Show Your Wardriving KIT

Post info/pics about your rigs that you use for stumbling!

Postby Starpoint » Fri Mar 18, 2005 3:46 pm

wrzwaldo wrote:I have made a couple of these with good results (without the funnel addon).



Mine are coffee cans with a 6 inch to 4 inch stove pipe. same db gain roughly.

I use pvc to hang em in my SUV
Against the run of the mill, static as it seems

We break the surface tension with our wild kinetic dreams
Curves and lines -- of grand designs...


Tonight's movie "Soylent Green" has been brought to you by our sponsor - Waste Management

My mind is like a Steel trap - Rusty and Illegal in most states
User avatar
Starpoint
 
Posts: 2539
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2003 4:47 pm
Location: Houston

My "gear" + Question

Postby the_gimp » Sat Mar 19, 2005 6:37 am

My "gear" + Question

HP Pavilion DV1000
Airopeak, Airsnort, Netstumbler.

[noob mode] I'm new at this.. Currently (trying) to use a Belkin pcmcia> this does not work with Airopeek. Tried the Realtek drivers but unfortunately. In then case i don't have to try Airsnort. (I know.. using on windowsxp is asking for problems but my linux way of knowing is too poor.
I noticed that almost everybody uses orinoco, netgear and some dlink. But orinoco here in the netherlands it's a bit hard to get. There's one weird dealer with very high prices. At the moment looking @3Com 3CRPAG175 Wireless LAN PC Card.(85EURO's)link WildPackets hardware support tells me that it is supported, but can anyone tell me if it is a good card and works withwith Airsnort??[/noob mode]
the_gimp
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 4:57 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Dutch » Sat Mar 19, 2005 6:54 am

the_gimp wrote:My "gear" + Question

HP Pavilion DV1000
Airopeak, Airsnort, Netstumbler.

[noob mode] I'm new at this.. Currently (trying) to use a Belkin pcmcia> this does not work with Airopeek. Tried the Realtek drivers but unfortunately. In then case i don't have to try Airsnort. (I know.. using on windowsxp is asking for problems but my linux way of knowing is too poor.
I noticed that almost everybody uses orinoco, netgear and some dlink. But orinoco here in the netherlands it's a bit hard to get. There's one weird dealer with very high prices. At the moment looking @3Com 3CRPAG175 Wireless LAN PC Card.(85EURO's)link WildPackets hardware support tells me that it is supported, but can anyone tell me if it is a good card and works withwith Airsnort??[/noob mode]


WTF ?
2 lines deals with the subject of the tread, and the rest has nothing whatsoever to do with Netstumbler, nor with this thread's subject.

See the address field in your webbrowser ? Does it say www.airsnort.com, or www.netstumbler.org ?
If the latter, then take your questions about airsnort to the airsnort support site.

Dutch
All your answers are belong to Google. SEARCH DAMMIT!
Warning. Warning.
Low C8H10N4O2 level detected. Operator halted....
User avatar
Dutch
 
Posts: 6698
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: City of Mermaids, Denmark

Postby the_gimp » Sat Mar 19, 2005 7:11 am

Dutch wrote:WTF ?
2 lines deals with the subject of the tread, and the rest has nothing whatsoever to do with Netstumbler, nor with this thread's subject.

See the address field in your webbrowser ? Does it say http://www.airsnort.com, or http://www.netstumbler.org ?
If the latter, then take your questions about airsnort to the airsnort support site.

Dutch


sorry bout that. I'll ask airsnort. Posted it because this forum had a lot users..
the_gimp
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 4:57 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby wrzwaldo » Sat Mar 19, 2005 7:45 am

the_gimp wrote:sorry bout that. I'll ask airsnort. Posted it because this forum had a lot users..


Dumbass!

http://www.trials-shack.co.uk/posting.html
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Postby the_gimp » Sat Mar 19, 2005 8:01 am



thnx.. pff, chill out dudes. otherwise move this post to hardware questions.. (is it a stupid question!>?>??)
the_gimp
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 4:57 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby wrzwaldo » Sat Mar 19, 2005 8:20 am

the_gimp wrote:thnx.. pff, chill out dudes. otherwise move this post to hardware questions.. (is it a stupid question!>?>??)



No not at all. Just a lazy n00b!
wrzwaldo
 
Posts: 8995
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:43 pm

Postby swtcav99@ » Mon Apr 04, 2005 10:25 pm

http://home.insightbb.com/~swtcav99/Aug10150.JPG
http://home.insightbb.com/~swtcav99/Aug10152.JPG


Heres pics of my ride.


The gear is a HP xt412 1.6ghz celeron
2 classic golds, one a rebrand and a orinoco brand (not used at the same time)
one 7.dBi cheapo antenna (mag mount)
my home made cantenna 15dBi
200 watt power inverter
I also have, but haven't used in a while a D-Link USB adapter
swtcav99@
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 9:31 pm

Postby theprez98 » Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:40 pm

http://www.geocities.com/theprez98/IMG_0681.jpg
http://www.geocities.com/theprez98/IMG_0682.jpg
http://www.geocities.com/theprez98/IMG_0673.jpg

The Jeep is rigged up for the trip. These pics were taken at Mt. Rushmore (as you should be able to make out by the last pic).

First off, when you move, make sure the movers take the ladder so you don't have to strap it to the roof of your Jeep!!!

The GPS is a Magellan Meridian Platinum. I use GPS Gate for NS and Delorme Street Atlas. As you can see in the pic (sort of), the Dell Inspiron 4100 is running NS. Although not shown in the pic, the Orinoco Gold card is also connected to the trusty FAB antenna on the roof. Also in the pic is the Cobra CB and my gym bag of electronic goodies (as well as a loaded 9mm S&W, but that's another story)...

I've also been playing around with USAPhotoMaps but it's pretty finicky.
User avatar
theprez98
 
Posts: 3638
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 8:23 pm
Location: Maryland

Postby Barry » Wed Apr 06, 2005 9:19 pm

Wow dude, 20 minutes and you've already exceeded its allocated data transfer.. :rolleyes:
Never do anything you don't want to explain to the paramedics.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby Scruge » Thu Apr 07, 2005 5:28 am

theprez98 wrote:First off, when you move, make sure the movers take the ladder so you don't have to strap it to the roof of your Jeep!!!



I'm more impressed with how you were able to drive over 15mph with only an elastic bungee cord securing your ladder. :eek:
User avatar
Scruge
 
Posts: 1399
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 3:29 pm

Postby MarkieUSA » Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:08 am

IBM T-40
2 X 200mW SMC 2532W-B EliteConnect, one channel hopping, one on Channel 6
3 x +7 dB Mag mount Omnis on the vehicle roof at three corners, offset angles, (none vertical)
1 x +25 dB Parabolic Waveguide, connected via LM400 low loss flex-cable with N Connectors (ISP/Building grade) pointing rear out the back window to confirm the directional location of a suspect AP within a building, (back up to the vehicle from each flat side to confirm an AP is within)
the wavegude can "see" about 25 miles so it's worthless for wardriving, it's just for confirming AP existinence at a point of presence that I may be assessing, (I work for VeriSign)

GPS Mouse/Puck from eBay

(Attached image has been "photoshop" brightened to see the antenna through tinted glass)
http://mcoley.com/wlansetup.jpg
normally I would use my mustang, but it's too low to the ground for effective war driving discovery or building assessments. A Minivan is good, though the best I've ever used was a Penske truck while moving house once...
Doc, It hurts when IP, and last week I pinged myself and I got a loop back.
MarkieUSA
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2002 7:11 am
Location: Raleigh, NC

Postby streaker69 » Thu Apr 07, 2005 5:45 pm

theprez98 wrote:http://www.geocities.com/theprez98/IMG_0681.jpg
http://www.geocities.com/theprez98/IMG_0682.jpg
http://www.geocities.com/theprez98/IMG_0673.jpg

The Jeep is rigged up for the trip. These pics were taken at Mt. Rushmore (as you should be able to make out by the last pic).

First off, when you move, make sure the movers take the ladder so you don't have to strap it to the roof of your Jeep!!!

The GPS is a Magellan Meridian Platinum. I use GPS Gate for NS and Delorme Street Atlas. As you can see in the pic (sort of), the Dell Inspiron 4100 is running NS. Although not shown in the pic, the Orinoco Gold card is also connected to the trusty FAB antenna on the roof. Also in the pic is the Cobra CB and my gym bag of electronic goodies (as well as a loaded 9mm S&W, but that's another story)...

I've also been playing around with USAPhotoMaps but it's pretty finicky.


Hey, don't forget when you get into the Reading area, if you have some time, let me know we'll do some driving around.
Treat your gun like your genitals, only whip it out when it's absolutely necessary.
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Postby beakmyn » Fri Apr 08, 2005 2:39 am

streaker69 wrote:Hey, don't forget when you get into the Reading area, if you have some time, let me know we'll do some driving around...
...and find some place to dump the body
beakmyn
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:53 pm

Postby Madhadder » Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:41 am

With Summer approaching soon, it might be time for me to finish up the "War biking" project... Perhaps if I ever get around to actually putting it all together, I'll post pix...
Legends may sleep, but they never die!!!!
User avatar
Madhadder
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 5:37 am
Location: Munich, Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Stumbling Setups

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron