Monitor mode *success* Kismet kicking my butt

Monitor mode *success* Kismet kicking my butt

Postby tomjones » Wed Aug 07, 2002 10:17 am

Hello,

OK, two days, no eating, no sleeping and what do I have to show for it???? My Orinoco card is now in monitor mode...worth it.

Now I'm working on Kismet.

went to /usr/src/kismet-2.4.6

./configure
make dep
make install

edited kismet.conf (did not find it in /usr/local/etc/kismet.conf even after a default install...instead, found it in /usr/src/kismet-2.4.6/conf/kismet.conf) so I copied the file to the correct directory and edited. the only change I made was to change:
cardtype=cisco
to
cardtype=orinoco

(also changed gps=true to jps=false since I'm not using it)

I'm a little lost as far as how to get it up and running now. Tried everything.

The only thing I can get to work is if I go to the kismet-2.4.6 directory and type ./kismet_hopper
It then goes into "Hopping 3 channels per second...."

I open a new window and type "kismet" and get "bash: kismet: command not found"

Not sure what else to try. Help is greatly appreciated.
tomjones
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 9:05 am

Postby sauerc » Wed Aug 07, 2002 10:35 am

What OS are you using?

did you try a find / -name "kismet" -print ?

I've never seen ./configure; make dep; make install for userland software .... usually it's ./configure; make; make install

-Christian
sauerc
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2002 9:21 am
Location: SW Connecticut

Postby tomjones » Wed Aug 07, 2002 10:43 am

I went through those steps because kismetwireless directed me to:
http://www.kismetwireless.net/usage.shtml

I am running RH 7.3

the find command comes back with

/usr/src/kismet-2.4.6/scripts/kismet

Thanks for any additional help...
tomjones
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 9:05 am

Postby sauerc » Wed Aug 07, 2002 10:53 am

try this

make clean && ./configure && make dep && make all && make install
sauerc
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2002 9:21 am
Location: SW Connecticut

Postby tomjones » Wed Aug 07, 2002 11:00 am

while compiling, got this error at the end:

gpcmap.cc:49:24: magick/api.h: No such file or directory
make: *** [gpsmap.o] Error 1

not sure if it's a big deal, i'm not using gps, but not sure if it's killing the compile script because of the error.
tomjones
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 9:05 am

update

Postby tomjones » Wed Aug 07, 2002 11:05 am

tried it with ./configure --disable-gps and the install finished...looking good so far...
tomjones
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 9:05 am

Postby JimmyPopAli » Wed Aug 07, 2002 12:53 pm

Here's the thing about imagemacik, it is used by gpsmap to make the neat maps, it it isn't there then it gives an error but nothing bad happens.

Also instead of a "make install" do a "make forceinstall". It seems to me like nothing got copied to the correct place, which should be /usr/local/bin.
User avatar
JimmyPopAli
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2002 9:55 am
Location: Washington the state

How did you get you Ornoico card in monitor mode?

Postby wallybarr » Wed Aug 07, 2002 7:08 pm

How did you get your orinoco card in monitor mode? I tried following the instruction but I'm unsre about compiling the Kernal, is that really necessary? Any help is appreciated..

Wally
wallybarr
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 7:08 am

Postby JimmyPopAli » Wed Aug 07, 2002 9:47 pm

You can just skip the recompiling of the kernel, it just makes it a little easier down the road.
User avatar
JimmyPopAli
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2002 9:55 am
Location: Washington the state

Re: Monitor mode *success* Kismet kicking my butt

Postby rerunn » Sat Aug 10, 2002 12:58 am

This is a longshot of a guess...

If you did exactly what you stated in your email:
Originally posted by tomjones
The only thing I can get to work is if I go to the kismet-2.4.6 directory and type ./kismet_hopper
It then goes into "Hopping 3 channels per second...."

I open a new window and type "kismet" and get "bash: kismet: command not found"


To me, the error "bash: kismet: command not found" can mean either of:

1. The kismet binary was not compiled correctly or compilation failed -- there is no kismet binary to run.
2. The kismet binary was indeed compiled correctly but you did not specify absolute path to the binary when you tried to execute it.

You did say that you were successfull in compiling kismet so lets rule #1 out.

Im guessing either the "make install" failed or installed it somewhere that is not in your path.

"find" the kismet binary again like you did before:
Originally posted by tomjones

I am running RH 7.3

the find command comes back with

/usr/src/kismet-2.4.6/scripts/kismet


go to that directory and type ./kismet

good luck
rerunn
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:49 pm
Location: way up north

Re: Re: Monitor mode *success* Kismet kicking my butt

Postby mentat » Sat Aug 10, 2002 7:49 am

Originally posted by rerunn
This is a longshot of a guess...

If you did [B]exactly
what you stated in your email:


To me, the error "bash: kismet: command not found" can mean either of:

1. The kismet binary was not compiled correctly or compilation failed -- there is no kismet binary to run.
2. The kismet binary was indeed compiled correctly but you did not specify absolute path to the binary when you tried to execute it.

You did say that you were successfull in compiling kismet so lets rule #1 out.

Im guessing either the "make install" failed or installed it somewhere that is not in your path.

"find" the kismet binary again like you did before:


go to that directory and type ./kismet

good luck [/B]


Were you root when you typed "make install"? If not the stuff won't get installed to the right places.
User avatar
mentat
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 11:54 am
Location: CT

kismet not in your path more than likelyt=

Postby itallushrt » Mon Aug 19, 2002 11:12 am

If you are attempting to run kismet :

1. make sure there is a symlink in your path to the binary ... i.e...

do a echo $PATH

you should see something like this :

/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin: etc...do this

ln -s /usr/local/etc/kismet-2.4.x/kismet /usr/local/bin/kismet

what that does is set a software link to the kismet executable.



2. I guess you have already patched your modules to allow the orinoco to be placed in promiscious mode.

However, to place any network device into promiscious mode in *NIX you need to be root or sudo the operation.

3. kismet_monitor -H and then kismet

4. Have fun and be happy.
itallushrt
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 9:06 am
Location: Kentucky USA

Postby minddog » Fri Aug 23, 2002 12:34 am

for you guys runnin stock rh7.3 i noticed that the PATH env var doesn't add /sbin or /usr/sbin to it so add this line to your .bashrc in root and any other user dir you will be using kismet with:

PATH=/bin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/usr/sbin:/any/other/dir/you/want/toaccess fromtheshell

and i beleive you have to run kismet_monitor before starting kismet, but i can't help but say RTFM =)
minddog
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2002 10:15 pm

Postby sh0nuff » Tue Aug 27, 2002 9:51 pm

i was having the same problem as well, this is what i did....

./configure --disable-gps

that will disable gps in the configure process...

then just do

make
make install

it works, if make spits that gps magik+ crap at ya, like it was for me, than thats what you need to do. Otherwise, kismet will look for gps stuff, and if it doesnt find it, it will just quit, w/o installing files anywhere. then you just goto /usr/local/etc/kismet.conf configure run... than you can have all the fun problemes that im running into :) .

Hope it helps ya

Nick

If you need further assistance, i can be reached on AIM kiiiyt.
sh0nuff
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 10:52 am
Location: Woodbridge VA


Return to Unix/Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests