Laptops being used

Post info/pics about your rigs that you use for stumbling!

My Set Up

Postby yogurtnutter » Wed Nov 09, 2005 6:49 am

I am new but happy:) ok I have an acer Travel mate 525Txv 128mb Ram 9(ish) Gig of H/disk runniing win98.. (32 mins and I will have Suse v 9.3) (dual booting ) I am using a usb B dongle (fcc id PANWL 1207) netstumbler does not work on the dongle but it has a site scan software which works. for fun yesterday i put it in to a pringles tin.. found more ap's ;) I also have on loan a higrade laptop with a belkin B+G card in it running xp (stumbler works lovely) all i need now is a card for the acer and a better aerial. Will post a pic tomorrow of my acer and pringles cantenna
yogurtnutter
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 6:17 am
Location: London U.K

Postby wrzwaldo » Wed Nov 09, 2005 9:01 am

[quote="yogurtnutter"]I am new but happy:) ok I have an acer Travel mate 525Txv 128mb Ram 9(ish) Gig of H/disk runniing win98.. (32 mins and I will have Suse v 9.3) (dual booting ) I am using a usb B dongle (fcc id PANWL 1207) netstumbler does not work on the dongle but it has a site scan software which works. for fun yesterday i put it in to a pringles tin.. found more ap's ]


FYI:

NS will not work with your dongle because you need a Hermes based card for Windows 9X.
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Postby streaker69 » Wed Nov 09, 2005 9:40 am

wrzwaldo wrote:FYI:

NS will not work with your dongle because you need a Hermes based card for Windows 9X.


Damn, if only someone were to put that somewhere in a public place where it's easily accessible.

Why is all this important information hidden away. ;)
Treat your gun like your genitals, only whip it out when it's absolutely necessary.
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Postby Schutzengel » Wed Nov 09, 2005 11:42 am

1) HP NC6120

1.8Ghz Centrino
512MB DDR
40 GB HD
WinXP

2) HP NX9010
2.8 GB P4 ( yes, an actual desktop P4, and yes it is hotter than the pit itself)
512 DDR
40GB HD

I will probably dual boot this one.

3) Toshiba Portige' 300
133 Mhz Pentium
32 MB EDO
1.6 GB HD
tiny friggin thing 11 X 1 X 8

will run Linux on this one with an Orinoco Gold Card

I have a box full of the Portige's ( literally ) and probably 5 or 6 orinocos or rebadged orinocos. plus a couple of the proxim a/b/g combocards

so i will be playing with setups for a while.
History does not long entrust the care of freedom to the weak or timid. - IKE

There is no place like 127.0.0.1 - Dorothy
Schutzengel
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 3:39 am
Location: 127.0.0.1

Postby jnse » Sun Nov 27, 2005 9:52 am

Compaq Armada M300
P3 500Mhz
320 MB RAM
12 GB Hd
Linksys WPC54G (works, but i will get an Orinoco card later on)
Win XP PRO
jnse
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 3:42 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby tomd » Thu Dec 01, 2005 7:45 pm

Well, got my laptop about a week ago, and started doing a little wardriving, with the built in Broadcom crap....hope to get an orinoco once funds permit, but college makes ya poor!

HP Pavilion ze2308zm (Walmart $378 one)
Sempron 2800+ (1.6Ghz 256kb)
256MB RAM (soon to add another 512MB)
40GB HD
WinXP only atm due to lack of Broadcom support in Linux.
Garmin eTrex GPS via USB->Serial cable...
tomd
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 10:07 pm

Postby mr110203 » Fri Dec 02, 2005 9:22 am

i do not have a serial port on my laptop, how is it possible to obtain the long/lat readings to show up in NS
I AM SOFA KING WE TODD DID
mr110203
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 4:34 am

Postby streaker69 » Fri Dec 02, 2005 9:23 am

mr110203 wrote:i do not have a serial port on my laptop, how is it possible to obtain the long/lat readings to show up in NS


Get a USB GPS.
Treat your gun like your genitals, only whip it out when it's absolutely necessary.
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Postby Chrish_jr » Sat Feb 04, 2006 3:37 am

My setup is just a Toshiba Tecra 8100 ( 450mhz pentIII, 128mb ram, 10gb hard drive) Windows XP-sp2 and a Sony Ericsson GC79 WiFi/wireless modem from T-mobile.

The laptop I bought for $50 and had to get a battery for $138 and the Card cost me $199 plus $30 a month for unlimited internet access. The card uses a Hermes chipset. I don't have an external antenna as of yet, but I did find out how to add one onto it (the lid is very easy to take off and the U-Fl jacks are right under it.

-Chris
Chrish_jr
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 9:58 pm
Location: SW Michigan

Postby largo » Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:25 pm

i use a IBM thinkpad T42 witha 1.7ghz pentium m, 768mb ram, 80 gb hard drive,XP-SP2, microsoft GPS and a intel pro wireless 2200b/g
largo
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 10:34 am

Postby Airstreamer » Wed Mar 08, 2006 9:15 pm

largo wrote:i use a IBM thinkpad T42 witha 1.7ghz pentium m, 768mb ram, 80 gb hard drive,XP-SP2, microsoft GPS and a intel pro wireless 2200b/g

It has a broken shift key, I assume?:cool:
"But when we disarmed They sold us and delivered us bound to our foe,
And the Gods of the Copybook Headings said: "Stick to the Devil you know.""

- Rudyard Kipling
User avatar
Airstreamer
 
Posts: 2703
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 9:26 pm
Location: A little North of Reason

Postby krazy1 » Fri Mar 10, 2006 12:13 pm

1) Windows Laptop
Gateway 450SX4
WinXP SP2
1.6 GHz P4
512MB RAM
30GB HD
Lucent Orinoco Silver card or Senao NL-2511CD Plus EXT2
BU-303 USB GPS


2)Linux Laptop
IBM T40
Debian 3.1
1.5GHz
768MB RAM
40GB HD
Lucent Orinico Silver or Senao NL-2511CD Plus EXT2
BU-303 USB GPS

I switch back and forth with my wireless cards depending upon what I am doing with each system. Usually the Orinico is in the Gateway and the Senao in the Thinkpad but I do own 2 GPS Antennas so each system can record info. I also have 2 different external antennas for the Senao card.
User avatar
krazy1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 11:53 am
Location: WI

Postby sn00per » Fri Apr 14, 2006 1:39 pm

Chrish_jr wrote:My setup is just a Toshiba Tecra 8100 ( 450mhz pentIII, 128mb ram, 10gb hard drive) Windows XP-sp2 and a Sony Ericsson GC79 WiFi/wireless modem from T-mobile.

The laptop I bought for $50 and had to get a battery for $138 and the Card cost me $199 plus $30 a month for unlimited internet access. The card uses a Hermes chipset. I don't have an external antenna as of yet, but I did find out how to add one onto it (the lid is very easy to take off and the U-Fl jacks are right under it.

-Chris


LoL. I've got a Tecra 8100 as well! Although mine was a freebie hand me down.
550Mhz P3
128Mb Ram
13gig HD
Linksys WPC11 ver3.0 (getting an Orinoco see below)

Xp must run sloooow. Where'd you buy a battery at? I need to buy a 'new' one. Atm I've got a linksys WPC11 v3.0 which I haven't really gotten to work correctly. It only picks up the SSID that the linksys software is set to use. The autoconfigure doesn't really work right. I plan to try some other drivers, but in the meantime I'm picking up an Orinoco from ebay.
User avatar
sn00per
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 6:59 am
Location: Virginia

Postby wrzwaldo » Fri Apr 14, 2006 1:59 pm

sn00per wrote:LoL. I've got a Tecra 8100 as well! Although mine was a freebie hand me down.
550Mhz P3
128Mb Ram
13gig HD
Linksys WPC11 ver3.0 (getting an Orinoco see below)

Xp must run sloooow. Where'd you buy a battery at? I need to buy a 'new' one. Atm I've got a linksys WPC11 v3.0 which I haven't really gotten to work correctly. It only picks up the SSID that the linksys software is set to use. The autoconfigure doesn't really work right. I plan to try some other drivers, but in the meantime I'm picking up an Orinoco from ebay.


More searching and/or reading the documentation will fix that!

Hint: ANY
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Postby itsnotme » Fri Apr 14, 2006 2:30 pm

wrzwaldo wrote:More searching and/or reading the documentation will fix that!

Hint: ANY


An english class would probably help improve his writing skills too. :rolleyes:
User avatar
itsnotme
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2002 10:19 pm
Location: Somewhere below Lake Ontario

PreviousNext

Return to Stumbling Setups

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron