Master script for NetStumbler 0.4

Take a script, leave a script - Like the penny tray only different

Postby wrzwaldo » Fri Jun 10, 2005 8:08 am

mandalek wrote:This is a great script, thanks to everyone working on it. I do have a couple of questions...

1) can you run more than one mapping program at the same time with this script?

2) what is the chance that someone will add the code for TOPO?

Thanks

Matt


[run google check]
There is a MapPoint Topo out?
[/run google check]
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Postby Chillout » Sun Jun 12, 2005 3:57 am

Maybe it's a dumb question, but is it possible to have something like combined data with this script?

For instance: When I drive trough my street, at a certain location, I get the first bleeps from my AP (moment 1). When I pass my house, signal strenght gets lower until the signal is lost (moment 2).

When I drive trough the streets around my house, it starts showing up and disappearing in the same way (for instance, moment 3 and 4).

Is it possible to use this data to connect these locations, so you can draw an area where there's an actual signal from a certain SSID? This way it would be possible to identify where you 'blind spots', etc.

I've seen this being done in Airmagnet:
click for screenshot
Chillout
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 10:57 pm

Finally an update

Postby goldfndr » Thu Jun 30, 2005 8:01 pm

Hopefully in time for July holidays, here's yet another update. See the first post for the summary of what's changed.

Although I added ragmanii's code (with some extra variety - you can choose a circle instead of a square by making the setting negative) and I think it's probably good, I don't have Mappoint so I haven't actually tested it. My apologies to all if I broke anything, but if I did, I'd be interested in any usable bug reports.

Some of the settings changed from boolean to integer to allow more choice, so upgraders please perform a comparision between the old ns04settings.vbs and the new one.
goldfndr
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 3:30 am
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA

Postby Dutch » Thu Jun 30, 2005 9:17 pm

Chillout wrote:Maybe it's a dumb question, but is it possible to have something like combined data with this script?

For instance: When I drive trough my street, at a certain location, I get the first bleeps from my AP (moment 1). When I pass my house, signal strenght gets lower until the signal is lost (moment 2).

When I drive trough the streets around my house, it starts showing up and disappearing in the same way (for instance, moment 3 and 4).

Is it possible to use this data to connect these locations, so you can draw an area where there's an actual signal from a certain SSID? This way it would be possible to identify where you 'blind spots', etc.

I've seen this being done in Airmagnet:
click for screenshot

Not at the moment, but take a look at kismet and the included gpsmap program, on *nix, which can do exactly what you are asking for.

Dutch
All your answers are belong to Google. SEARCH DAMMIT!
Warning. Warning.
Low C8H10N4O2 level detected. Operator halted....
User avatar
Dutch
 
Posts: 6698
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: City of Mermaids, Denmark

Postby smashed » Fri Jul 29, 2005 11:00 am

I tried this script out, but the MapPoint integration does not work. It just puts me in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean. The original script by marius however does work. Any ideas?
smashed
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 9:41 pm

Postby goldfndr » Fri Aug 05, 2005 10:33 pm

Obvious question: did you set UseMappoint to True in ns04settings.vbs? Did you look at the other settings in ns04settings.vbs?

If you did set it to True, try running it without Mappoint open and see if it starts Mappoint. If it doesn't, try the older versions (setting UseMappoint to True in each, of course) and tell me which version broke things. If it does start Mappoint, try setting UseDefaultMap to True and changing DefaultMapLocation to files that do or don't exist, see if you get any alerts.

I haven't gotten much in the way of complaints, but I made a few optimizations in the 6/30 update that could've been bad - the code compiles, but since I've never had a copy of Microsoft Mappoint I've been working somewhat blindly.
goldfndr
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 3:30 am
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA

Postby Sweex » Sat Aug 06, 2005 5:32 pm

First the most important part: Thank you very very much goldfndr for putting so much time and effort in making a decent/great script everyone can use!.

I do have to state that user 'Smashed' is correct in the fact we get warped back to the middle of the ocean (MS mappoint Europe 2004).

I did set use MP to True (and it opens fine). I set a defaultmap on the location where I live (and the GPS should lock into) but as soon as mappoint loads, it shows the default-map (zoomed in, just like I saved it) for a split second and then warps back to the middle of the ocean... I do hear the GPS fix/AP's called out loud.

If you enter a "false" default map location MP just gives an error and quits.

I did have a starting location (street/nr/country) + true to start at that location = still ocean
Also with lock on start location "False" = still ocean


I'm not a VBS editor/wizz but I'll try to see what I can do to test/change settings.

Again, thank you for all the time and effort spend on this great script.
Sweex
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 8:31 am

Postby madd » Tue Aug 09, 2005 12:33 pm

no errors, code configured for my setup....


Why does it not put anything on my mappoint ?
madd
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 12:13 pm

Postby wrzwaldo » Tue Aug 09, 2005 12:55 pm

madd wrote:no errors, code configured for my setup....


Why does it not put anything on my mappoint ?


What GPS are you using?

http://www.netstumbler.org/showthread.php?t=13576
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Postby streaker69 » Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:09 pm

madd wrote:no errors, code configured for my setup....


Why does it not put anything on my mappoint ?


I don't know, how many pancakes does it take to shingle a dog house?
Treat your gun like your genitals, only whip it out when it's absolutely necessary.
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Postby beakmyn » Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:28 pm

streaker69 wrote:I don't know, how many pancakes does it take to shingle a dog house?


This has already been discussed maybe next time you could search first.


@ the users that are having problems:
Are your regional settings in Windows set United States/English?
beakmyn
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:53 pm

Postby wrzwaldo » Tue Aug 09, 2005 6:41 pm

@ madd

You do have a GPS don't you?
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Postby goldfndr » Tue Aug 09, 2005 10:15 pm

Sweex: while I thank you for the credit, I don't deserve that much - I didn't "make" it, I've merely added to the original. Numerous changes (over 50% more code), but I couldn't've done it without the initial code.

Sweex, smashed:
I made three significant changes to the Mappoint code:
  • Radians calculated somewhat differently
  • CentreVehicle functionality changed
  • place setting (heh) only used if MotionPushpins("Last Location") errs

My guess is that it's the CentreVehicle functionality. Please try setting CentreVehicle to 0 or False and see if that makes a difference; if so then try a positive value (pixel square) and/or negative value (pixel radius) and see if that functionality works at all. I'm guessing I missed something when I re-implemented ragmanii's code.

If that fails to cure it then please tell me what the GPS coordinates of the "middle of the Atlantic Ocean" placement are; maybe I can figure it out from there. And please also try the previous version (20041124), see if that works for you.
goldfndr
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 3:30 am
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA

Postby madd » Wed Aug 10, 2005 7:50 am

wrzwaldo wrote:@ madd

You do have a GPS don't you?




... doh.

No I dont.

Any suggested GPS that would be best?
madd
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 12:13 pm

Postby theprez98 » Wed Aug 10, 2005 7:51 am

madd wrote:... doh.

No I dont.

Any suggested GPS that would be best?




Anything that supports NMEA.
Attachments
doh.jpg
doh.jpg (22.96 KiB) Viewed 1293 times
[font="Courier New"]"\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";[/font]
User avatar
theprez98
 
Posts: 3638
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 8:23 pm
Location: Maryland

PreviousNext

Return to Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron