WRT54G how-to guide V3

Postby Thorn » Wed Feb 01, 2006 11:28 am

Dutch wrote:Wow.. So now I know the truth : You are flummoxed (is that really an adjective ?), when you IM me ? We want a picture of that... :D

I seem to recall a couple of those threads on the kismetwireless forums, that I participated in.. People wanting a spoonfeed seem to proliferate in the WiFi world *sigh*.

Dutch

Yup, it's a real adjective in English.
http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=flummoxed

As far a a picture of it, it's just me with a stupid expression. In other words, the usual. Sort of like this: :confused:
Thorn
Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.
Thorn
 
Posts: 10340
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Villa Straylight

Postby Scruge » Wed Feb 01, 2006 11:30 am

theprez98 wrote:Dutch's first computer program:

That is an old one.. as I recall the ones I worked with had at least the card sequence and translation printed across the top.
I'd hate to drop a deck of those.

@dutch

Welcome back! I'm guessing you were off on one of those exotic T&A vacations?
User avatar
Scruge
 
Posts: 1399
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 3:29 pm

Postby Dutch » Wed Feb 01, 2006 11:38 am

Scruge wrote:That is an old one.. as I recall the ones I worked with had at least the card sequence and translation printed acess the top.
I'd hate to drop a deck of those.

@dutch

Welcome back! I'm guessing you were off on one of those exotic T&A vacations?

Having seen the face on a cardpunch operator after somebody turned over the card-cart, I do not wish for the old days to return..

Sorry, no T&A vacation, unless that covers being fed by an IV tube, and put on a ventilator. Doublesided pneumonia sucks big time, compared to being at ShmooCon.
And yeah, I missed you all, and thanks for NOT sending flowers this time. Not sure the XYL would believe it was guys sending them this time as well ;)

Dutch
All your answers are belong to Google. SEARCH DAMMIT!
Warning. Warning.
Low C8H10N4O2 level detected. Operator halted....
User avatar
Dutch
 
Posts: 6698
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: City of Mermaids, Denmark

Postby MikeP928 » Wed Feb 01, 2006 12:05 pm

Airstreamer wrote:No, THIS is Dutches' first computer program:


That brought back some ugly flashbacks. That is how I learned to write and run computer diagnostics. The instructor mandated that everything be run through loading the registers manually, in case the paper tape reader was dead.

It will bring tears to your eyes when you enter the 83rd line of a diag and realize that when you loaded the 82nd line you hit LOAD instead of LOAD/NEXT.

Let's all go back to writing machine code in octal. :eek:

MikeP
Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote.
-- Benjamin Franklin, 1759
User avatar
MikeP928
 
Posts: 1122
Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 8:09 pm
Location: Florida Panhandle

Postby Dutch » Wed Feb 01, 2006 12:18 pm

MikeP928 wrote:Let's all go back to writing machine code in octal. :eek:

Octal ?
You lazy lazy man... What ever happened to enter it in binary via 8 flip-switches directly into the core ?
Heck, I recall the days when we had to use our 300 baud modems, to connect across the country at LD charges. and if one of them failed, we had to whistle the tones down a modem line, and hoping we weren't off-key.
All them guys with their symbolic assemblers, VDU line editors and such, they really got it easy..
My first Nascom computer had a hexpad and a 8 digit LED display.. Great fun entering Z80 machine code on that one...

(yep.. looks like this is going into "Old Farts talking about the computing youth" thread...)

Dutch
All your answers are belong to Google. SEARCH DAMMIT!
Warning. Warning.
Low C8H10N4O2 level detected. Operator halted....
User avatar
Dutch
 
Posts: 6698
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: City of Mermaids, Denmark

Postby MikeP928 » Wed Feb 01, 2006 12:21 pm

Scruge wrote:That is an old one.. as I recall the ones I worked with had at least the card sequence and translation printed across the top.
I'd hate to drop a deck of those.

@dutch

Welcome back! I'm guessing you were off on one of those exotic T&A vacations?


As Operations Supervisor, I broke a programmer of refusing to use sequence numbers on 2000+ card programs. I loaded up an identical card tray with old card decks and 'accidentally' knocked it off the counter when he came to pick it up. I had a bad couple of seconds when it looked like he was going to have a heart attack. We never saw another deck from him without sequence numbers, but he would not speak to me for over 2 years.

MikeP
Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote.
-- Benjamin Franklin, 1759
User avatar
MikeP928
 
Posts: 1122
Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 8:09 pm
Location: Florida Panhandle

Postby beakmyn » Wed Feb 01, 2006 12:26 pm

Airstreamer wrote:No, THIS is Dutches' first computer program:


At least it has USB!
beakmyn
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:53 pm

Postby Airstreamer » Wed Feb 01, 2006 12:42 pm

beakmyn wrote:At least it has USB!

Uh huh, riiiight. :D
"But when we disarmed They sold us and delivered us bound to our foe,
And the Gods of the Copybook Headings said: "Stick to the Devil you know.""

- Rudyard Kipling
User avatar
Airstreamer
 
Posts: 2703
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 9:26 pm
Location: A little North of Reason

Postby beakmyn » Wed Feb 01, 2006 12:47 pm

Dutch doing some debugging.
beakmyn
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:53 pm

Postby theprez98 » Wed Feb 01, 2006 1:22 pm

Thorn wrote:Don't laugh. Those WERE my first programs. I can still read those things.

I didn't say it, but I would have guessed. ;)
[font="Courier New"]"\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";[/font]
User avatar
theprez98
 
Posts: 3638
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 8:23 pm
Location: Maryland

Postby Scruge » Wed Feb 01, 2006 1:53 pm

Dutch wrote:Sorry, no T&A vacation,
Dutch

That sucks!

Hopefully you had a sexy deep throated respiratory therapist who gave proper blowing examples.:cool:
User avatar
Scruge
 
Posts: 1399
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 3:29 pm

Postby DaKahuna » Sun Feb 12, 2006 9:27 am

renderman wrote:Yeah, if you set a password, telnet gets disabled and ssh is you only option. I plan on adding that to the guide, but I'm lazy :)

make sure that both scripts are executable and that the kismet_drone and kismet.conf files files got put into place. if everything looks ok, relaod the router and follow the manual method, tha autodrone.sh script is still experimental outside of my lab.


Yes, after making the post I found the information about setting a password disabling telnet.
User avatar
DaKahuna
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 11:55 am
Location: If you find out, let me know!

Postby goldfndr » Mon Mar 27, 2006 2:44 am

White Russian RC5 is out now. I'm out of town so I haven't tried it. Hopefully no ipkgs got broken.
RC5 article at OpenWrt.org wrote:Highlights:
  • Countless bug fixes
  • Various security patches
  • Improved Failsafe
  • Faster installation (new firstboot script)
  • Multilingual web interface (Č]Ethernet switch configuration (/proc/switch)
goldfndr
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 3:30 am
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA

Postby renderman » Mon Mar 27, 2006 7:32 am

goldfndr wrote:White Russian RC5 is out now. I'm out of town so I haven't tried it. Hopefully no ipkgs got broken.


There goes my week.
User avatar
renderman
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: Anywhere but Utah

WRT54GL Problem

Postby karpa » Wed Apr 05, 2006 1:05 pm

Looking for some help.

I have two WRT54s. One a GL with Sveasoft Talisman and a G with the same. I have gotten the drone on the GL and kismet running on cygwin on my xp box. When I run the drone and kismet I see the drone (<no ssid>) and the G router (Repeater1) and a few other APs. When I dump the log and view it in Ethereal, I only seem to see the GL and the G beaconing and talking to each other. I see no outbound or inbound traffic.

I believe that I have the drone and the kismet.conf set up correctly as the xp box sees the GL, but as I mentioned no outgoing or incoming traffic seems to be logged. Am I mistaken and this is not a feature of kismet (traffic logging)?

Thanks
Karpa
karpa
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 1:00 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Unix/Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest