Kiswin32 - Kismet for windows in a can!

Postby King_Ice_Flash » Sat Oct 08, 2005 9:24 pm

streaker69 wrote:Careful, you're gonna get Prez and KIF all worked up again.

http://www.daire.org/prbride/040choosing.wav
"Yeah," said a voice from under the table, "you go to pieces so fast people get hit by the shrapnel."
User avatar
King_Ice_Flash
 
Posts: 2658
Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 11:00 am
Location: WI

Postby King_Ice_Flash » Sat Oct 08, 2005 9:27 pm

streaker69 wrote:Careful, you're gonna get Prez and KIF all worked up again.

http://members.aol.com/caspirgost/au/intellect.au
"Yeah," said a voice from under the table, "you go to pieces so fast people get hit by the shrapnel."
User avatar
King_Ice_Flash
 
Posts: 2658
Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 11:00 am
Location: WI

Postby King_Ice_Flash » Wed Oct 12, 2005 8:33 pm

What about using the capture engine from AirSnort or from AiroDump for kismet? wouldn't be possible to write a drone kinda thing for that? I think I would un-install linux if that happened! No more Kannotix NS for me :D
"Yeah," said a voice from under the table, "you go to pieces so fast people get hit by the shrapnel."
User avatar
King_Ice_Flash
 
Posts: 2658
Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 11:00 am
Location: WI

Postby devine » Thu Oct 13, 2005 11:30 am

King_Ice_Flash wrote:What about using the capture engine from AirSnort or from AiroDump for kismet? wouldn't be possible to write a drone kinda thing for that? I think I would un-install linux if that happened! No more Kannotix NS for me :D


Sure, it's certainly possible. Don't have time myself right now, but if anyone's interested in the airodump source just let me know.
devine
 
Posts: 389
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 10:09 am
Location: Paris

Postby goldfndr » Wed Oct 19, 2005 9:45 pm

Now available (admittedly unfinished) is an augmented edition that includes GPS and sounds and text-to-speech. It also includes cgps, so you can see how compatible GPSD is with your system and provide feedback (note: I compiled it with that line commented out, so everyone should be able to get a 3D lock). If you have your WRT54G (or similar drone) providing DHCP, it should fill in the IP address correctly automatically.

ns04kismet has been renamed to kiswinsound - having ns04 in the name just didn't make any sense.

Known issues:
  • The WAV recognition seems to be broken - double spaces seem to be getting parsed as single spaces, and since I'm using two spaces as a delimiter, well...
  • Still depends on regtool, still does only one speech per second.
  • I haven't given myself any credit in any of the text files. :D
Assuming that your computer has working audio (try sndrec32, or better yet install SCBLIB) and speech (in your Control Panel?), it should be good to go. Original instructions (termcap) still apply. I didn't uninstall cygwin, so I apologize if there are any dependencies I missed.
goldfndr
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 3:30 am
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA

Really stuck with Kiswin32

Postby it_group » Sun Oct 23, 2005 8:28 pm

Okay. I'm stuck. I've done a lot of reading and troubleshooting. Still stuck.

Here are *some* of the key things I've done:

I'm using w2k.

I've installed the kiswin32 package as indicated and extracted the .terminfo zip. I have the files currently at C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\.terminfo - now, below that path I have a directory called "c" and then the three cgwin files from terminfo.zip reside in there.

I have tried it as C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\.terminfo\.terminfo\c and also as C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\.terminfo without the "c" directory.

What happens in all cases is that a dos window opens for a milisecond and closes, then a second one does the same after many seconds. I assume this is because something is wrong, and that is the result of no error handling per a snippet in one of the readme files indicating such a thing.

I have both tried the original kismet.conf file unchanged, and I have also tried it with the source defined. The readme seems rather clear that the file need not be changed, and it seems that the vb script will get the ip address to define the source. But after hours of trying everything, and getting kismet to run on the router itself, I had to try that. As was indicated in the readme I used a linux box (the wrt54g, actually) and vi to edit the file.

The computer does have a routable connection to the drone box - as I telnet in from a dos window from the same computer I'm trying to run kiswin on with no problems.

kismet _drone is running and indicates that it is listening. Currently I have it listening to 192.168.1.0/24, and have also had it listening to everything at 0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0 - I've also tried 192.168.0.0/24. (the router is at 192.168.1.1/24)

I have successfully connected a kismet_server running on the same wrt54g to verify that the drone is running and not the problem.

I always get the same result=NFG.

TIA for your direction on this...

-Mark
it_group
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 8:07 pm

Postby it_group » Sun Oct 23, 2005 8:55 pm

Okay...just after posting this I tried installing kiswin32 on another computer and it worked without a hitch.

So, if anyone ever wants to figure out what the problem was for troubleshooting kiswin, I'd be game, otherwise I really don't care as long as it runs on something here, which it does!

-Mark
it_group
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 8:07 pm

Postby renderman » Mon Oct 24, 2005 8:15 am

If you can connect to the drone with another box, it should be working.

The terminfo should be extracted so it's like: C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\.terminfo\c\

Also, double check that the above dir is in your homepath
User avatar
renderman
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: Anywhere but Utah

Postby audit » Mon Oct 24, 2005 9:27 am

Dutch wrote:Ain't that Audit's nieces ?

Dutch


Nah, those are my hunting groupies. They carry my "gear" and keep me warm during deer season.
User avatar
audit
 
Posts: 1945
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 3:00 am
Location: In the Octagon

Postby Dutch » Mon Oct 24, 2005 12:52 pm

audit wrote:Nah, those are my hunting groupies. They carry my "gear" and keep me warm during deer season.

Checks schedule. Yup, it's audits turn to arrange the yearly NS Forum Moderator gettogether.
/Looks in inbox for NS Forum Moderator Deer Hunt invitation, and checks if it is a "Bring Your Own Groupies", or "Groupies Will Be Supplied" event...

Dutch
All your answers are belong to Google. SEARCH DAMMIT!
Warning. Warning.
Low C8H10N4O2 level detected. Operator halted....
User avatar
Dutch
 
Posts: 6698
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: City of Mermaids, Denmark

Postby renderman » Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:58 am

Thanks to Scrudge we have a beta of the Kiswin Windows installer that was foretold at Shmoocon.

It hopefully takes care of installing all the .terminfo stuff that seems to have been an issue for some people. Between this and the Auto-drone install script, if you can't get Kismet running on Windows, you should stop breeding for the sake of all mankind.

If you do experience problems, let me know and we can see about correcting them. A lack of test machines means we don't know everything that can go wrong.

http://www.renderlab.net/projects/wrt54g/kiswin_setup.exe

(CoWF page coming soon)
User avatar
renderman
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: Anywhere but Utah

Postby beakmyn » Fri Mar 17, 2006 12:03 pm

renderman wrote:Thanks to Scrudge we have a beta of the Kiswin Windows installer that was foretold at Shmoocon.

It hopefully takes care of installing all the .terminfo stuff that seems to have been an issue for some people. Between this and the Auto-drone install script, if you can't get Kismet running on Windows, you should stop breeding for the sake of all mankind.

If you do experience problems, let me know and we can see about correcting them. A lack of test machines means we don't know everything that can go wrong.

http://www.renderlab.net/projects/wrt54g/kiswin_setup.exe

(CoWF page coming soon)


Hey, just because it's not working on my Windows machine (I did get it to work on an Ipaq and a WRT so my genes are good)... Actually I still think it's a XP SP1 issue. I'll try it at home and let you know how it goes. Plus my daughter is really cute and smart.

edit:
Worked on XP Home SP2 user is administrator group

No Worky on XP Professional SP1 user is debugger group
beakmyn
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:53 pm

Postby Tuckie » Fri Mar 17, 2006 4:28 pm

lol, renderman your timing is impecible. I just installed it manually last night and got the drone up and running. If you haven't changed it yet there is a typo on your site in the wget line on your site. you have autodrone.sh when it should be auto-drone.sh.

Thanks for all the great work all of you guys have done. Now all that I want to try and get working is a script that I can execute (either remotely, or through the easy-wireless setup button) that will toggle it between a drone and a regular ap.
Tuckie
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 8:34 am

Postby renderman » Fri Mar 17, 2006 5:23 pm

Tuckie wrote:lol, renderman your timing is impecible. I just installed it manually last night and got the drone up and running. If you haven't changed it yet there is a typo on your site in the wget line on your site. you have autodrone.sh when it should be auto-drone.sh.

Thanks for all the great work all of you guys have done. Now all that I want to try and get working is a script that I can execute (either remotely, or through the easy-wireless setup button) that will toggle it between a drone and a regular ap.



Fixed, and thanks for the heads up
User avatar
renderman
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: Anywhere but Utah

Postby faxon2002 » Tue Apr 04, 2006 10:20 am

Thanks to all for the incredible work on this subject. I am not a wardriver or even a noob, infact I have never put any of this to test. Yet the reading is extremely intresting. I'm curious if those using the Kismet drones can use them for anything other than sniffing and IDS? Do they show up on your system as a wireless connection? Do you have to switch cards to do packet injection? Are they limited to communicating with Kismet server only?

Thanks in advance for the answers and your welcome for the stupid questions and subsequent oppurtunity to rip me.
faxon2002
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 10:08 am

PreviousNext

Return to Unix/Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron