Mandrake 8.1

Mandrake 8.1

Postby The Others » Tue May 07, 2002 9:16 am

Hi,
I want to install Mandrake 8.1 but don't really want to spend much money. Can I get away with buying just the first installation CD or do I need to buy both?

Better still, does anyone want to post it to me?
User avatar
The Others
 
Posts: 2910
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 7:27 am
Location: Dos Palabras, Mandoras

Why buy it?

Postby d00p » Tue May 07, 2002 10:12 am

d00p
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 5:43 am

another place

Postby chrislebeck » Tue May 07, 2002 4:21 pm

www.cheapbytes.com

online order/ fast shipping/and cheap!

ordered mine on sunday and it shipped on monday!
chrislebeck
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2002 11:35 am
Location: east, texas

Postby The Others » Wed May 08, 2002 10:28 am

Why buy it?
I think that'll be easier (and quicker, even with posting) than a 600+ meg download.

You're right, cheap bytes sure is cheap, but I think they should stop cost cutting with their calenders - who else read this?:

CheapBytes started operations on January 2, 1996. Yes, we have been in business for over 3 years now.


To say 5 would've impressed me more.

So, do i need both CD's? I need to save my money for a new wireless card.
User avatar
The Others
 
Posts: 2910
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 7:27 am
Location: Dos Palabras, Mandoras

Postby lullabud » Mon May 13, 2002 3:23 pm

if you really want a distro of linux you should be able to find one locally. if nothing else just swing by your local college and see if anybody in the computer labs has a copy sitting around, or wouldn't mind if you downloaded it. you know how those college guys love linux... =)
User avatar
lullabud
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2002 5:22 pm
Location: Silicon Valley

Mandrake 8.2

Postby chrislebeck » Mon May 13, 2002 3:41 pm

love it! was trying to run 7.1.

samba is a whole lot easier to set up windows shares!

i don't really have a college "close" by. nearest one is 30min away. so $10 was ok for me to spend. and i'm pounding on my dsl to "try" and get a "current" insect movie instead of getting linux.
chrislebeck
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2002 11:35 am
Location: east, texas

Postby lullabud » Mon May 13, 2002 3:57 pm

yes yes, samba rocks the casbah.
User avatar
lullabud
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2002 5:22 pm
Location: Silicon Valley

Re: Mandrake 8.2

Postby Pecos » Tue May 14, 2002 11:03 am

Originally posted by chrislebeck
love it! was trying to run 7.1.

samba is a whole lot easier to set up windows shares!

i don't really have a college "close" by. nearest one is 30min away. so $10 was ok for me to spend. and i'm pounding on my dsl to "try" and get a "current" insect movie instead of getting linux.


Spiders are arachnids. ;)
Pecos
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:57 am
Location: Northwest Burbs of Chi-Town

whatever

Postby chrislebeck » Tue May 14, 2002 1:40 pm

spiders...bugs...things u squish...all the same

:p
chrislebeck
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2002 11:35 am
Location: east, texas

What happened?

Postby g0tr00t » Tue May 14, 2002 6:04 pm

Originally posted by d00p
http://www.linuxiso.org


The site seems to have disappeared. I grabbed the Mandrake ISO's last night and went to check for he checksums and its gone.

I found the checksums on Google groups.
g0tr00t

"Its all fun and games until someone gets killed."
User avatar
g0tr00t
 
Posts: 352
Joined: Thu May 02, 2002 5:01 pm
Location: r00ting y0ur b0x.

Postby TIntruder » Tue May 14, 2002 7:54 pm

they are still there but because of the recent release of RedHat 7.3 the site is really slow.

I'm currently on my 20th hour of downloading CD#2!!!

Try again!
TIntruder
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu May 02, 2002 11:15 am
Location: Oregon

I've done it!

Postby The Others » Wed May 15, 2002 12:59 am

Hi,
I've got myself mandrake 8.2 now off the front of a linux mag.

It wasn't the 8.1 that I wanted but I though £5.99 for a magazine and mandrake? I can't go wrong.

Well, actually I could.

The last distro I installed was redhat 7 that installed perfectly onto my desktop with some partitionless install system. Great i thought, my laptops got 5gb of free space, I'll do the same there.

Unfortunatly I couldn't do a partitionless install (I don't know if its just a redhat thing or what) so I resized my FAT partition. With this at its smallest and the most basic linux packages I would still only be left with 1 - 2 megs of free linux space.

So I didn't bother.

So I had to decide whether to wipe windoze and go just for mandrake or leave it as it is.

I left it.

:(
User avatar
The Others
 
Posts: 2910
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 7:27 am
Location: Dos Palabras, Mandoras

The Others

Postby g0tr00t » Wed May 15, 2002 4:21 am

I just installed Mandrake 8.2 on my laptop. I have the Orinoco card, I know very little about Linux, but I will be trying to get my Orinoco card to work with Kismet.

I will keep you posted on my results.
g0tr00t

"Its all fun and games until someone gets killed."
User avatar
g0tr00t
 
Posts: 352
Joined: Thu May 02, 2002 5:01 pm
Location: r00ting y0ur b0x.

Postby The Others » Wed May 15, 2002 5:28 am

Hi,
Thanks, that'd be great. I'm no expert either but I'm sure if we both try it it'll all work fine.
I'll let you know when I get any success.
User avatar
The Others
 
Posts: 2910
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 7:27 am
Location: Dos Palabras, Mandoras

Postby Maliciousturnip » Fri May 31, 2002 12:45 pm

I just installed Mandrake 8.2 on my Laptop aswell. Been having a time getting this linksys wpc11 to work with kismet. If im near an AP and i run iwconfig it will atleast give me signal strength and what not but kismet doesnt seem to pick anything up. Any idea's?
im thinking about trying RH 7.3.
BTW im a 4 week old Linux new born heh.
Maliciousturnip
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 12:22 pm
Location: Rancho Cucamonga

Next

Return to Unix/Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest