Best GPSs for NetStumbling

Post info/pics about your rigs that you use for stumbling!

What GPS would you suggest?

Garmin etrex Basic about $120
26
18%
Garmin etrex Legend about $200 $50 rebate
48
33%
Magellan 750nav about $1400 new PRICY
3
2%
Magellan 315 Suggest Retail Price $169
8
5%
PC Only?
7
5%
Handheld?
10
7%
USB?
19
13%
Serial?
11
8%
This USB GPS for $99 - PCOnly - [url]http://www.deluo.com/Merchant2/merc...ategory_Code=GR[/url]
14
10%
 
Total votes : 146

HOLUX GM-210

Postby [USR]Lange » Thu Mar 06, 2003 5:29 am

dont believe them - just believe me :)

the HOLUX Gm-210 is the BEST DGPS Receiver existing for wardriving and warwalking.

you can mount it anywhere you want. under your clothes (as i do) on the hood of your car - just anywhere. you can plug it into your notebook/pc via usb or direct to your serial port or your ipaq. There also addons available as a batpack.

also it works 100% independent against those "usual" gps receivers. you dont have to configure it just give some power and it works (coldstart max 2min).

GREAT!

dont believe the hype

Simon
[USR]Lange
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2002 7:41 am
Location: Lueneburg /Germany

BUT

Postby jgb1503 » Thu Mar 06, 2003 6:29 am

It doesn't do one of the main things I am looking for

It isn't a stand alone unit (doesn't have a built in display)


;-(
No trees were harmed in the sending of this message.... Although, quite a few electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
jgb1503
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 10:19 am

Hmm

Postby jgb1503 » Thu Mar 06, 2003 6:39 am

Looks like it is getting awesome reviews though..

I would like a BT option, just so I don't have to deal with cables and such.. to bad they don't have that...

Will have to keep my eye on that one though.

thanks!

anymore??

jb
No trees were harmed in the sending of this message.... Although, quite a few electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
jgb1503
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 10:19 am

Postby kacerdias » Thu Mar 06, 2003 11:11 am

Give the Gecko 201 a try. I'm loving mine. I've seen them online for $130 or so before. Makes a great stand-alone GPS too.
kacerdias
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2002 5:35 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Hmmm

Postby jgb1503 » Thu Mar 06, 2003 8:21 pm

As I am reading up on them more, and exploring what it is that I want to do with them...

I really would need the built in display...

AND as I think about it, I would REALLY need the bluetooth option. As i would need this to be connected to 1-4 devices at a time....


Hmmm......

I only found one so far, and it didn't seem that had BT and visual display, and I wasn't to impressed with it... Of course i can't find the link now, but when I do i will post it...

anyone?? anyone?? bueller?? bueller??
jb
No trees were harmed in the sending of this message.... Although, quite a few electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
jgb1503
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 10:19 am

Re: Hmmm

Postby [USR]Lange » Fri Mar 07, 2003 3:38 am

Originally posted by jgb1503
AND as I think about it, I would REALLY need the bluetooth option. As i would need this to be connected to 1-4 devices at a time....

BT 1.x allows ONLY peer2peer connections. NOT multipeer-connections.

wait for BT2.x which should allow multipeer-connections.

regards

Simon
PS: I know its offtopic, but does sumone know an ipaq software which offers virtualcomports for ONE existing comport so i can use the gps on com port with TOMTOMs GPS AND MINISTUMBLER at the same time? regards Simon
[USR]Lange
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2002 7:41 am
Location: Lueneburg /Germany

Topic

Postby jgb1503 » Fri Mar 07, 2003 3:45 am

So is there any way at present to hookup a GPS to more then ONE unit?? (prefereably 3 units, but will settle for two)

If i have BT, can't I then hookup a laptop via a usb/serial cable??? and use the BT for my iPAQ?? not the best solution I had in mind, but not 'that' unworkable..

I need to get something within the next week or so (its work related), so prolly can't wait for bt 2.x to come out....

And I would also be curious in the answer to your question. As on my laptop I would want to have the GPS dropping information to a mapping program to track my location, and at the same time dropping it to NS...
No trees were harmed in the sending of this message.... Although, quite a few electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
jgb1503
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 10:19 am

Ok

Postby jgb1503 » Sun Mar 09, 2003 8:11 am

Probably a n00b question here..

It looks like 1 GPS unit isn't going to do what I need/want.

SO, I might be considering getting two of them. On e a tiny BT enabled reciever, and One a BT enabled with onscreen display.

Question I have is, this will all be running at once (to utilize with 2 laptops, one runing NS and one running Kismet and my iPAQ h5455.)... Will the 2 BT devices interfere with each other?? Or with my Wifi detection????

(Thanks for all your help people!)

jb
No trees were harmed in the sending of this message.... Although, quite a few electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
jgb1503
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 10:19 am

Postby [USR]Lange » Sun Mar 09, 2003 8:20 am

two of them? guess you got too much money. what about sending me a check? :)

well, at least - NOPE they wont interfere with eachother

hf
[USR]Lange
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2002 7:41 am
Location: Lueneburg /Germany

Hahaha

Postby jgb1503 » Sun Mar 09, 2003 4:06 pm

I wish it was for personal use. But alas, its for work..

Got a small budget, but i see some of them are like under 200$ and one is like 300$... so 500$ for two... i think i might be able to talk work into getting both of them - it will achieve the goal..

Unless, as asked before, anyone knows how to hook ONE gps system (with BT built in) to 3 devices??? (the BT would be synched with my IPAQ, and I have 2 laptops....)... cable splitter or anything???

jb
No trees were harmed in the sending of this message.... Although, quite a few electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
jgb1503
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 10:19 am

Another ?

Postby jgb1503 » Sun Mar 09, 2003 7:54 pm

This ability I have been reading about (and want) for the GPS unit to actually TRACK where u are on a map, and have it move with you, is that the hardware?? Or is it a software based solution??

(i.e. can i do it with any GPS as long as I have the appropriate software???)
No trees were harmed in the sending of this message.... Although, quite a few electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
jgb1503
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 10:19 am

Re: Another ?

Postby [USR]Lange » Sun Mar 09, 2003 7:58 pm

Originally posted by jgb1503
(i.e. can i do it with any GPS as long as I have the appropriate software???)


ACK
[USR]Lange
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2002 7:41 am
Location: Lueneburg /Germany

Postby beauvoir » Mon May 31, 2004 5:31 am

How accurate is the extrex GPS in the UK? & Does it work in the UK?!Available Here?
beauvoir
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 6:48 am

Postby The Others » Mon May 31, 2004 5:42 am

beauvoir wrote:How accurate is the extrex GPS in the UK? & Does it work in the UK?!Available Here?


A GPS is just as accurate wherever you are in the world]www.expansys.co.uk[/url]
all good ends all

?u=273
User avatar
The Others
 
Posts: 2910
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 7:27 am
Location: Dos Palabras, Mandoras

Postby King_Ice_Flash » Mon May 31, 2004 6:51 am

Way to dig this one up from the dead. You won't have the detailed maps, you will have to buy the mapsource software for your country.
"Yeah," said a voice from under the table, "you go to pieces so fast people get hit by the shrapnel."
User avatar
King_Ice_Flash
 
Posts: 2658
Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 11:00 am
Location: WI

PreviousNext

Return to Stumbling Setups

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests