Page 3 of 3

PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2003 3:19 pm
by stevieg
i think you're on the wrong track though, my AP is upstairs(basement is below ground). If i take my laptop down in the basement it connects just fine (its the card that is having troubles connecting cause it cant differentiate between the ap's, when its upstairs with a direct LOS to the WISP's tower)

hope that made sense


Steve

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2003 6:02 pm
by michaelp
lol. Set your ssid then ;) dont have it on auto in winxp or ssid of "Any"

later,
Michael

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2003 6:07 pm
by stevieg
I've tried that, its doesnt have to do with the SSID that its trying to connect to it has to do with two radio transmitters broadcasting on the same channel. An example would be having a 2.4ghz phone on the same channel as your AP sitting right beside it and see what kind of problems you have connecting to your AP, regardless of if you set your SSID fixed or not.


Steve

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2003 5:32 am
by michaelp
lol, may I ask what sort of card you are using? is it el cheapo?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2003 6:56 am
by stevieg
it is a Dlink Airplus DWL-650+ and I have tried three different DW650+ cards and they are all the same. I was originally asking this cause I can see this becoming more of a problem as more and more wireless AP's are sold and they become more densely populated.

I have recieved thankfully some good pM's on the subject of class 15 non licensed transmitters and I will be talking to the WISP owner about these, its seems that if you are running a Class A radio transmitter and it is interfering with someone elses the offending transmitter is required to fix the situation at his expense. I am not gonna go over to him and be like fix it now but if he starts being a jerk about it I am now educated and prepared for the discussion.


Steve

Good Luck!

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2003 7:17 am
by nashr
This sounds like a good test case for everyone on the board. Please keep us advised on how this goes with the WISP.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2003 2:59 pm
by michaelp
lol. If you came to me and all my gear is in specs I would not care what you have to say. The only time I have seen what you are talking about is when a room was saturated with many accesspoints with the same ssid and channel #. As for the dlink card... In my experince with them they are not sensitive at all, never liked the drivers either seemed kinda wonky in win2000, anyways... Also dont forget that x-10 cams, baby monitors, and cordless phones all can be spewing in the 2.4 spectrum... As long as there gear is in specs nothing will be done... 5ghz longshots sound fun though ;) And If this company has done there homework they are ussing all fcc approved equitment (no pringles cans ) hehe so deadend there to..

Deep down inside I sense crappy hardware or usererror ;)

btw what o/s you on? And what state are you in? Might beable to send someone over to give you a hand hehe.

thanks,
Michael
http://tv.seattlewireless.net

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2003 4:41 pm
by stevieg
MichaelP, If you have read my previous posts you would know that I am not some newbie that doesnt know anything about wireless, I'm not gonna get in a pissing match with you, please if you dont have anything constructive to say please keep it to yourself.

I was asking for the help of the truly educated wireless guru's that do frequent this board and I have already heard from them and they have provided the answers I needed via PM and they agree with me on my diagnosis.

Obviously you have not read the FCC regulations pertaining to this kind of situation as I had not either, but here is an excerp from it

(a) For a Class A digital device or peripheral, the instructions furnished the user shall include the following or similar statement, placed in a prominent location in the text of the manual:

This equipment has been tested and found to comply with the limits for a Class A digital device, pursuant to part 15 of the FCC Rules. These limits are designed to provide reasonable protection against harmful interference when the equipment is operated in a commercial environment. This equipment generates, uses, and can radiate radio frequency energy and, if not installed and used in accordance with the instruction manual, may cause harmful interference to radio communications. Operation of this equipment in a residential area is likely to cause harmful interference in which case the user will be required to correct the interference at his own expense.


Now this clearly states my right as a user who is being interefered with, now whether or not I pursue this is at my discretion and as long as the WISP is at least semi accomodating and will "try" and help me out I will do nothing. BUT if he takes the attitude that you have here I would pursue it and guess what would you really want to jeopardize your whole WISP business as a result of being a jerk?

Steve

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2003 6:14 pm
by michaelp
ok....so the wisp has there stuff in spec, what is your arguement? And if they are in spec there is nothing for them to hide, they will just tell you to suck an egg, especially if they are providing services to a client. I'm interested in what you think they should be doing? Meaning a alternative?

thanks,
Michael

Also whats the companys name?

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2003 8:56 pm
by qbus
stevieg so what happend?

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2003 9:28 pm
by stevieg
nothing has happened yet, I think they may have done something though cause all of a sudden after 8 months my wireless has gone normal?!?!?! havent been using it much but i havent had a problem in almost 2 weeks. My guess is they may have been running out of spec and me waving my FCC rulebook around woke them up and they decided to clean it up a bit, not sure though been really busy and havent had alot of time to investigate.


Steve

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 8:25 pm
by jsicuran
Think RSSI and assocation process in the mac.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 7:51 am
by hydro27405
Just a geuss here, but if it is all good now, a lot of WISP's mis-understand the FCC i.e. 1 watt eirp for point to multi-point and 4 watts eirp for point to point.
I have seen a lot of start ups from people with no clue but enough money for the equipment. Some don't understand the difference between PTP & PTMP. Some don't have a clue of what eirp is, so they amp up to 1 or 4 watts and then add an 18dbi antenna and think they got it right.
Just geuss but looks like that may have been your problem if all of sudden your problem is gone.
Hydro

inteference? fire with fire i say

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2003 11:59 am
by Rotifer
look into some of this Atheros hardware they been talking about on the main page and try and return the favor.