Getting kismet to work with speech

Getting kismet to work with speech

Postby bobfunland » Sun May 09, 2010 10:55 am

I've compiled and installed kismet 2010-01-R1 on Ubuntu 10.04 and got it running and working with gpsd and my wlan card. But for some reason the speech/sound isn't working. Both festival and play are installed and working. I've tried switching either speech or sound in both config files and around but nothing has happened. I don't care so much about the sounds but I would like to get the speech working. Here are my current config files:

http://www.spacebison.com/files/kismet_ui.conf
http://www.spacebison.com/files/kismet.conf
http://www.spacebison.com/files/kismet_drone.conf

thanks
[MARQUEE][BLINK]Space Bison: Exploring the Universe[/BLINK][/MARQUEE]
User avatar
bobfunland
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 9:56 pm
Location: in a van, down by the river

Postby renderman » Mon May 10, 2010 2:39 pm

not near a system with Kismet installed, but I seem to recall that the festival paths were differnet in Ubuntu. Might want to check on that. I'll take a look later

I've never found speech terribly useful. The sounds are usually more than enough feedback for me.
User avatar
renderman
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: Anywhere but Utah

Postby streaker69 » Mon May 10, 2010 2:56 pm

renderman wrote:not near a system with Kismet installed, but I seem to recall that the festival paths were differnet in Ubuntu. Might want to check on that. I'll take a look later

I've never found speech terribly useful. The sounds are usually more than enough feedback for me.


People running Kismet with Festival is exactly the reason why I keep an Open AP with an SSID of Uranus.
Treat your gun like your genitals, only whip it out when it's absolutely necessary.
User avatar
streaker69
 
Posts: 11867
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Postby Barry » Mon May 10, 2010 3:28 pm

streaker69 wrote:People running Kismet with Festival is exactly the reason why I keep an Open AP with an SSID of Uranus.


Dude, that's funny.
Never do anything you don't want to explain to the paramedics.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby renderman » Mon May 10, 2010 10:34 pm

Hmm, sat down and tried festival on my laptop and it's not playing nice. You need to install flite at the very least.

I can't even get sounds working and I know for certain that it was working a couple weeks ago, so I'm guessing that something broke in the latest SVN. I'll bug dragorn next time I talk to him
User avatar
renderman
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: Anywhere but Utah

Postby King_Ice_Flash » Wed May 12, 2010 4:12 pm

Could be worse, Mine was set to "RexUranus." In any case, I have the newcore installed on my netbook. I will try to play with it sometime between POR and PCS.
"Yeah," said a voice from under the table, "you go to pieces so fast people get hit by the shrapnel."
User avatar
King_Ice_Flash
 
Posts: 2658
Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 11:00 am
Location: WI

Postby paintballaddict » Wed May 12, 2010 8:23 pm

I suppose mine being set as "GO FUCK YOURSELF" works nicely for this purpose.. :)
_____________________________
MY marker, MY paint, YOUR ASS!!!

GUN CONTROL: using both hands :D

Radio Shack: You've got questions? We have blank stares . . .
User avatar
paintballaddict
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 8:32 pm
Location: Lat: 42.21 Lon: -89.1 Elev: 733

Postby bobfunland » Wed May 12, 2010 10:55 pm

I didn't realize before but between the version I used last and this newer one, there's an option with in the program itself to enable sound/speech instead of manually editing the config file. The sound effects work now when I enabled it though there but the speech still doesn't work even with flite.
[MARQUEE][BLINK]Space Bison: Exploring the Universe[/BLINK][/MARQUEE]
User avatar
bobfunland
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 9:56 pm
Location: in a van, down by the river

Postby brwrdrvr » Thu May 13, 2010 5:51 am

I had speech working in Ubuntu 8.10 running Kismet. I can't remember doing anything special other than following the directions in the Kismet docs. Sorry I can't be of any help to you Bob. I haven't needed Kismet since I started collecting using my Fuze running Wififofum.
Real Linux users write the zeros and ones directly to the hard drive using a refrigerator magnet. ~ bobfunland
User avatar
brwrdrvr
 
Posts: 3381
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 9:26 pm
Location: Capitol City, Louisiana

Postby Barry » Thu May 13, 2010 6:43 pm

bobfunland wrote:I didn't realize before but between the version I used last and this newer one, there's an option with in the program itself to enable sound/speech instead of manually editing the config file. The sound effects work now when I enabled it though there but the speech still doesn't work even with flite.


Fuck me running! I didn't know that menu item was even there! Speech is working on the box now. :rolleyes:
Never do anything you don't want to explain to the paramedics.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby renderman » Mon May 24, 2010 9:18 pm

Dragorn found some bugs where sound/speech would just die. He re-wrote much of the system so it should deal well with wierd shit occuring.

Just tested it and it works fine.
User avatar
renderman
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: Anywhere but Utah

Postby bobfunland » Wed Jun 02, 2010 5:40 pm

Sweet, I'll probably install subversion sometime later and give it a whirl.
[MARQUEE][BLINK]Space Bison: Exploring the Universe[/BLINK][/MARQUEE]
User avatar
bobfunland
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 9:56 pm
Location: in a van, down by the river


Return to Unix/Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron