WRT54G how-to guide V3

WRT54G how-to guide V3

Postby renderman » Tue Nov 16, 2004 12:07 pm

My own research into the WRT54G has been most entertaining. I love this little box. I've also noticed alot of people asking how to set these up, and how to stumble with them. Many people have some VERY strange ideas about capabilities and what to do. Information on some sites is incomplete, not in english, or just bad

In an attempt to consolidate and single source all the info spread around the net to do this, I put everything into one how-to. I'd like to see it become *the* source for info about the Kismet_drone on the WRT54G, but I'll need your help. So if you see something missing, or that needs explaining more, just drop me a line. If you want to write a (re)write a section, I'd appreciate that too.

Links and other guides appreciated too. Could use one on compiling the drone binaries yourself (hint!)

http://www.renderlab.net/projects/wrt54g/

Thanks to Thorn for initial editing and advice.
User avatar
renderman
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: Anywhere but Utah

Postby King_Ice_Flash » Tue Nov 16, 2004 1:34 pm

I would like to see a guide on how to install NoCat on the stock firmware.

http://www.portless.net/menu/ewrt/ is firmware

http://www.batbox.org/wrt54g-linux.html can install on the new firmware (after 1.42.2), but does not include nocat

http://cj.colliertech.org/swn/ wireless tools doesn't install on the new firmware, but includes nocat.

I just can't put the last two together and get it to work. Or if someone can get nocat on the sveasoft firmware, that would work too.
"Yeah," said a voice from under the table, "you go to pieces so fast people get hit by the shrapnel."
User avatar
King_Ice_Flash
 
Posts: 2658
Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 11:00 am
Location: WI

Postby G8tK33per » Tue Nov 16, 2004 1:41 pm

Just to throw this out there for others who may not know, here are a couple more firmware hacks for the WRT54G:

Wifibox

https://sourceforge.net/projects/wifi-box/

HyperWRT

http://www.hyperdrive.be/hyperwrt/
"Make yourselves sheep and the wolves will eat you." ~ Benjamin Franklin

Sons of Confederate Veterans
User avatar
G8tK33per
 
Posts: 6078
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Goomba's Booty Boardwalk

Postby renderman » Tue Nov 16, 2004 2:13 pm

All good links. I'm trying to just cover the Kismet_drone on the router. However, these things are too much fun, there's way to many things you could do with these things :)
User avatar
renderman
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: Anywhere but Utah

Postby G8tK33per » Tue Nov 16, 2004 2:33 pm

Damn, sorry dude, wasn't even paying attention. again
"Make yourselves sheep and the wolves will eat you." ~ Benjamin Franklin

Sons of Confederate Veterans
User avatar
G8tK33per
 
Posts: 6078
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Goomba's Booty Boardwalk

Postby King_Ice_Flash » Tue Nov 16, 2004 2:59 pm

renderman wrote:All good links. I'm trying to just cover the Kismet_drone on the router. However, these things are too much fun, there's way to many things you could do with these things :)

Eventually we will have to look at connecting to kismet_drone from windows.
"Yeah," said a voice from under the table, "you go to pieces so fast people get hit by the shrapnel."
User avatar
King_Ice_Flash
 
Posts: 2658
Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 11:00 am
Location: WI

Postby The Others » Tue Nov 16, 2004 4:33 pm

King_Ice_Flash wrote:Eventually we will have to look at connecting to kismet_drone from windows.


Like this?

http://www.kismetwireless.net/Forum/General/Messages/1095036756.245652

(originally posted by renderman elsewhere on the forum)
all good ends all

?u=273
User avatar
The Others
 
Posts: 2910
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 7:27 am
Location: Dos Palabras, Mandoras

Postby surrealism » Tue Nov 30, 2004 5:09 pm

would this allow 'monitor' mode using windows. since the router would be in monitor mode on its own and not because of windows drivers.
User avatar
surrealism
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 11:16 am

Postby The Others » Tue Nov 30, 2004 5:13 pm

surrealism wrote:would this allow 'monitor' mode using windows. since the router would be in monitor mode on its own and not because of windows drivers.


Yes; that would appear to be one benefit of this method.
all good ends all

?u=273
User avatar
The Others
 
Posts: 2910
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 7:27 am
Location: Dos Palabras, Mandoras

Postby surrealism » Wed Dec 01, 2004 8:57 pm

awesome guide worked like a charm!
User avatar
surrealism
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 11:16 am

Postby surrealism » Thu Dec 02, 2004 9:16 pm

so far the router works great but im gonna exchange it tomorrow for the wrt54gs because its got more ram and flash memory for later flashes (maybe built in kismet) but I do have a question.... will cranking up the antenna power increase the ability to find more Ap's in a war driving situation? And are there any hard numbers on the power of these routers VS using my orinoco? I know theres less loss because its going over cat5 insted of multiple feet of coax.
User avatar
surrealism
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 11:16 am

Postby renderman » Thu Dec 02, 2004 11:54 pm

surrealism wrote:so far the router works great but im gonna exchange it tomorrow for the wrt54gs because its got more ram and flash memory for later flashes (maybe built in kismet) but I do have a question.... will cranking up the antenna power increase the ability to find more Ap's in a war driving situation? And are there any hard numbers on the power of these routers VS using my orinoco? I know theres less loss because its going over cat5 insted of multiple feet of coax.



Turning up the power should only affect the Transmit, the recieve should be not be affected (anyone else care to prove me wrong? Please do). The recieve sensitivity is static as far as I know.

Personal testing shows it's significantly better sensitivity than my Orinoco. One day I might find a way to get some more solid numbers, but my experience shows probobly a 50% greater range in urban environments.

Render
User avatar
renderman
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: Anywhere but Utah

New rev.

Postby renderman » Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:25 pm

Rev 0.1.1 is posted now.

Nothing really new or ground breaking, just some spelling cleanup and some layout changes to help with some confusion people have had with some of the instructions.
User avatar
renderman
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: Anywhere but Utah

hmm

Postby surrealism » Fri Dec 03, 2004 2:35 pm

ok i exchanged my wrt54g for a gs and when i goto upgrade firmware i load up the file and hit upgrade it ticks 2 thing on the progress then says it was successful and reboots itself....but it didnt actually upgrade. any ideas?

**update: tried the ewrt firmware and it does the same thing.
User avatar
surrealism
Mini Stumbler
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 11:16 am

Postby Thorn » Fri Dec 03, 2004 3:18 pm

What is the version on it? If it's brand new, it may be looking for some Linksys signature.
Thorn
Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.
Thorn
 
Posts: 10340
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Villa Straylight

Next

Return to Unix/Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest