WRT54G how-to guide V3

Postby DaKahuna » Sat Jan 28, 2006 8:18 am

Quick question - my primary system is Windows XP and I have a VMWare workstation running Auditor. Is there any compelling reason to install Cygwin and run Kismet from there, as discussed in this thread versus running it from within VMWare? (Auditor is installed on the hard drive and not running from the iso image).
User avatar
DaKahuna
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 11:55 am
Location: If you find out, let me know!

Postby renderman » Sat Jan 28, 2006 3:00 pm

DaKahuna wrote:Quick question - my primary system is Windows XP and I have a VMWare workstation running Auditor. Is there any compelling reason to install Cygwin and run Kismet from there, as discussed in this thread versus running it from within VMWare? (Auditor is installed on the hard drive and not running from the iso image).


Have'nt tried, however there's no reason for it not to work. You won't be able to use any cards locally, however using the WRT54G as a drone should work.

The only reason you might want to use Kiswin or Cygwin is that the overhead will be much lower than running a full vmware image.
User avatar
renderman
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: Anywhere but Utah

Postby SignalSeeker » Sat Jan 28, 2006 5:38 pm

I have been playing with Auditor in M$ Virtual PC. I just recently noticed why it took 5-7 minutes to boot. With Virtual PC the virtual machine is a 99Mhz MMX processor. I gave it 384 Meg 'O RAM but doesnt help much.

Any idea on the speed of a virtual machine in VMWare? I have an old copy laying around I may play with.

Also with Virtual PC there is no direct access to the USB or PCMCIA ports/slots.

Once I have Auditor up and running in a virtual it is great. I have my WRT setup as a kismet server. Now I just need to read up on Kismet to insert GPS Co-ords at the client and save file at the client also.

Justin
User avatar
SignalSeeker
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 5:51 pm
Location: Sacramento, CA

WRT54G on Windows / VMWare

Postby DaKahuna » Tue Jan 31, 2006 7:32 pm

renderman wrote:Have'nt tried, however there's no reason for it not to work. You won't be able to use any cards locally, however using the WRT54G as a drone should work.

The only reason you might want to use Kiswin or Cygwin is that the overhead will be much lower than running a full vmware image.



Thanks. I will let you know how it turns out once I get it fully working. Have decided to do it with Windows Cygwin first and then try the VMWare with Auditor or Whax distro's running from the hard drive.

Right now I am fighting an issue with the kismet_drone process stopping immediately after starting without error. Used the version 0.3 guide for Windows install and version 3.3 of the WRT54G How To. Both the S60kismet_drone and S70JW_scan are installed in /etc/init.d (were put there by your auto-drone.sh script. Neither process appears to run automatically when I reboot. Also the documentation says to telnet into the WRT54G but since installing White Russian RC4, I am only able to ssh as root into the device. This does not bother me as I prefer to use ssh over telnet anyway.

Anyway, once I get the above two working I plan on seeing if I can get it to work with KisMAC.
User avatar
DaKahuna
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 11:55 am
Location: If you find out, let me know!

Postby renderman » Tue Jan 31, 2006 9:04 pm

DaKahuna wrote:Thanks. I will let you know how it turns out once I get it fully working. Have decided to do it with Windows Cygwin first and then try the VMWare with Auditor or Whax distro's running from the hard drive.

Right now I am fighting an issue with the kismet_drone process stopping immediately after starting without error. Used the version 0.3 guide for Windows install and version 3.3 of the WRT54G How To. Both the S60kismet_drone and S70JW_scan are installed in /etc/init.d (were put there by your auto-drone.sh script. Neither process appears to run automatically when I reboot. Also the documentation says to telnet into the WRT54G but since installing White Russian RC4, I am only able to ssh as root into the device. This does not bother me as I prefer to use ssh over telnet anyway.

Anyway, once I get the above two working I plan on seeing if I can get it to work with KisMAC.


Yeah, if you set a password, telnet gets disabled and ssh is you only option. I plan on adding that to the guide, but I'm lazy :)

make sure that both scripts are executable and that the kismet_drone and kismet.conf files files got put into place. if everything looks ok, relaod the router and follow the manual method, tha autodrone.sh script is still experimental outside of my lab.

Render
User avatar
renderman
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: Anywhere but Utah

Postby beakmyn » Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:13 am

renderman wrote:Yeah, if you set a password, telnet gets disabled and ssh is you only option. I plan on adding that to the guide, but I'm lazy :)

make sure that both scripts are executable and that the kismet_drone and kismet.conf files files got put into place. if everything looks ok, relaod the router and follow the manual method, tha autodrone.sh script is still experimental outside of my lab.

Render


That's why I use Putty now and scp for file copies. Banged my head against the wall for 15 minutes on that one.
beakmyn
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:53 pm

Postby Thorn » Wed Feb 01, 2006 7:00 am

beakmyn wrote:That's why I use Putty now and scp for file copies. Banged my head against the wall for 15 minutes on that one.

I think a lot of us have. It is mentioned somewhere, although I forget if it's deep in the White Russian RC4 README, or somewhere on a website.
Thorn
Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.
Thorn
 
Posts: 10340
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Villa Straylight

Postby theprez98 » Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:18 am

Thorn wrote:I think a lot of us have. It is mentioned somewhere, although I forget if it's deep in the White Russian RC4 README, or somewhere on a website.

http://wiki.openwrt.org/OpenWrtDocs/Using
Why no telnet password?
Telnet is an insecure protocol with no encryption, we try to make a point of this insecurity by not enabling a password. If you're in an environment that requires password protection we suggest setting a password with the passwd command, which will disable the telnet server and enable the Dropbear SSH server.
[font="Courier New"]"\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";[/font]
User avatar
theprez98
 
Posts: 3638
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 8:23 pm
Location: Maryland

Postby Thorn » Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:34 am


That's it!

Once you realize it, using ssh or PuTTY is simple enough. It was just that inital sinking feeling of "Uh oh, I've just locked myself out of the damned thing."
Thorn
Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.
Thorn
 
Posts: 10340
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Villa Straylight

Postby Dutch » Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:37 am


Yep.. It's allways good to RTFM/D/W, before doing anything.
Just like in the old punchtape days. It's only after we got the GUI in the form of MacOS and Windows 3.x/9x/NT/XP/2Kx, that people appearently forgot that skill : Read documentation, before using system.

:D

Dutch
All your answers are belong to Google. SEARCH DAMMIT!
Warning. Warning.
Low C8H10N4O2 level detected. Operator halted....
User avatar
Dutch
 
Posts: 6698
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: City of Mermaids, Denmark

Postby theprez98 » Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:54 am

Dutch wrote:Yep.. It's allways good to RTFM/D/W, before doing anything.
Just like in the old punchtape days. It's only after we got the GUI in the form of MacOS and Windows 3.x/9x/NT/XP/2Kx, that people appearently forgot that skill : Read documentation, before using system.

:D

Dutch

Dutch's first computer program:
Attachments
punchcard.jpg
punchcard.jpg (20.02 KiB) Viewed 977 times
[font="Courier New"]"\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";[/font]
User avatar
theprez98
 
Posts: 3638
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 8:23 pm
Location: Maryland

Postby Thorn » Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:54 am

Dutch wrote:Yep.. It's allways good to RTFM/D/W, before doing anything.
Just like in the old punchtape days. It's only after we got the GUI in the form of MacOS and Windows 3.x/9x/NT/XP/2Kx, that people appearently forgot that skill : Read documentation, before using system.

:D

Dutch

Oh, I'll be the first to admit it: I will typically read the docs in a quick once-over to get me started, and then go back read more once I'm up and running, so I can work out the rest of the details. Most of the time it works for me, as the READMEs tend to make more sense when I have something in front of me to play with. Occationally though, a crucial detail slips by and the pucker factor rises for a few minutes (like this.) When things do go tits up, I go back to reading the docs and Googling. Occationally, when I am completely flummoxed I'll even stoop so low as to ask trusted friends to point me in the right direction. ;)

Speaking of which: Dutch, one of the high points at shmoo was dragorn pointing out the guy who posted on the kismet forums: "Tell me how to run kismet. Do not tell me to read the README."
Thorn
Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.
Thorn
 
Posts: 10340
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Villa Straylight

Postby Thorn » Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:56 am

theprez98 wrote:Dutch's first computer program:

Don't laugh. Those WERE my first programs. I can still read those things.
Thorn
Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.
Thorn
 
Posts: 10340
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Villa Straylight

Postby Dutch » Wed Feb 01, 2006 11:05 am

Thorn wrote:Occationally, when I am completely flummoxed I'll even stoop so low as to ask trusted friends to point me in the right direction. ]
Wow.. So now I know the truth : You are flummoxed (is that really an adjective ?), when you IM me ? We want a picture of that... :D
Thorn wrote:Speaking of which: Dutch, one of the high points at shmoo was dragorn pointing out the guy who posted on the kismet forums: "Tell me how to run kismet. Do not tell me to read the README."

I seem to recall a couple of those threads on the kismetwireless forums, that I participated in.. People wanting a spoonfeed seem to proliferate in the WiFi world *sigh*.

Dutch
All your answers are belong to Google. SEARCH DAMMIT!
Warning. Warning.
Low C8H10N4O2 level detected. Operator halted....
User avatar
Dutch
 
Posts: 6698
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: City of Mermaids, Denmark

The HARD way. One byte at a time!

Postby Airstreamer » Wed Feb 01, 2006 11:28 am

No, THIS is Dutches' first computer program:
Attachments
imsai8800.jpg
imsai8800.jpg (39.05 KiB) Viewed 978 times
"But when we disarmed They sold us and delivered us bound to our foe,
And the Gods of the Copybook Headings said: "Stick to the Devil you know.""

- Rudyard Kipling
User avatar
Airstreamer
 
Posts: 2703
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 9:26 pm
Location: A little North of Reason

PreviousNext

Return to Unix/Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests