PCs on the wireless network to synchronize to.
Then Hey Presto! connected to the internet and ActiveSync. Super fast web access but you'll need to be near a power source as the battery will not last too long.
flarondie
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 7:39 pm

Thanks

Postby sledgep » Tue Jan 18, 2005 10:52 am

I will give this a try, of course this driver will only work with a prism usb wifi device? I will have to get one.

thanks again.
sledgep
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 9:31 pm

woo whooo

Postby sledgep » Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:28 pm

I am up and running... that worked great.


Now if I can get MSN to login that would be even better.
sledgep
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 9:31 pm

PPC MSN login problems

Postby flarondie » Tue Feb 15, 2005 5:31 am

You may need to install EUU3

see here
http://www.cewindows.net/bugs/pocketpc2002.htm
flarondie
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 7:39 pm

Only the DWL0122?

Postby junkmail.6.4@ju » Sat Mar 26, 2005 12:15 pm

Is there a way to make Prism work for something other than the DWL-122. I have a gigafast WF741-UIC and I'm trying to make it work. If there is anyone outt there who can help I would be indebted. Thanks.
junkmail.6.4@ju
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 12:11 pm

Postby wrzwaldo » Sat Mar 26, 2005 2:21 pm

junkmail.6.4@ju wrote:Is there a way to make Prism work for something other than the DWL-122. I have a gigafast WF741-UIC and I'm trying to make it work. If there is anyone outt there who can help I would be indebted. Thanks.


Does your WF741-UIC have a Prism chipset?
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Postby junkmail.6.4@ju » Sat Mar 26, 2005 2:44 pm

wrzwaldo wrote:Does your WF741-UIC have a Prism chipset?


I'm not sure, how can I tell? If it isn't is there something else I can use?
junkmail.6.4@ju
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 12:11 pm

Postby wrzwaldo » Sat Mar 26, 2005 5:44 pm

Does it have an FCC ID #?

Also note that a little searching goes a long way!

http://www.netstumbler.org/showthread.php?t=10380
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

USB to Serial

Postby CyberJinx » Thu Jun 22, 2006 6:50 am

sledgep wrote:I am looking for a way to get 802.11 wireless on my e330, I have a usb hosts cable, and a usb to serial adapter that works. I have found that usb wireless devices running the prism 2.5 chipset will work, but out of the 3 cards i found, they are all in the UK. Has anyone else had any luck getting wifi on there e330

thanks


Can I ask which USB to Serial adapter you are using. I am trying to connect a Garmin GPS to my e400's USB host adapter
CyberJinx
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 6:05 am

Postby theprez98 » Thu Jun 22, 2006 7:05 am

CyberJinx wrote:Can I ask which USB to Serial adapter you are using. I am trying to connect a Garmin GPS to my e400's USB host adapter

Replying to threads that are over a year old is generally not good practice. If you had read the FAQs you probably would have come across that somewhere...
[font="Courier New"]"\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";[/font]
User avatar
theprez98
 
Posts: 3638
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 8:23 pm
Location: Maryland

Postby Dutch » Thu Jun 22, 2006 9:40 am

Klaatu Veratuu Necktie...

Dutch
All your answers are belong to Google. SEARCH DAMMIT!
Warning. Warning.
Low C8H10N4O2 level detected. Operator halted....
User avatar
Dutch
 
Posts: 6698
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: City of Mermaids, Denmark


Return to Pocket PC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests