Orinco GOLD Red Hat 7.3

Orinco GOLD Red Hat 7.3

Postby sh0nuff » Fri May 17, 2002 10:57 am

Well beleive it or not i acutally got kismet and wellenreiter running right. Got my wireless tools installed. I just cant get that damn card to go into monitor mode. Heres what I try to do....

iwpriv eth1 monitor 2 1 - then it says
Invalid command : monitor

Well I folloed JimmyPopAli's excellet info on patching the orinco drivers to allow monitor, but i still cant seem to get the darn thing to work. Any info would be GREATLY appreciated. I have the newest version of wireless tools installed, same with pcmcia-cs.

TIA!!

Nick
sh0nuff
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 10:52 am
Location: Woodbridge VA

Postby JimmyPopAli » Fri May 17, 2002 2:26 pm

The problem is you're using the wrong driver.
type "iwpriv eth0<or whatever your card is>"
at the bottom it should say monitor. If not it's the wrong driver.

Read down a little more in the instructions and it'll tell you how to fix it.
User avatar
JimmyPopAli
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2002 9:55 am
Location: Washington the state

Postby godlike » Sun May 19, 2002 1:16 pm

I had the say problem. The pcmcia-cs drivers never got installed where you need them to be. Here is some info from airsnort's page that fixed my problem.

A common problem I am hearing about is people installing pcmcia-cs when they already have kernel pcmcia built in. The problem is that the orinoco drivers for kernel pcmcia install to a different location than the orinoco drivers for pcmcia-cs. This often results in two sets of drivers being present after doing a make install on the pcmcia-cs sources. The problem is that the patched version of the orinoco drivers will not be used, rather the old unpatched drivers get loaded and you will be led to believe that the patch has failed. Make sure that you do not have more than one copy of hermes.o, orinoco.o and orinoco_cs.o in your /lib/modules/<kernel> subtree

This will fix your no monitor mode. It is using the wrong driver. I copied them to where they need to be and presto!!! Got everything working great.
godlike
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 6:14 pm

Postby Maliciousturnip » Fri May 31, 2002 12:34 pm

Is that the same for other distro's
i've been workin like a dog to get this linksys wpc11 working tried redhat 7.2 and the newest release of mandrake. atleast in 7.2 it picked up some traffic even tho it didnt make sense since at the time there were no active ap's in the office except for one airport and i was picking up maybe 40-50 magical ap's :D .
anyway those pcmcia drivers are not needed on newer distro's?
Maliciousturnip
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 12:22 pm
Location: Rancho Cucamonga


Return to Unix/Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron