WRT54G how-to guide V3

Postby renderman » Wed Apr 05, 2006 1:48 pm

karpa wrote:Looking for some help.

I have two WRT54s. One a GL with Sveasoft Talisman and a G with the same. I have gotten the drone on the GL and kismet running on cygwin on my xp box. When I run the drone and kismet I see the drone (<no ssid>) and the G router (Repeater1) and a few other APs. When I dump the log and view it in Ethereal, I only seem to see the GL and the G beaconing and talking to each other. I see no outbound or inbound traffic.

I believe that I have the drone and the kismet.conf set up correctly as the xp box sees the GL, but as I mentioned no outgoing or incoming traffic seems to be logged. Am I mistaken and this is not a feature of kismet (traffic logging)?

Thanks
Karpa



The drone is in client mode an in monitor mode, it won't talk at all while the drone is running (If it does things go sideways). You should'nt see the drone in your kismet display. Your probobly picking up something else in range.
User avatar
renderman
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: Anywhere but Utah

Postby karpa » Wed Apr 05, 2006 2:49 pm

renderman wrote:The drone is in client mode an in monitor mode, it won't talk at all while the drone is running (If it does things go sideways). You should'nt see the drone in your kismet display. Your probobly picking up something else in range.



So I guess that I was confused about what I can do with kismet. So it does not look like I can use kismet on the WRT to dump my own traffic. I am trying to dump the outgoing and incoming traffic to Ethereal and analyze it. Do you agree that this is not the way I should be approaching this?

Thanks
karpa
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 1:00 pm

Postby brwrdrvr » Wed Apr 05, 2006 3:07 pm

karpa wrote:So I guess that I was confused about what I can do with kismet. So it does not look like I can use kismet on the WRT to dump my own traffic. I am trying to dump the outgoing and incoming traffic to Ethereal and analyze it. Do you agree that this is not the way I should be approaching this?

Thanks


I'm guessing you didn't do much reading.
Real Linux users write the zeros and ones directly to the hard drive using a refrigerator magnet. ~ bobfunland
User avatar
brwrdrvr
 
Posts: 3381
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 9:26 pm
Location: Capitol City, Louisiana

Postby The Others » Wed Apr 05, 2006 3:21 pm

karpa wrote:So I guess that I was confused about what I can do with kismet. So it does not look like I can use kismet on the WRT to dump my own traffic. I am trying to dump the outgoing and incoming traffic to Ethereal and analyze it. Do you agree that this is not the way I should be approaching this?

Thanks


OpenWRT and TCPdump?
all good ends all

?u=273
User avatar
The Others
 
Posts: 2910
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 7:27 am
Location: Dos Palabras, Mandoras

Postby karpa » Wed Apr 05, 2006 3:29 pm

brwrdrvr wrote:I'm guessing you didn't do much reading.


Thanks.
karpa
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 1:00 pm

Postby princedag » Sat Oct 28, 2006 11:15 pm

hi guys! i have downloaded kismet for windows but i couldnt set up kismet_drone to work with it. does anyone know an easy way to set up kismet drone for windows?
princedag
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 11:08 pm

Postby Airstreamer » Sat Oct 28, 2006 11:17 pm

princedag wrote:hi guys! i have downloaded kismet for windows but i couldnt set up kismet_drone to work with it. does anyone know an easy way to set up kismet drone for windows?

It requires the use of a shift key, which you seem to be lacking.

And don't get all pissy with me, either. Go read the Welcome Desk before posting again.
"But when we disarmed They sold us and delivered us bound to our foe,
And the Gods of the Copybook Headings said: "Stick to the Devil you know.""

- Rudyard Kipling
User avatar
Airstreamer
 
Posts: 2703
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 9:26 pm
Location: A little North of Reason

Postby Barry » Sun Oct 29, 2006 12:21 am

princedag wrote:hi guys! i have downloaded kismet for windows but i couldnt set up kismet_drone to work with it. does anyone know an easy way to set up kismet drone for windows?



Kismet drone doesn't work on Windows. It will, however, work on my handheld. :D
Never do anything you don't want to explain to the paramedics.
User avatar
Barry
 
Posts: 5713
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby beakmyn » Sun Oct 29, 2006 4:18 am

Barry wrote:Kismet drone doesn't work on Windows. It will, however, work on my handheld. :D


Well not yet. But soon, maybe.

dragorn @ kismetwireless wrote:CACE tech has released a device called the AirPcap, which is a USB wireless card with windows support. Thanks to the work the Cace guys have done, Kismet will soon be able to capture natively on Windows with this device -- WITH THIS DEVICE ONLY however. I don't know if they plan to release drivers or other capture products, but they've got public APIs to their drivers, and that lets projects like Wireshark and Kismet operate with them, so a big kudos there.
beakmyn
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:53 pm

Postby MikeP928 » Sun Oct 29, 2006 7:25 am

beakmyn wrote:Well not yet. But soon, maybe.


We better get in line for the first 10 units. I'm sure we will wind up being the support site for AirPcap as well.

The first time I saw something about the new toys, my first thought was 'cool new goodies', then I thought about the other implications and it wound up as 'Damn, there goes the neighborhood.'

MikeP
Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote.
-- Benjamin Franklin, 1759
User avatar
MikeP928
 
Posts: 1122
Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 8:09 pm
Location: Florida Panhandle

Postby renderman » Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:41 am

Just a heads up. As mentioned, I'm not maintaining any new builds of Kiswin until Newcore, however that doesn't mean that I haven't had my fingers involved along the way with others.

I've been working with Cacetech, the makers of the Airpcap (windows monitor mode device) on a Kismet for Windows for their device, as well as making sure that the thing also covers Kiswin's primary purpose: Drones.

The new version is available at http://www.cacetech.com/support/downloads.htm (near the bottom under the ported apps section)

The new version has a small config util included for setting up local capture sources (like the airpcap) and for very easily adding drones. It's also GPL, so no issues there either

In all, it's better than I could ever do (I'm not a developer) and I have no issues recommending people use it in place of Kiswin. I will be keeping all previous versions up for posterity and as a developer resource, but why duplicate efforts?
User avatar
renderman
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: Anywhere but Utah

Postby theprez98 » Tue Jan 16, 2007 12:29 pm

Render's cross-posting again!:p
[font="Courier New"]"\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";[/font]
User avatar
theprez98
 
Posts: 3638
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 8:23 pm
Location: Maryland

Postby itsnotme » Tue Jan 16, 2007 12:41 pm

theprez98 wrote:Render's cross-posting again!:p


Yes, I think Renderman has been hitting the Wi-Fi sacramental wine a bit heavily!
User avatar
itsnotme
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2002 10:19 pm
Location: Somewhere below Lake Ontario

Postby renderman » Tue Jan 16, 2007 12:57 pm

Just wanted to cover all the related threads :)

In all seriousness, it's a nice package. Made my drone network much easier to maintain and monitor.
User avatar
renderman
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: Anywhere but Utah

Postby gm2net » Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:21 pm

On a slightly related note, I'm putting the code together to use Kismet drones in KisMac (it only just works at the moment, but it's improving) :)

Thanks for the guide - was the first thing I did when I got OpenWRT on my two R100s :)
gm2net
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 12:49 am

Previous

Return to Unix/Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests