Master script for NetStumbler 0.4

Take a script, leave a script - Like the penny tray only different

Postby godrick » Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:28 am

The device is a Fortuna Clip-On (Bluetooth). Various PDA tools confirm that there is a fix and it gives 0 co-ordinates until it has a fix. Yes, the signal isn't strong, but it shows the correct place on Tomtom and Pocket Streets / Mappoint maps. Which script do I need to look in?
godrick
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 11:34 am

Postby goldfndr » Sun Nov 21, 2004 10:39 pm

In "ns04settings.vbs", increase TellNoGPS - maybe to 20.

It appears to be doing double duty for both how often it tells you about a lack of GPS state and how it determines a lack of GPS state - I'll need to rethink that.

In other news, threading is nearly complete - just needs autostart/autostop and more testing.
goldfndr
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 3:30 am
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA

Postby goldfndr » Wed Nov 24, 2004 10:23 am

New update, with speech in a separate thread. Hopefully it's Just In Time for travel (Thanksgiving and Black Friday in USA).

Currently it's enabled for debugging.

One outstanding issue is that it leaves the speech thread highly visible and only stops it if you explicitly disable Scanning. I thought that OnEnableScan and OnDisableScan would be called on startup/shutdown, but that doesn't appear to be the case; sorry!

Also, since it spawns SNDREC32 to play WAVs, I have it backing up and restoring the current Open and Close event WAVs in case you have sounds when you start/stop applications. I've no idea if this is WinXP-specific. One can save a sound scheme before testing.

Please send bug reports. I'm especially interested in whether anyone has gotten it working with DiGLE or one of Musatcha's utilities (GPSd, WiFiMapping) - I haven't yet been successful with DiGLE on my own.
goldfndr
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 3:30 am
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA

Postby FLECOM » Sat Dec 25, 2004 1:07 am

Ok I would really love to use this script, but im having a heck of a time getting it to work...

I dropped it into my NetStumbler folder and created the Cicons and placed the icons inside of Cicons... I am using the following config...

Code: Select all
'This file is designed to be GlobalExecute'd into the master script
'It contains all settings


'************ Master User Configurable Switches ************
'***********************************************************
'Mapping software; pick one?
UseMappoint = True   '***** Mappoint:  This overrides DropCrumbs and TrackVehicle
UseDiGLE = False   '***** DiGLE:  Free mapping utility; see WiGLE.net; also Musatcha's software


'***** Speech:  Speak names of networks in view
UseSpeech = False


'***** Sounds:  ' Non-speech audio - if using speech this may trigger if no new ssids to say
UseAudio = True


'***** SignalStrength:  MIDI obsoletes this; True if you want varying signal strength sounds
      'if using speech it might trigger if there are no new ssids to say, and UseAudio = True
UseSignalStr = True


'***********************************************************
'****************End of master switches*********************
'***********************************************************


RunDefs


'***********************************************************
'***********************************************************
if UseMappoint then
'***********************************************************
'***** Beginning of Mappoint-specific settings
'***********************************************************

      'Do you want to use a default map?
const UseDefaultMap = True

      'self explanatory - only used if UseDefaultMap is True
const DefaultMapLocation = "C:\stumbling\Map.ptm"

      'True to delete the last vehicle location and/or last track - only if using default map
const delLastLoc = True
const delLasttrack = True


When I launch NetStumbler I get the NetStumbler splash screen, MapPoint opens with the map specified in the settings. Then MapPoint starts using 100% of my CPU and NetStumbler hangs... If I kill MapPoint, NetStumbler stays frozen and i have to kill it also...

The script works fine if I disable map-point (sounds etc) but I would really like to have the live position tracking/ap's on the map working correctly :)
FLECOM
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 2:08 am

Script Errors out in dos window

Postby brentc » Mon Jan 03, 2005 12:56 pm

I downloaded the 20041124.zip
I made a folder under C:\Program Files\Network Stumbler\masterscript
I put the scripts in there. Then pointed NetStumbler to ns04master.vbs
I Edited the ns04settings.vbs to use MapPoint insted of DiGLE

When I fire up the script, Mappoint opens up as it should, the script says it's using Microsoft Sam (Voice), a dos window opens up with the following error.

C:\Program Files\Network Stumbler\masterscript\ns04thread.vbs(48, 24) Microsoft VBScript runtime error: Path not found :eek:

Any advice? :confused:
brentc
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 8:46 pm

Postby wrzwaldo » Mon Jan 03, 2005 1:16 pm

brentc wrote:C:\Program Files\Network Stumbler\masterscript\ns04thread.vbs(48, 24) Microsoft VBScript runtime error: Path not found :eek:

Any advice? :confused:



What version of windows? Is the script engine installed?
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Postby brentc » Mon Jan 03, 2005 1:51 pm

wrzwaldo wrote:What version of windows? Is the script engine installed?


Yeah sure is. I'm running WindowsXP SP2.
Never had this error with other scripts.
The odd thng is that the script that it says it can't find is exactly where t is looking.

-Brent
brentc
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 8:46 pm

I figured it out

Postby brentc » Tue Jan 04, 2005 11:26 am

brentc wrote:Yeah sure is. I'm running WindowsXP SP2.
Never had this error with other scripts.
The odd thng is that the script that it says it can't find is exactly where t is looking.

-Brent


Well with other scripts thus far I have been able to run them no problem from other directories other than the base NS directory for organizatonal purpoeses. This one seems to be the exception. After puttng them in the base NS directory it all seems to work fine :)
brentc
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 8:46 pm

Postby schroederzone » Wed Feb 02, 2005 6:49 pm

brentc wrote:
I Edited the ns04settings.vbs to use MapPoint insted of DiGLE


Dumb question, but how do I do this?
Sorry, don't know much about scripts. But trying to learn. :confused:
schroederzone
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 5:44 pm

Postby streaker69 » Wed Feb 02, 2005 6:58 pm

schroederzone wrote:Dumb question, but how do I do this?
Sorry, don't know much about scripts. But trying to learn. :confused:


Uh, do what?
Treat your gun like your genitals, only whip it out when it's absolutely necessary.
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

script error

Postby schroederzone » Wed Feb 02, 2005 7:14 pm

OK I'm trying to use the master script. But it's not working for me. I did some searching and I'm not sure what to do with this script. Do I need to edit this script? If so where. (be gentle I'm new to scripts) I've done some searching but haven't been getting any clear cut answers.

Ive been trying to run it but get this error:

Microsoft (R) Windows Script Host Version 5.6
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation 1996-2001. All rights reserved.

C:\Program Files\Network Stumbler\ns04thread.vbs(48, 24) Microsoft VBScript runt
ime error: Path not found

What have I done wrong?
Thanks
schroederzone
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 5:44 pm

Postby streaker69 » Wed Feb 02, 2005 7:23 pm

Do you have Map Point installed?
Treat your gun like your genitals, only whip it out when it's absolutely necessary.
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Postby schroederzone » Wed Feb 02, 2005 7:26 pm

yep sure do
schroederzone
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 5:44 pm

Postby Scruge » Thu Feb 03, 2005 5:43 am

brentc wrote:Yeah sure is. I'm running WindowsXP SP2.
Never had this error with other scripts.
The odd thng is that the script that it says it can't find is exactly where t is looking.

-Brent

I've had this exact problem with sp2 as well.. Scripts that ran in ealier XP versions stopped running after SP2. The problem was the file format the script was saved in. Try using notepad to save as a different file format.. I don't remember which worked "Unicode or ansi", but I do know the system error was "File not found" even though it was right there in plain sight.
User avatar
Scruge
 
Posts: 1399
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 3:29 pm

Postby Swipular » Thu Feb 03, 2005 3:18 pm

I just ran into this same problem.

The script is looking for the WAV directory which does not exist.

If you create a directory named WAV in your net stumbler directory the error should go away.

Swip
Swipular
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 3:33 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests