Page 2 of 10

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:28 am
by godrick
The device is a Fortuna Clip-On (Bluetooth). Various PDA tools confirm that there is a fix and it gives 0 co-ordinates until it has a fix. Yes, the signal isn't strong, but it shows the correct place on Tomtom and Pocket Streets / Mappoint maps. Which script do I need to look in?

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 10:39 pm
by goldfndr
In "ns04settings.vbs", increase TellNoGPS - maybe to 20.

It appears to be doing double duty for both how often it tells you about a lack of GPS state and how it determines a lack of GPS state - I'll need to rethink that.

In other news, threading is nearly complete - just needs autostart/autostop and more testing.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 10:23 am
by goldfndr
New update, with speech in a separate thread. Hopefully it's Just In Time for travel (Thanksgiving and Black Friday in USA).

Currently it's enabled for debugging.

One outstanding issue is that it leaves the speech thread highly visible and only stops it if you explicitly disable Scanning. I thought that OnEnableScan and OnDisableScan would be called on startup/shutdown, but that doesn't appear to be the case; sorry!

Also, since it spawns SNDREC32 to play WAVs, I have it backing up and restoring the current Open and Close event WAVs in case you have sounds when you start/stop applications. I've no idea if this is WinXP-specific. One can save a sound scheme before testing.

Please send bug reports. I'm especially interested in whether anyone has gotten it working with DiGLE or one of Musatcha's utilities (GPSd, WiFiMapping) - I haven't yet been successful with DiGLE on my own.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 1:07 am
by FLECOM
Ok I would really love to use this script, but im having a heck of a time getting it to work...

I dropped it into my NetStumbler folder and created the Cicons and placed the icons inside of Cicons... I am using the following config...

Code: Select all
'This file is designed to be GlobalExecute'd into the master script
'It contains all settings


'************ Master User Configurable Switches ************
'***********************************************************
'Mapping software; pick one?
UseMappoint = True   '***** Mappoint:  This overrides DropCrumbs and TrackVehicle
UseDiGLE = False   '***** DiGLE:  Free mapping utility; see WiGLE.net; also Musatcha's software


'***** Speech:  Speak names of networks in view
UseSpeech = False


'***** Sounds:  ' Non-speech audio - if using speech this may trigger if no new ssids to say
UseAudio = True


'***** SignalStrength:  MIDI obsoletes this; True if you want varying signal strength sounds
      'if using speech it might trigger if there are no new ssids to say, and UseAudio = True
UseSignalStr = True


'***********************************************************
'****************End of master switches*********************
'***********************************************************


RunDefs


'***********************************************************
'***********************************************************
if UseMappoint then
'***********************************************************
'***** Beginning of Mappoint-specific settings
'***********************************************************

      'Do you want to use a default map?
const UseDefaultMap = True

      'self explanatory - only used if UseDefaultMap is True
const DefaultMapLocation = "C:\stumbling\Map.ptm"

      'True to delete the last vehicle location and/or last track - only if using default map
const delLastLoc = True
const delLasttrack = True


When I launch NetStumbler I get the NetStumbler splash screen, MapPoint opens with the map specified in the settings. Then MapPoint starts using 100% of my CPU and NetStumbler hangs... If I kill MapPoint, NetStumbler stays frozen and i have to kill it also...

The script works fine if I disable map-point (sounds etc) but I would really like to have the live position tracking/ap's on the map working correctly :)

Script Errors out in dos window

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 12:56 pm
by brentc
I downloaded the 20041124.zip
I made a folder under C:\Program Files\Network Stumbler\masterscript
I put the scripts in there. Then pointed NetStumbler to ns04master.vbs
I Edited the ns04settings.vbs to use MapPoint insted of DiGLE

When I fire up the script, Mappoint opens up as it should, the script says it's using Microsoft Sam (Voice), a dos window opens up with the following error.

C:\Program Files\Network Stumbler\masterscript\ns04thread.vbs(48, 24) Microsoft VBScript runtime error: Path not found :eek:

Any advice? :confused:

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 1:16 pm
by wrzwaldo
brentc wrote:C:\Program Files\Network Stumbler\masterscript\ns04thread.vbs(48, 24) Microsoft VBScript runtime error: Path not found :eek:

Any advice? :confused:



What version of windows? Is the script engine installed?

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 1:51 pm
by brentc
wrzwaldo wrote:What version of windows? Is the script engine installed?


Yeah sure is. I'm running WindowsXP SP2.
Never had this error with other scripts.
The odd thng is that the script that it says it can't find is exactly where t is looking.

-Brent

I figured it out

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2005 11:26 am
by brentc
brentc wrote:Yeah sure is. I'm running WindowsXP SP2.
Never had this error with other scripts.
The odd thng is that the script that it says it can't find is exactly where t is looking.

-Brent


Well with other scripts thus far I have been able to run them no problem from other directories other than the base NS directory for organizatonal purpoeses. This one seems to be the exception. After puttng them in the base NS directory it all seems to work fine :)

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 6:49 pm
by schroederzone
brentc wrote:
I Edited the ns04settings.vbs to use MapPoint insted of DiGLE


Dumb question, but how do I do this?
Sorry, don't know much about scripts. But trying to learn. :confused:

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 6:58 pm
by streaker69
schroederzone wrote:Dumb question, but how do I do this?
Sorry, don't know much about scripts. But trying to learn. :confused:


Uh, do what?

script error

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 7:14 pm
by schroederzone
OK I'm trying to use the master script. But it's not working for me. I did some searching and I'm not sure what to do with this script. Do I need to edit this script? If so where. (be gentle I'm new to scripts) I've done some searching but haven't been getting any clear cut answers.

Ive been trying to run it but get this error:

Microsoft (R) Windows Script Host Version 5.6
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation 1996-2001. All rights reserved.

C:\Program Files\Network Stumbler\ns04thread.vbs(48, 24) Microsoft VBScript runt
ime error: Path not found

What have I done wrong?
Thanks

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 7:23 pm
by streaker69
Do you have Map Point installed?

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 7:26 pm
by schroederzone
yep sure do

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 5:43 am
by Scruge
brentc wrote:Yeah sure is. I'm running WindowsXP SP2.
Never had this error with other scripts.
The odd thng is that the script that it says it can't find is exactly where t is looking.

-Brent

I've had this exact problem with sp2 as well.. Scripts that ran in ealier XP versions stopped running after SP2. The problem was the file format the script was saved in. Try using notepad to save as a different file format.. I don't remember which worked "Unicode or ansi", but I do know the system error was "File not found" even though it was right there in plain sight.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 3:18 pm
by Swipular
I just ran into this same problem.

The script is looking for the WAV directory which does not exist.

If you create a directory named WAV in your net stumbler directory the error should go away.

Swip