Help with packet injection

Help with packet injection

Postby bullet_hole » Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:13 pm

I admit I am new to this I have 2 laptops, 2 wireless cards, and 2 "Auditor Disks". I realize theres quite a few questions in here jumbled into one.

My Cards are an orinoco card and a D link dwl-650

Now my good laptop and orinoco card running airsnort, but its been going for weeks and I've only gotten about 480 interesting packets so far.

So I went and studied up on which cards are prism2 based, and bought the dwl-650 with the triangle shaped antenna, just so I could use my second laptop to hopefully inject
packets since I heard that you cannot inject packets with the orinoco cards (correct me if I'm wrong).

I'm stuck right now because I couldn't really figure out how to use any of the packet injection programs in auditor. I viewed the tutorial at http://www.crimemachine.com/Tuts/Flash/wepcracking.html
and tried doing it on my other laptop with the DLink card, but nothing seems to work the same as in the tutorial.

When I begin with the command "ifconfig eth0 up" I get a message that says no such device. same with typing eth1

So on a whim I try "ifconfig wlan0 up" thinking my device might be wlan0 (not sure if it is). and although I'm not sure if it did anything, it didn't give an error message.

so when I go on and try "iwconfig wlan0 mode monitor" I get an error message, set failed operation not supported. I don't get it, this should be a prism2 card (unsure if theres any way to check), I don't know why it won't allow monitor mode.

And that's pretty much where I'm stuck at.

To make a long story short I would appreciate any feedback on what I'm doing wrong, or if theres any other tutorials out there that are good, or even just some easier way for me to inject packets.
bullet_hole

Postby streaker69 » Fri Jan 20, 2006 7:09 pm