WiGLE WiFi Database to Google Earth Script

Take a script, leave a script - Like the penny tray only different

WiGLE WiFi Database to Google Earth Script

Postby irongeek » Thu Mar 01, 2007 9:03 am

IGiGLE: Irongeek's WiGLE WiFi Database to Google Earth Client for Wardrive Mapping

A little app I wrote that lets you directly import data from the online WiGLE WiFi Wardrive database into a KML file, then view it in Google Earth.

http://www.irongeek.com/i.php?page=security/igigle-wigle-wifi-to-google-earth-client-for-wardrive-mapping

Hope someone finds it useful. The code is real ugly right now, but with some more time... If you have ideas for more functions let me know.
irongeek
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 5:57 pm

Postby Scruge » Thu Mar 01, 2007 3:10 pm

irongeek wrote:IGiGLE: Irongeek's WiGLE WiFi Database to Google Earth Client for Wardrive Mapping

A little app I wrote that lets you directly import data from the online WiGLE WiFi Wardrive database into a KML file, then view it in Google Earth.

http://www.irongeek.com/i.php?page=security/igigle-wigle-wifi-to-google-earth-client-for-wardrive-mapping

Hope someone finds it useful. The code is real ugly right now, but with some more time... If you have ideas for more functions let me know.


Slick!

Are there any tricks for making queries of greater than 60k WAPs or making a query based on "Last Updated"?
User avatar
Scruge
 
Posts: 1399
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 3:29 pm

Postby Mark57 » Thu Mar 01, 2007 3:24 pm

irongeek wrote:IGiGLE: Irongeek's WiGLE WiFi Database to Google Earth Client for Wardrive Mapping

A little app I wrote that lets you directly import data from the online WiGLE WiFi Wardrive database into a KML file, then view it in Google Earth.

http://www.irongeek.com/i.php?page=security/igigle-wigle-wifi-to-google-earth-client-for-wardrive-mapping

Hope someone finds it useful. The code is real ugly right now, but with some more time... If you have ideas for more functions let me know.


Sounds great. I'll check it out as soon as I get back home.

Scruge, I'm on a real slow hotel WiFi link or I'd try it but what does it do if you request the same area multiple times?
Mark57
 
Posts: 1204
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 9:17 am
Location: OKC

Postby irongeek » Thu Mar 01, 2007 3:27 pm

You should be able to query an area more than once. For areas with lots of WAPs I may have to add a function to break up the queries into consecutive areas.
irongeek
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 5:57 pm

Postby systemd0wn » Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:09 pm

so far its working great for me. Love your work irongeek, always like to see something new in your RSS feed. keep it up.
Systemd0wn
'311 Transistor, its a lightning resistor'
systemd0wn
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 6:24 am
Location: Illinois

Postby systemd0wn » Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:06 pm

Doesnt seem to work in WINE... linux version soon?
Systemd0wn
'311 Transistor, its a lightning resistor'
systemd0wn
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 6:24 am
Location: Illinois

Postby irongeek » Wed Mar 07, 2007 3:46 am

Not likely as Autoit is windows only (it uses IE in the background to get the files). The source code is included, so I guess it could be ported into Phython.
irongeek
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 5:57 pm

Postby systemd0wn » Wed Mar 07, 2007 6:40 am

psh... thanks but i wont be doing that anytime soon. :)
Systemd0wn
'311 Transistor, its a lightning resistor'
systemd0wn
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 6:24 am
Location: Illinois

Postby gm2net » Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:09 pm

I wrote a similar script in Python that runs on Windows, Linux and OS X. I'll give it a few more features, then release it. (at the moment, it queries for SSIDs/BSSIDs, not areas, but it's very easy to change).
gm2net
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 12:49 am

Postby ben_b » Sun Mar 25, 2007 10:07 pm

I'm getting a "Could not get data from server. Check that your..." message when I do a 0.2 variance on the zip code 89102. It works fine when I do a smaller variance. Also does it get more than the first 1000 networks?
ben_b
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:24 pm


Return to Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron